Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Great Escape

by

The Great Escape Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 1
1 Review
Write a Review

The Great Escape is a gripping and heartwarming story for 9+ readers about three pets who are separately from their beloved owners in Second World War London, fleeing to the countryside to survive. Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo's War Horse and Lauren St John. BUSTER is a lively Jack Russell
TIGER is a feisty white and ginger tom
ROSE is a faithful Collie Robert and Lucy Edwards love their pets more than anything; but the threat of the Second World War forces them to flee to Devon - leaving their animals behind. And as the air raid sirens sound over London, the frightened animals are sent to be put down. Buster, Tiger and Rose make a daring escape but with danger at every turn, can the trio make it across the country as it prepares for battle - and cheat death for the second time? Praise for Megan Rix: 'If you love Michael Morpurgo, you will enjoy this' Express

'A moving tale told with warmth, kindliness and lashings of good sense that lovers of Dick King-Smith will especially appreciate' The Times 'Every now and then a writer comes along with a unique way of storytelling . . . Meet Megan Rix . . . her novels are deeply moving and will strike a chord with animal lovers .' LoveReading About the author:
Megan Rix lives in England with her husband, and their adorable dogs, Traffy and Bella. Also available by Megan Rix:
The Great Escape, The Victory Dogs.

www.meganrix.com

The Great Escape Reviews | Toppsta

9780141342719
  • ISBN: 9780141342719
  • Pub Date: 3rd May 2012
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number of Pages: 224

Share on

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Category

See More Animal stories

See More Adventure stories

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

   
Age 9

About Megan Rix

Megan Rix is the hugely popular author of animal adventure books set in the modern day and key periods of history, including the First and Second World Wars, the Great Fire of London and the Suffragettes fight for women's right to vote. An animal lover and dog-trainer, Megan draws inspiration from her own adorable dogs Traffy, Bella and Freya, and many fasci...

More about Megan Rix

Ratings

  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)