Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Boy Who Flew

by

The Boy Who Flew Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 12
12 Reviews
Write a Review

Athan Wilde dreams of flight. When his friend, Mr Chen, is murdered, Athan must rescue the flying machine they were building together and stop it falling into the wrong hands. But keeping the machine safe puts his family in terrible danger. What will Athan choose - flight or family?

From the acclaimed author of Murder In Midwinter, Fleur Hitchcock's The Boy Who Flew is a thrilling, murderous tale set among the steep rooftops and slippery characters of Athan's intricately imagined world. Perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Peter Bunzl and Philip Reeve.

The Boy Who Flew Reviews | Toppsta

9781788004381
  • ISBN: 9781788004381
  • Pub Date: 7th March 2019
  • Publisher: Nosy Crow Ltd
  • Imprint: Nosy Crow Ltd
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number of Pages: 256

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages Dennis in Jurassic Bark
Dennis in Jurassic Bark

Dennis's latest adventure is filled with epic fun and a series of interactive puzzles for YOU, the reader, to complete.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Girl, the Bear and the Magic Shoes
The Girl, the Bear and the Magic Shoes

A glittering magical adventure about a girl, a bear and some very special shoes!

View book

Category

See More Thrillers

See More Crime & mystery fiction

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

12th April '19
I read it myself (an adult)
The Boy Who Flew 9781788004381
5 stars
This book is set in a time before planes, or any type of flying machines, had been invented.

Athan, a child from a poor family (getting poorer all the time), has been fortunate to secure work with a neighbour, who is a scientist  and inventor. But when Mr Chen is found dead, murdered in fact,  Athan is sure that it has something to do with the 'kite' that they were working together on. And indeed, as sinister characters begin to surface, his suspicions seem to be right, but who can he trust? 

Without any work, Athan is faced with the prospect of cleaning out the sewers to survive, but if he can win the 10,000 guineas for flying the kite his future will look very different. With friends Mary and Tod on his side, he's beginning to feel that if he can make the final alterations he will be able to make it..... just so long as he can keep his family safe from his unknown enemies.

Great book for aged 9+ 
3rd April '19
MunchkinMegan read it themselves aged 11 aged 11
The Boy Who Flew 9781788004381
5 stars
The Boy who Flew was an incredible read and I couldn't have wished for more. Although, like with most great books, I really did wish there was more of it to read!
If i'm honest, I wasn't sure at first but Fleur won me around with her stellar writing- it got interesting!! Within a couple of chapters I was absolutely hooked.
One night the intrigue was coming so thick and fast that I read 15 chapters and stayed up well passed my bed time!
There were so many times that I cried, screamed and laughed. There are so incredibly tense moments and you feel fully immersed in the story. There was no chance to catch my breath between emotions and I loved every minute of it. With everything that went into this amazing book, I really have to thank Fleur for such a heartfelt story. A thrill for all.
28th December '18
Hstar read it themselves aged 11 aged 11
The Boy Who Flew 9781788004381
5 stars
I really enjoyed this book trying to work out the mystery and who had murdered Mr Chen.  Athan is a really hardworking clever boy who is trying to do the right thing to help his family even though lots of things go wrong along the way.  I liked the way the book had lots of twists that kept you guessing to the end who was involved.
29th December '18
tobylittle read it themselves aged 11 aged 11
The Boy Who Flew 9781788004381
5 stars
The Boy Who Flew is about a boy called Athan, and he works for a man called Mr Chen. Together, they invent crazy but clever things. But then, one day, something happens that will change Athan’s life forever. With Mr Chen murdered, it is up to Athan to keep their latest invention safe.

