Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Wind Singer

by

The Wind Singer Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 1
1 Review
Write a Review

The first book in William Nicholson's award-winning fantasy adventure series, perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Mortal Engines and Star Wars.

`Gloriously cinematic and completely enthralling' - Independent
This Modern Classic edition contains special bonus material.
I hate school! I hate ratings! I won't reach higher! I won't strive harder! I won't make tomorrow better than today!
In the walled city state of Aramanth, rules are everything. When Kestrel Hath dares to rebel, the Chief Examiner humiliates her father and sentences the whole family to the harshest punishment. Desperate to save them, Kestrel learns the secret of the wind singer, and she and her twin brother, Bowman, set out on a terrifying journey to the true source of evil that grips Aramanth . . .
'In terms of imagination and sheer scale, it's as ambitious as books get . . . think Star Wars and then some' - Daily Telegraph
Fantasy books for children don't get more spectacular than The Wind Singer. William Nicholson's Wind on Fire trilogy has been translated into over 25 languages and won prizes including the Blue Peter Book Award and Smarties Prize Gold Award. One of the greatest writers of our time, William Nicholson has not only sold millions of children's books worldwide, but has also written for the screen and the stage, including the Oscar-winning film Gladiator and the BAFTA-winning play Shadowlands.

The Wind Singer Reviews | Toppsta

9781405285315

Share on

Featured Book
The Exploding Life of Scarlett Fife: Book 1
The Exploding Life of Scarlett Fife: Book 1

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Maz Evans is BACK with a laugh-out-loud tale about a girl with BIG feelings. Recommended for ages 7+ with gorgeous illustrations throughout by Chris Jevons.

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Series

This is Book 1 in the Egmont Modern Classics Series. See all Egmont Modern Classics books here.

Category

See More Fantasy & magical realism

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

   
Age 9
Featured Book
The Exploding Life of Scarlett Fife: Book 1
The Exploding Life of Scarlett Fife: Book 1

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Maz Evans is BACK with a laugh-out-loud tale about a girl with BIG feelings. Recommended for ages 7+ with gorgeous illustrations throughout by Chris Jevons.

View book
Featured Books

About William Nicholson

William Nicholson William Nicholson is one of the most talented and in demand writers in the world. He has won awards and critical acclaim across the silver screen, stage and printed book. As a Hollywood screenwriter he has written the screenplays for the Oscar-winning Gladiator and the BAFTA-winner Shadowlands, and his books for children have won him both t

More about William Nicholson

Ratings

  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)