Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Moondial

by

Moondial Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 1
1 Review
Write a Review

A new edition of the much-loved classic story of time travel, ghosts and friendship.

Even before she came to Belton, Minty Cane had known that she was a witch, or something very like it . . .
Minty is the kind of girl who notices things. Pockets of cold air on a stairway. Cries on the wind. Ghosts.
On night-time jaunts from the house where she's staying while her mother recovers from an accident, Minty stumbles upon a moondial which takes her back in time. She finds Tom, a sickly kitchen boy, and Sarah, a girl with a birthmark who is only allowed out at night because her family think she has the mark of the devil . . .
Can Minty save her friends, or will she get stuck in the past . . .?
'Fresh and entertaining.' Publishers Weekly
'Carefully wrought and evanescent as a ghost story should be, this will be enjoyed by any admirer of Tom's Midnight Garden.' Kirkus

Moondial Reviews | Toppsta

9780571322909
  • ISBN: 9780571322909
  • Pub Date: 2nd July 2015
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber
  • Imprint: Faber & Faber
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number of Pages: 304

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages The Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times: Book 3
The Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times: Book 3

BOOK OF THE MONTH: Book three in the bestselling series from current Children's Laureate and author of How To Train Your Dragon, Cressida Cowell.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Strangeworlds Travel Agency
The Strangeworlds Travel Agency

Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and The Polar Bear Explorers' Club.

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Series

This is Book 1 in the Faber Children's Classics Series. See all Faber Children's Classics books here.

Category

See More General fiction

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader
Featured Book
Book pages The Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times: Book 3
The Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times: Book 3

BOOK OF THE MONTH: Book three in the bestselling series from current Children's Laureate and author of How To Train Your Dragon, Cressida Cowell.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Strangeworlds Travel Agency
The Strangeworlds Travel Agency

Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and The Polar Bear Explorers' Club.

View book

About Helen Cresswell

Helen Cresswell (1934-2005) started writing at the age of six. At that time her primary interest was poetry. As well as being the author of many critically acclaimed novels such as the LIZZIE DRIPPING series, MOONDIAL and THE BAGTHORPE SAGA, she wrote many television scripts, including adaptations of her own novels and other successful series such as TH

More about Helen Cresswell

Ratings

  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)