Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Our favourite Christmas Children's Books

Favourite Christmassy Books

Christmas at Toppsta is the most wonderful time of the year. We've got tea by the bucketload and, most importantly, so many glorious, beautiful, Christmassy books! 

If you're dreaming of snuggling up with a great children's book this Christmas, we've carefully selected our picks that are also new releases this year. 

With books for babies, toddlers and big kids too! 

Toppsta
2023-11-30
Our favourite Christmas Children's Books
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Little Board Books: A Christmas Carol

This is a really special and contemporary board book if you’re looking for a classic story to share with your little one this Christmas.

If you’re looking to fill your little child’s or class library with some trusty classics, this is a fantastic option with bright, vivid illustrations and an inclusive cast of characters. We really love how the timeless story has been packaged in such a trendy way and the text has been rewritten in a much more friendly manner for little readers to digest more easily.

This great story is bound to be picked up over and over again, so the sturdy board book format comes in especially handy with this book.


View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Luna Loves Christmas

Celebrating separated families, but also the joy of giving back to our communities by volunteering, this is such a special Christmas picture book in the much-loved Luna Loves… series.

Toppsta readers have raved about all the Luna Loves… books before, so this new Christmas themed one feels like an extra special gift for the holiday season. Award-winning Children's Laureate Joseph Coelho joins forces with Fiona Lumbers for a fourth book in the Luna Loves... series. This is the kind of book that will make you feel fuzzy inside, and that will help all the children who have two families feel seen and represented.  

The book ends with a sweet note on volunteering, and how doing good for the community brings us all together.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Sparkly Winter Sticker Book

Because we know sticker books are so popular and well-loved, we’ve got just one more sticker book recommendation, which is also perfect throughout the whole winter season.

Animals are always a big hit with children, so what better than a sticker book all about wintry animals? This is a really delightful sparkly winter book, with scenes of snowmen competition, ice sculpture making, snowball fights and more. And each scene is packed full of winter animals.

This book has a wonderful selection of over 180 stickers, perfect for those rainy, extra cold winter days indoors.


View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

How Does Santa Go Down the Chimney?

We love the dry humour of the multi-award-winning duo Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen! In this new picture book, they discuss how Santa goes down the chimney.

Fantastic illustrations. Deadpan humour. We really couldn’t ask for more, could we? This is the Christmas book if you want to have a good laugh, but also cave into the Christmas spirit. This book is also a great way to tackle the questions about Santa’s visit every child asks at least once: How does Santa go down the chimney? Does he go down the chimney feetfirst or headfirst? What if he gets stuck? What if there’s no chimney? Maybe he slides under the door, as thin as a piece of paper? Or is it possible he pours himself through the tap? What happens once he’s inside?

It's such a fun book, which we will be very gladly adding to our Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen collection.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Big Dreaming

This picture book is especially made for those of us who love anything beautiful! But it’s also perfect to encourage little ones to dream big, all while learning about animal hibernation.

It might take you a few moments to get over just how GORGEOUS Daniel Egneus’ illustrations are, but once you have, you will uncover even more beauty in Michael Rosen’s writing. Big Bear sets out on a journey to find enough dreams to last Little Bear through hibernation, and comes back home just in time with dreams of happiness, homecoming and hope.

The book’s uplifting message and nostalgic illustration style make us believe this is nothing but a classic in the making that will be passed down along generations.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

You Can't Let an Elephant Pull Santa's Sleigh

We like to always sprinkle some funny books into the mix, as you might already know, and on this occasion we couldn’t hold back from sharing this hilarious picture book.

Part of the wider You Can’t Take an Elephant on the Bus series, the book follows the same formula as the previous books, but with a Christmas theme to it. We’ve got raccoons trying to decorate Christmas trees, alpacas pulling crackers, buffalos kissing under the mistletoe. It’s all absolutely hilarious and VERY Christmassy.

We love to recommend this series for whenever you just want to have a very good laugh with the little ones.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Santarella

Santarella is a really fun rhyming picture book coming out this year. And it very much does what it says on the tin: Santa meets Cinderella!

The story begins on Christmas Eve with Santa getting ready to do the rounds of gifts. Only he hurts his back, and cannot handle the trip anymore. Cinderella then steps in to save the day, leaving her evil step-sisters behind, and getting the change to finally write her very own happily-ever-after.

