Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Flag Book

by

The Flag Book Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 9
9 Reviews
Write a Review

Welcome to the amazing world of flags! Did you know that each flag is actually a picture that sends a message to everyone who sees it? In The Flag Book, Lonely Planet Kids introduces you to the flags of every country in the world, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe, and tells you what their design, colours, and images represent, along with lots of other incredible facts. What's the only country that doesn't have a rectangular flag? Why does Hawaii's state flag feature the UK's Union Jack in one corner? And what do the 13 stripes of the USA's Star Spangled Banner represent? You'll find out the answer to all these and much, much more. We'll then show you the other fascinating ways flags are used throughout the world. Learn the International Code of Flag Symbols to communicate with ships at sea; read about flags used in sports, like Formula 1's chequered flag; marvel at flags commemorating world records and incredible human achievements; and peer with a microscope at the planet's smallest flag, which is no wider than a human hair. But that's not all! Travel back in time to the Golden Age of Piracy and have your timbers shivered by the bloodthirsty flags of 'Black Bart' Roberts and his fellow pirates sailing the Caribbean. Chapters includ(more...)

The Flag Book Reviews | Toppsta

9781788683098

Share on

Featured Book
The Weather Weaver
The Weather Weaver

BOOK OF THE MONTH - We love this magical coming-of-age debut by Tamsin Mori. Perfect for fans of Michelle Harrison, Catherine Doyle, and Abi Elphistone.

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Series

This is Book 106 in the Lonely Planet Kids Series. See all Lonely Planet Kids books here.

Category

See More People & places

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

           
Age 5 6 8 9 10
Featured Book
The Weather Weaver
The Weather Weaver

BOOK OF THE MONTH - We love this magical coming-of-age debut by Tamsin Mori. Perfect for fans of Michelle Harrison, Catherine Doyle, and Abi Elphistone.

View book
Featured Books

About Lonely Planet Kids

Lonely Planet Kids encourages children to discover more about our diverse world and its fascinating variety of people, places, cultures, creatures and environments. Created by our global team of experts, our products cover culture, sociology, geography, nature, history, space and more. With astonishing facts, engaging visuals and a sense of adventure, we ins

More about Lonely Planet Kids

Ratings

  • (9 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)