Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Flamingo Boy

by

Write a Review

A stunning new classic from master storyteller Michael Morpurgo for readers of 9+, in the vein of PRIVATE PEACEFUL and THE BUTTERFLY LION
This is a landmark new novel form the nation's favourite storyteller, set in the unique landscape of the Camargue in the South of France during WW2. There, a young autistic boy lives on his parents' farm among the salt flats, and the flamingos that live there. There are lots of things he doesn't understand: but he does know how to heal animals. He loves routine, and music too: and every week he goes to market with his mother, to ride his special horse on the town carousel.
But then the Germans come, with their guns, and take the town. A soldier shoots a flamingo from the sky, and it falls to earth terribly injured. And even worse is to come: the carousel is damaged, the horses broken. For this vulnerable boy, everything is falling apart.
Only there's a kind sergeant among the Germans - a man with a young boy of his own at home, a man who trained as a carpenter. Between them, perhaps boy and man can mend what has been broken - and maybe even the whole town...

Flamingo Boy Reviews | Toppsta

9780008134686

Share on

Featured Book
Monsters go to Hospital
Monsters go to Hospital

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Another fabulous story in this popular series for new readers, with brilliantly relatable, funny stories and bright, colourful illustrations.

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

youtube video play button

Category

See More General fiction

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Be the first to write a Review


No one has written a review for 'Flamingo Boy'

Why not be the first to share your opinion?

Featured Book
Monsters go to Hospital
Monsters go to Hospital

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Another fabulous story in this popular series for new readers, with brilliantly relatable, funny stories and bright, colourful illustrations.

View book
Featured Books

Ratings

  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)