We really love this book for it’s simple rhyme, feminist take on the classic fairy tale and it’s bright and fun illustrations.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Poo in the Zoo: Merry Poopmas!

We LOVE this series. It’s so funny, full of animals (and a robot) and now there’s even a Poo in the Zoo book to read at Christmas!

This book is such a winning formula with kids. We’ve got poo, animals, a robot, a very peculiar zookeeper and now… we’ve got Christmas too! Because it’s winter, we’ve got two main problems in this story: the poo in the zoo has FROZEN and one of Santa’s reindeers is feeling very poorly.

The book is filled with funny poo puns, a hilarious story and such bright illustrations that kids will love. It will make the perfect Christmas gift for fans of The Dinosaur That Pooped Christmas, Rudey’s Windy Christmas and Jingle Smells.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

That's Not My Christmas Tree...: A Christmas Book for Babies and Toddlers

Starting our list of favourites strong with an extra special That’s Not My Christmas edition, we just love this touchy-feely board book series for toddlers.

 We’ve collected so many of the That’s Not My… books over the years, but this one is extra special. If you look at the picture below, you’ll see it’s a bigger format, so perfect to be held by more hands around the Christmas tree. Inside the book, children can touch and feel  prickly branches, sparkly decorations and shiny presents!

As just like with all the other books in this fantastic series, you can try and spot the little white mouse on every page. Such a sweet series, and a special addition for the festive period.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

National Trust: 'Tis the Season: A Lift-the-Flap Advent Calendar Full of Christmas Poems

We love a good advent calendar, but rather than chocolates, this year we’ll have poetry! This lift-the-flap gift book has a festive poem for each day leading to Christmas.

If you’re on the hunt for a good book that will help build excitement amongst the little ones in the lead-up to Christmas, this is it. It’s got many flaps on each page and easy-to-read poems by well-known poets that you can get through in less than five minutes. Especially handy as things get so busy around this time of the year!

We already know the kids will love peeking inside the windows of the house to find a family wrapping presents, taking a look behind a holly bush to find a little mouse and seeing what's happening in the town behind a glittering Christmas tree. The book even has a magical fold-out frieze.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Magic Faraway Tree: A Christmas Adventure

We’re calling this the best of all Christmas gifts because it’s a combination of two excellent household names, Jacqueline Wilson and Enid Blyton, that all children (and parents) love.

We found out that The Magic Faraway Tree by Enid Blyton was Jacqueline Wilson's own favourite book as a young child, and so it feels so very special that she’s gone into the world of The Magic Faraway Tree to create a beautiful brand-new Christmas book. The book still has main characters Milo, Mia and Birdy returning to the Enchanted Wood, and they are very much hoping for a trip to the Land of Presents or perhaps the Land of Snow…

We won’t spoil any more of the Christmas magic for you but Jacqueline Wilson’s magical writing mixed into Enid Blyton’s imaginative fantasy world is truly a thing of dreams.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Stepfather Christmas: A Festive Countdown Story in 25 Chapters

Here’s a second brilliant advent calendar-style book, this time for readers aged 8+ and a fictional story about a girl who believes her stepfather might just be Santa.

This is such a heart-warming book to read ahead of Christmas, in which 10-year-old Harper’s stepfather stays with her and her mother for the holiday season. But strange things happen whenever he’s around, for example, snow falls only in the family garden or reindeer suddenly appear on the roof. Plus, his name is Nick. Harper decides there must be no other explanation than that he’s Father Christmas.

The best part of this book is its structure. It’s made up of 25 chapters, just like an advent calendar, so readers can easily read a chapter a day, with an extra special chapter for Christmas day.

View Book COMPARE PRICES

Baby Books

Toppsta
2023-11-30
Our favourite Christmas Children's Books

Classic Picture Books

Toppsta
2023-11-30
Our favourite Christmas Children's Books

Fun and Funny Picture Books

Toppsta
2023-11-30
Our favourite Christmas Children's Books

Christmassy young Fiction

Toppsta
2023-11-30
Our favourite Christmas Children's Books

Christmassy older Fiction 

Toppsta
2023-11-30
Our favourite Christmas Children's Books

Christmas Stories Collections

Toppsta
2023-11-30
Our favourite Christmas Children's Books

The Real Meaning of Christmas

Toppsta
2023-11-30
Our favourite Christmas Children's Books

Christmas Activity Books

Toppsta
2023-11-30
Our favourite Christmas Children's Books

16th November 2023

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email