Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Violet and the Pearl of the Orient

by
,

Violet and the Pearl of the Orient Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 7
7 Reviews
Write a Review

Meet Violet Remy-Robinson, an amateur Sherlock Holmes in the making...
When a new family move in next door, Violet is sure there's something strange about them. Then her eccentric, but lovely neighbour, Dee Dee Derota, has a precious jewel stolen. Could the new family be to blame? Violet is on the case to uncover the truth...
With a beautiful hardback package complete with two colour illustrations throughout by emerging talent, Becka Moore, everyone is bound to fall in love with Violet and the colourful characters that make up her world. Perfect for fans of Dixie O'Day, Ottoline, Goth Girl and Darcy Burdock.

Violet and the Pearl of the Orient Reviews | Toppsta

9781471118951

Share on

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

30th September '18
I read it myself (an adult) & to Nay-Nay aged 1 aged 1
Violet and the Pearl of the Orient 9781471118951
5 stars
A charming mystery adventure for younger readers, Violet and the Pearl of the Orient is a delightful, engaging read for parents and children alike. With beautiful black, white and purple illustrations throughout the book that help to guide the reader through the story, this book is beautifully presented to entice young readers.
Violet lives in an apartment in a quiet area with an eclectic bunch of neighbours. When new neighbours move in and things start to change – for the worse – Violet sets out to prove that they are the reason that things are going bad. Determined to help her aging but beloved neighbour, Violet conducts her own investigation to uncover the truth and see her new neighbours have to face the consequences of their actions.
This is a wonderful story for the middle grade audience. It’s got a great mystery that is easy to follow (and solve) and a brilliant cast of characters that bring the story to life.
An excellent read that can be read to a child or by a child. Highly recommended read that I thoroughly enjoyed 5⭐️ 
26th February '15
Westy10 read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
Violet and the Pearl of the Orient 9781471118951
5 stars
I loved this book because it was a detective story and it was lovely that the main character was a girl. She was very funny and it made me laugh a lot. I think girls and boys would like this book so don't be put off by the purple cover.  I would love there to be more Violet stories
5th March '15
Read to a child aged 7
Violet and the Pearl of the Orient 9781471118951
5 stars
I like this book because the author must of really thought about it and taken lots of time. It was very colourful on every page and has lots of pattens. The book is about a little girl called Violet and her neighbour Dee Dee Derota. Dee Dee has a precious pearl brooch stolen and Violet tries to find it for her but no one will help her...... I won't tell you how this ends....you will need to read the book and find out what happens.
10th October '18
I read it myself (an adult)
Violet and the Pearl of the Orient 9781471118951
5 stars
'Violet and the Pearl of the Orient,' introduces the reader to the quick witted and smart Violet. You know Violet is not your ordinary type of girl when you learn that she lists speaking fluent French, mixing a perfect cocktail and playing poker as some of the unusual things she has learned in her life so far. She's the kind of girl who notices when strange things are afoot, so when the Count and Countess Du Plicitous move into her neighbourhood she finds them very odd and fails to fall for their charms like all of the grown ups. When her fabulous neighbour Dee Dee Derota precious jewel is stolen Violet suspects that the Count and Countess are to blame. Of course nobody will listen to the protests of a small girl, so it's up to Violet and her friends to come up with a cunning plan to expose the thief.  A brilliant mix of bumbling adults and keen eyed children make for a truly enjoyable story that will entice and entertain mystery lovers.

Violet and the Hidden Treasure
12th March '15
I read it to Belllboo aged 7 aged 7
Violet and the Pearl of the Orient 9781471118951
5 stars
This book is about a girl called violet and her friend Rose who go on a mission to find their friend Dee Dee's precious jewel because they can't stand to see her so sad.  I like that the book has a happy ending and that they find the jewel but I dislike that the baddies get away.  I think that girls my age (7+)would enjoy this book.
21st July '15
Read to a child aged
Violet and the Pearl of the Orient 9781471118951
5 stars
The book is just lovely in its presentation and my daughter was quite smitten with Violet. It made her laugh out loud in places and it had cats, which is always a winner for every book. We have now had the library order the other one in the series and can't wait to get it.
22nd July '15
Read to a child aged
Violet and the Pearl of the Orient 9781471118951
4 stars
I’d heard great things about this and I like to read a bit of Middle Grade now and again so I was looking forward to it. It’s a mystery for kids that follows the main character, Violet, as she tries to solve a robbery in her neighbourhood. It’s all very silly but it’s also very engaging and I really enjoyed reading it. Of course the story is stripped of most of the elements that make up a good adult mystery (including any real ‘mystery’ over whodunnit) but it is perfect for kids who are looking for something a bit different to read and a great way to introduce them to the genre. One of the best things about this book is the illustrations by Becka Moor. They add a nice touch to the story and distract you from the strange font choice. Overall it’s a lot of fun and I think if you’ve got a child aged around 7-11 then they would really enjoy this one. My only problem really is that it’s very obvious and a little bit too simple, even for a children’s book. I think it would have been better if there had been a little bit more to the mystery, rather than spelling it out from the start.
Show More (0)

About Harriet Whitehorn

Harriet Whitehorn grew up in London, where she still lives with her husband and three daughters. She has studied at Reading University, the Architectural Association and The Victoria and Albert Museum and has always worked in building conservation. She currently works for English Heritage. Violet and the Pearl of the Orient was her first children's book and...

More about Harriet Whitehorn

About Becka Moor

Becka Moor Biography
Becka Moor is a children's book illustrator and storyteller living in Manchester. She studied illustration for children's publishing at Glyndwr University, graduating in 2012. Since then, she has worked on a variety of fiction books and series as well...

More about Becka Moor

Ratings

    5 stars
  • (6 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)