I love this book, because the book continues in Athan’s thoughts. When Mr Chen is murdered, the book shows what Athan thinks at that point, and throughout the book, he starts to work things out, and you read it as he does, so you feel like part of the mystery. It shows big dilemmas, and small things that might just change Athan’s life forever. Athan shows a brave and caring side when he looks after his family. I think this book is not just 9-11, I think older kids would enjoy it, too.
29th December '18
Leonapie read it themselves aged 11 aged 11
The Boy Who Flew 9781788004381
5 stars
Fab Book to read over Christmas period my 11 yr old really enjoyed it. She enjoyed how the story began and then when Mr Chen got murdered, she was wanting to follow the Mystery through with  Athan. Lots of things to keep you engaged with the book and wanting to know what happened. The ending was good but feel there could be a second book to it 
29th December '18
I read it myself (an adult)
The Boy Who Flew 9781788004381
5 stars
The Boy Who Flew is a hair raising, heart stopping thrill of a story. When Athan Wilde's friend and mentor Mr Chen is shockingly murdered, Athan realises sinister forces are gathering to try to steal details of his latest invention- a marvellous flying machine. Athan is determined to unmask the murderers, protect the invention and also use it as a way to pull his family out from grinding poverty.His plans, however, put his entire family in grave danger, especially his frail but spirited sister Beatty. Fleur Hitchcock creates an intriguing world of crowded, poor and secretive streets and high, open rooftops on which Athan dreams of freedom. There are fantastically written characters within the story - the villainous Colonel Blade is a sly, menacing and dark figure who reminded me of the very best of the worst Dickens`villians. There are some stand out scenes as the adventure unfolds and the final few chapters build into an emotional, frantic and and nerve shredding conclusion. A fantastic adventure that I thoroughly recommend.  
2nd January '19
Jstevens read it themselves aged 14 aged 14
The Boy Who Flew 9781788004381
4 stars
The boy who flew is another brilliant book by Fleur Hitchcock. It is griping and intense. After reading her earlier book, 'A murder in midwinter', I was expecting another thriller. What I wasn’t expecting, was for it to be even better. 

I liked the story’s historical backdrop, set before an era of planes. Whilst it had a slow start, from chapter 9 it swung into full action making it an unpredictable and dramatic page turner. I thought the characters and the setting were brilliantly described, but sketches at the start of each chapter might appeal to a younger reader. 

I would definitely recommend this thrilling, adventurous and mysterious book to children from ages 9-14. It is the sort of book where you say to yourself, “I will only read 1 chapter” and end up reading 5!

By Jolyon Stevens
age 14
20th December '18
Pops09 read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
The Boy Who Flew 9781788004381
4 stars
My daughter raced through this, it is fast paced, action packed and intriguing. She couldn’t wait to see what would happen next. The only problem was that the ending feels rushed, I think it needed to be longer or have a sequel to continue the story. 
19th April '19
I read it myself (an adult)
The Boy Who Flew 9781788004381
4 stars
It took me quite a while to get into this story but I’m glad I did. By the middle of the book, I was hooked. In true Fleur Hitchcock style, she used just the right amount of mystery and suspense. I don’t think it’s her best book which is why I only gave it 4 stars. 
26th December '18
Pokeman read it themselves aged 11 aged 11
The Boy Who Flew 9781788004381
4 stars
I really enjoyed this book,  I did feel that sometimes the author could have expanded the story more as I felt that not everything was told in the story. My favourite character was Mr Chen, the story is based around the flying machine he made. Mr Chen is really well described and is really smart.
11th March '19
GirlsRule read it themselves aged 11 aged 11
The Boy Who Flew 9781788004381
4 stars
I love mystery stories and The Boy Who Flew was really exciting (and a little scary!). I liked the character of Athan and couldn’t wait to find out if he succeeded to fly the flying machine. There are lots of unexpected twists which kept me guessing till the end. 
12th March '19
This Girl Loves to Read read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
The Boy Who Flew 9781788004381
4 stars
Young boy Athan lives with his mother, uncle and two sisters. But, when mysteries start to creep into Athens village, Athans only hope is to spread his wings ...... I enjoyed this book and would give it 4/5✨. It was a gripping, adventure book about a young boy who has his mind set on unraveling the mystery. This book made me feel curious at what was going to happen, and the characters are interesting and nearly mythical. I would recommend this book to ages 10+, no younger. There aren’t any illustrations in the book and the main thing I liked about the book was the main storyline.
Show More (0)
Featured Book
Book pages Dennis in Jurassic Bark
Dennis in Jurassic Bark

Dennis's latest adventure is filled with epic fun and a series of interactive puzzles for YOU, the reader, to complete.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Girl, the Bear and the Magic Shoes
The Girl, the Bear and the Magic Shoes

A glittering magical adventure about a girl, a bear and some very special shoes!

View book

About Fleur Hitchcock

Fleur Hitchcock Biography
When she was eight, Fleur wrote a story about an alien and a jelly. It was called The Alien and the Jelly. She grew up a little, studied English, and, for twenty years, sold Applied Art in the city of Bath. All that time she wrote hundreds of press releases and a few stories, but in the end motherhood won and she retr...

More about Fleur Hitchcock

Ratings

  • (6 Reviews)
  • (6 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)