Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Day the Screens Went Blank

by
,

Write a Review

A hilarious middle-grade road-trip adventure from bestselling author, comedian, and presenter Danny Wallace, with illustrations throughout from Gemma Correll. Perfect for fans of Liz Pichon and David Baddiel!

Imagine if all the technology in the world just . . . STOPPED.

When ten-year-old Stella wakes up to discover a world full of BLANK screens, her family, town, and in fact the whole world seems to have been thrown into chaos. And what about poor Grandma who is stranded at the other end of the country?

Cue a rollicking madcap road trip , full of driving disasters and family fallouts, as they set off on a rescue mission. And along the way Stella and her family discover that being away from screens might not be the Worst Thing Ever, and even though they might not be able to rely on technology anymore, they can rely on each other instead.

Also by Danny Wallace:
Hamish and WorldStoppers
Hamish and the Neverpeople
Hamish and the Gravity Burp
Hamish and the Baby Boom
Hamish and the Monster Patrol
Hamish and the Terrible Terrible Christmas

The Day the Screens Went Blank Reviews | Toppsta

9781471196881

Share on

Featured Book
The Weather Weaver
The Weather Weaver

BOOK OF THE MONTH - We love this magical coming-of-age debut by Tamsin Mori. Perfect for fans of Michelle Harrison, Catherine Doyle, and Abi Elphinstone.

View book
Featured Books

Giveaway

The Day the Screens Went Blank

Enter to win a copy of this book to review for us!

Paperback Edition
UK & IE Only


Enter your details

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Category

See More General fiction

See More Science fiction

See More Adventure stories

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Be the first to write a Review


No one has written a review for 'The Day the Screens Went Blank'

Why not be the first to share your opinion?

Giveaway

The Day the Screens Went Blank

Enter to win a copy of this book to review for us!

Paperback Edition
UK & IE Only


Enter your details
Featured Book
The Weather Weaver
The Weather Weaver

BOOK OF THE MONTH - We love this magical coming-of-age debut by Tamsin Mori. Perfect for fans of Michelle Harrison, Catherine Doyle, and Abi Elphinstone.

View book
Featured Books

About Danny Wallace

Danny Wallace Biography
Danny Wallace is an award-winning writer and presenter. His first novel for adult readers, Charlotte Street, was an international bestseller and followed in the wake of his non-fiction bestsellers which include Awkward Situations for Men, Yes Man and Join Me. He writes a regular column for Shortlist

More about Danny Wallace

About Gemma Correll

Illustrator Gemma Correll is one of the few people in the universe who has managed to turn her love of pugs into a lucrative career. She has exhibited her illustrations all over the world: in China, the US and Europe, and was the recipient of a Young Guns award from the Art Directors Club of New York in 2010. She's a serial punner with a crush on all things

More about Gemma Correll

Ratings

  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)