Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Famous Five

by
  • (100 reviews)

    Generations of children have grown up in the company of the Famous Five - one of the best-selling children’s book series of all time. The Five’s adventures, solving mysteries with the help of lashings of ginger beer, have enthralled youngsters since the 1940s and continue to be reinvented with new illustrations and numerous TV and film adaptations. Toppsta's founder Georgina grew up on the Famous Five books, devouring them under the covers with a torch and still treasures her Famous Five collection to this day.
     
    Enid Blyton’s first Famous Five book Five On a Treasure Island was published in 1942; the series quickly became a smash hit and she would go on to write twenty more between 1942 and 1963. More than two million copies of the books are still sold every year and Enid Blyton's books are firm favourites with people of all ages with the series was even voted British adults’ favourite childhood books of all time in 2010.
     
    The Famous Five characters - adventure-seeker siblings Julian, Dick and Anne, their tomboy cousin George and Timmy the dog - spend their summer holidays together camping, hiking, swimming and picnicking. Somehow though, wherever they are, every holiday seems to produce a mystery to solve and a wild adventure to be had. Thanks to their courage, determination and loyalty, the band of friends find themselves outsmarting thieves and smugglers, finding hidden treasure, navigating dark caves and secret passages and cracking crimes.
     
    Parents love these books for their old-fashioned charm but for children the key is the thrilling stories, the secrets that are uncovered and the sense of adventure. Boys and girls aged 7 and over will be totally absorbed by the Five’s daring exploits and will love trying to solve the mysteries themselves. The books are well suited to independent readers although they can also be read aloud. You can start anywhere so why not try the first book Five On a Treasure Island where the children find a shipwreck off Kirrin Island or the ever popular Five Go to Smuggler’s Top where the children discover underground tunnels and secret signalling out to sea.

    All the Famous Five books in order:-

    Five On A Treasure Island (1942)
    Five Go Adventuring Again (1943)
    Five Run Away Together (1944)
    Five Go To Smuggler's Top (1945)
    Five Go Off In A Caravan (1946)
    Five On Kirrin Island Again (1947)
    Five Go Off To Camp (1948)
    Five Get Into Trouble (1949)
    Five Fall Into Adventure (1950)
    Five On A Hike Together (1951)
    Five Have A Wonderful Time (1952)
    Five Go Down To The Sea (1953)
    Five Go To Mystery Moor (1954)
    Five Have Plenty Of Fun (1955)
    Five On A Secret Trail (1956)
    Five Go To Billycock Hill (1957)
    Five Get Into A Fix (1958)
    Five On Finniston Farm (1960)
    Five Go To Demon's Rocks (1961)
    Five Have A Mystery To Solve (1962)
    Five Are Together Again (1963)

    Book 1
    Book 1

    Five On A Treasure Island: Book 1

    Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE - Enid Blyton's most popular adventur... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 5
    Book 5

    Five Go Off In A Caravan: Book 5

    Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE - Enid Blyton's most popular adventur... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    Book 8
    Book 8

    Five Get Into Trouble: Book 8

    Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timmy the dog find excitement and adventure wherever they go in Enid Blyton's most po... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 10
    Book 10

    Five On A Hike Together: Book 10

    Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE - Enid Blyton's most popular adventur... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 11
    Book 11

    Famous Five: Five Have A Wonderful Time: Book 11

    Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE - Enid Blyton's most popular adventur... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 17
    Book 17

    Famous Five: Five Get Into A Fix: Book 17

    Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE - Enid Blyton's most popular adventur... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 27
    Book 27

    Five Go Down To The Sea: Book 12

    Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timmy the dog find excitement and adventure wherever they go in Enid Blyton's most pop... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 29
    Book 29

    Five Go Off In A Caravan: Book 5

    Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timmy the dog find excitement and adventure wherever they go in Enid Blyton's most pop... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 30
    Book 30

    Five Go off in a Caravan

    Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timmy the dog find excitement and adventure wherever they go in Enid Blyton's most popula... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 31
    Book 31

    Five On A Hike Together: Book 10

    Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timmy the dog find excitement and adventure wherever they go in Enid Blyton's most pop... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 32
    Book 32

    Five Get Into Trouble: Book 8

    Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timmy the dog find excitement and adventure wherever they go in Enid Blyton's most pop... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 33
    Book 33

    Five On A Secret Trail: Book 15

    Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timmy the dog find excitement and adventure wherever they go in Enid Blyton's most pop... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 34
    Book 34

    Five On A Treasure Island: Book 1

    Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE. 'There was something els... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 35
    Book 35

    Five Fall Into Adventure & Five Get Into Trouble

    Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timmy the dog find excitement and adventure wherever they go in Enid Blyton's most popu... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 36
    Book 36

    Five Go Off To Camp & Five Go To Billycock Hill

    Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timmy the dog find excitement and adventure wherever they go in Enid Blyton's most popu... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 51
    Book 51

    Famous Five: Five Run Away Together: Book 3

    Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timmy the dog find excitement and adventure wherever they go in Enid Blyton's most po... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    Book 51
    Book 51

    Five Go Off To Camp: Book 7

    Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE - Enid Blyton's most popular adventur... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 52
    Book 52

    Famous Five: Five Go To Smuggler's Top: Book 4

    Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timmy the dog find excitement and adventure wherever they go in Enid Blyton's most po... More

    (7 reviews)
    Review
    Book 53
    Book 53

    Famous Five: Five On Finniston Farm: Book 18

    Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE - Enid Blyton's most popular adventur... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 54
    Book 54

    Five Fall Into Adventure: Book 9

    Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE - Enid Blyton's most popular adventur... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    Book 54
    Book 54

    Famous Five: Five Go To Mystery Moor: Book 13

    Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE - Enid Blyton's most popular adventur... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 55
    Book 55

    Famous Five: Five Go Down To The Sea: Book 12

    Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE - Enid Blyton's most popular adventur... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 55
    Book 55

    Famous Five: Five Go To Demon's Rocks: Book 19

    Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE - Enid Blyton's most popular adventur... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 56
    Book 56

    Famous Five: Five On Kirrin Island Again: Book 6

    Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timmy the dog find excitement and adventure wherever they go in Enid Blyton's most po... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    Book 57
    Book 57

    Famous Five: Five Go Adventuring Again: Book 2

    Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timmy the dog find excitement and adventure wherever they go in Enid Blyton's most po... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    Book 58
    Book 58

    Famous Five: Five Go To Billycock Hill: Book 16

    Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE - Enid Blyton's most popular adventur... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 59
    Book 59

    Five Have Plenty Of Fun: Book 14

    Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE - Enid Blyton's most popular adventur... More

    (11 reviews)
    Review
    Book 60
    Book 60

    Famous Five: Five On A Secret Trail: Book 15

    Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE - Enid Blyton's most popular adventur... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 61
    Book 61

    Famous Five: Five Have A Mystery To Solve: Book 20

    Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE - Enid Blyton's most popular adventur... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 62
    Book 62

    Famous Five: Five Are Together Again: Book 21

    Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE - Enid Blyton's most popular adventur... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    View all Books
    Featured Book
    The Weather Weaver
    The Weather Weaver

    BOOK OF THE MONTH - We love this magical coming-of-age debut by Tamsin Mori. Perfect for fans of Michelle Harrison, Catherine Doyle, and Abi Elphinstone.

    View book
    Featured Books

    New Book

    Most Popular Book

    Recent Reviews