Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Children's Book Awards 2017

13th December 2017


Toppsta is powered by reviews from children and parents but it's always interesting to know if a book has also been recognised by industry experts and well-read adults! Below you'll find a list of the key Children's Book Awards in the UK. Click on each award to find out more, including upcoming dates for the shortlist announcement, who judges them and the winners. I hope this list will help you discover new books and authors, all recognised as the very best by librarians, booksellers, industry experts, authors and children!


The Waterstones Children’s Book Prize happens every year and uncovers talent fresh to children’s literature which is split into three key areas of children's publishing -  Picture Books, Younger Fiction and Older Fiction. You can see The 2017 Waterstones Children's Book Prize winners of each category and which book walked away with the overall prize. 

Waterstones Logo

The Costa Book Awards

The Costa Book Awards recognises some of the most enjoyable books of the year, written by authors based in the UK and Ireland. Children's Books is just one of the Costa Book Awards' five categories and it is the only prize which places children’s books alongside adult books. You can see the 2017 Costa Book Awards shortlist here.

Costa Book Awards Logo


The Federation of Children's Book Groups, Children’s Book Award is the only national award voted for solely by children from start to finish. It is highly regarded by parents, teachers, librarians, publishers and children’s authors and illustrators as it truly represents the children’s choice. It is split into three categories including Young Children, Younger Readers (6-11), and Older Readers. Click here to see The 2017 Children's Book Awards Shortlist.

Children's Book Award Logo
Branford Boase Award

The CILIP Carnegie Medal

The  CILIP Carnegie Medal is awarded annually to the writer of an outstanding book written in English for children and young people. You can see the CILIP Carnegie Medal longlist and shortlist for this year. 

The CILIP Carnegie Medal Logo

The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal

The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal was established in 1955, for distinguished illustration in a book for children. It is named after the popular and highly influential nineteenth century artist known for her fine children's illustrations and designs. Awarded annually, the Medal is the only prize in the UK to solely reward outstanding illustration in a children's book. You can see the 2017 CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal shortlist and winner here.

The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal Logo


The Laugh Out Loud Book Awards (‘The Lollies’) were created especially to celebrate the funniest and most engaging books in children’s fiction. The Lollies feature three separate awards determined by age group including Picture Books, 6-8 Years Old, and 9-13 Years Old. Check out The Laugh Out Loud Awards 2017 Shortlist here.

The Lollies Logo

YA Book Prize

Powered by The Bookseller, the YA Book Prize is awarded annually to the best young adult book written by an author living in the UK or Ireland. The prize celebrates great books for teenagers and young adults and aims to get more teens reading and buying books. You can see the 2017 YA Book Prize shortlist and winner here.

YA Book Prize Logo

irish book awards 

The Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards were founded to celebrate and promote Irish writing to the widest range of readers possible. Each year it brings together a huge community passionate about books – readers, authors, booksellers, publishers and librarians – to recognise and celebrate the very best of Irish writing talent. There are two separate children's book of the year award for Junior and Senior and you can see The Irish Book Awards 2017 winners and shortlist here.

Irish Book Awards Logo

Blue Peter Book Awards

Blue Peter Book Awards have been recognising and celebrating the best authors, the most creative illustrators and the greatest reads for children since 2000.  The awards are split into two categories: the Best Story and the Best Book with Facts. You can see the 2018 Blue Peter Book Awards Shortlist here.

Blue Peter Book Awards Logo

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email