Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

William Nicholson

  • 5 stars across 24 books
William Nicholson William Nicholson is one of the most talented and in demand writers in the world. He has won awards and critical acclaim across the silver screen, stage and printed book. As a Hollywood screenwriter he has written the screenplays for the Oscar-winning Gladiator and the BAFTA-winner Shadowlands, and his books for children have won him both the Smarties Gold Award and Blue Peter Book Award William was born in 1948 and received his early education at Downside School, a Roman Catholic monastic school, set in the countryside near Bath. He went on to study English Literature at Christ's College, Cambridge, graduating with a double First Class degree in 1970. After leaving university, William joined BBC television, where he worked as a documentary film maker. It was not long before William's talent was channelled into writing for television dramas. In addition to his hugely successful Wind on Fire trilogy, his books for children and his books for teenagers include the Noble Warriors series and Rich and Mad. William lives in Sussex with his wife Virginia.
28th May 2003

Firesong

Led by Hanno and Ira Hath, thirty-two mostly Manth survivors of the fall of the Mastery search for the fabled Homeland. ... MoreFiresong

(1 review) Review
6th April 2017

The Wind Singer

The first book in William Nicholson's award-winning fantasy adventure series, perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Mortal... MoreThe Wind Singer

(1 review) Review
1st November 2005

The Pirate Twins

(0 reviews) Review
7th April 2008

The Wind on Fire Trilogy: Firesong: v

The final book in William Nicholson's award-winning epic fantasy series, Wind on Fire. `Gloriously cinematic and compl... MoreThe Wind on Fire Trilogy: Firesong: v

(0 reviews) Review
7th March 2011

Slaves of the Mastery

The second book in William Nicholson’s award-winning epic fantasy series, Wind on Fire. ‘Gloriously cinematic ... MoreSlaves of the Mastery

(0 reviews) Review
4th September 2006

Jango

Seeker, Morning Star and the Wildman return in the second mesmerising book in William Nicholson's award-winning epic fan... MoreJango

(0 reviews) Review
8th August 2007

Seeker

Introducing the first book in William Nicholson's award-winning epic fantasy series, The Noble Warriors. 'A timeless pie... MoreSeeker

(0 reviews) Review
4th September 2006

Jango

Seeker, Morning Star and the Wild Man return in this sequel to 'Seeker'. Here, the friends discover the secret to the po... MoreJango

(0 reviews) Review
3rd September 2007

Noman

Noman is the brilliant and compelling epic climax of "The Noble Warriors" trilogy from hugely successful Hollywood scree... MoreNoman

(0 reviews) Review
4th September 2006

Seeker

People said that the Nomana warriors had magic powers. They carried no weapons, and wore no armour. They had no need. Th... MoreSeeker

(0 reviews) Review
Image to show page is loading Show More Books