Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Toto

by
  • (48 reviews)

    Toto is no ordinary cat. By day, she may be just your average pet, living with her brother Silver in a townhouse in London. But by night, Toto and Silver have the most outlandish adventures you could imagine. 

    Toto is almost totally blind, but she learned the ninja skills she needs to survive from an Italian cat-master back when she was a kitten. Now it’s up to the cat ninja and her sidekick Silver to save the day, on adventures from London Zoo to the music festival of Catsonbury; saving the world’s cheese from the evil Arch-Duke Ferdicat. Wherever they go, their adventures are served with a dose of mystery and plenty of laughs.

    Toto the Ninja Cat is written by much-loved broadcaster Dermot O’Leary. After presenting the X-Factor and his hugely popular Radio 2 breakfast show, he turned to writing in 2017 with this series of books inspired by his very own cats Toto and Silver. As he explains "The idea for Toto first came to me when my wife and I rescued two stray cats from an olive grove in Italy. One of them, Toto, has been blind from birth, but we quickly realised she had ninja-like reactions. Like a lot of cat owners (or cat servants), we like to imagine our pets having secret lives when we're out or asleep. So before I knew it I was writing about Toto and her brother Silver's nocturnal adventures around London. I really hope that children who pick it up enjoy reading the adventures of our little Italian underdog (cat)."

    The engaging black and white illustrations, by the brilliant Nick East bring the stories to life. Nick's popular illustrations can be found in other bestselling series such as Goodnight Digger and Knock Knock. He worked for many years as a museum designer but has always been a storyteller, whether as a child, filling sketchbooks with quirky characters, or as a designer displaying a collection of ancient artefacts. 

    The collaboration of the two make these books great first chapter books, perfect for fans of The Secret Life of Pets, Spy Dog or Captain Pug. The Toto books are ideal for emerging readers aged 7 and over. 
     
    Whether you are reading aloud or reading alone, adults and kids alike will love Toto and Silver’s madcap adventures as they win against adversity time and again. Start with book one Toto the Ninja Cat and the Great Snake Escape.  

    All the Toto the Ninja Cat Books in Order: 

    Book 1: Toto the Ninja Cat and the Great Snake Escape (2017)
    Book 2 Toto the Ninja Cat and the Incredible Cheese Heist (2018)
    Book 3: Toto the Ninja Cat and the Superstar Catastrophe (2019)

    Book 1
    Book 1

    Toto the Ninja Cat and the Great Snake Escape: Book 1

    Meet Toto: she's no ordinary cat, and she can't wait to have an adventure with you! From one of the UK's best-loved ... More

    (17 reviews)
    Review
    Book 2
    Book 2

    Toto the Ninja Cat and the Incredible Cheese Heist: Book 2

    Toto is no ordinary cat, and she can't wait for you to join her on her SECOND ninja adventure! From one of the UK'... More

    (8 reviews)
    Review
    Book 3
    Book 3

    Toto the Ninja Cat and the Superstar Catastrophe: Book 3

    Toto is no ordinary cat, and she can't wait for you to join her on her THIRD ninja adventure! After months of... More

    (23 reviews)
    Review
    new-added-book
    new-added-book

    Toto the Ninja Cat and the Superstar Catastrophe: Book 3

    Toto is no ordinary cat, and she can't wait for you to join her on her THIRD ninja adventure! From one of the UK's be... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    View all Books
    Featured Book
    Book pages The Great Brain Robbery
    The Great Brain Robbery

    The second magical, mystery adventure in the fabulous Train to Impossible Places series by P.G. Bell

    View book
    Featured Book
    Book pages Nightshade
    Nightshade

    Alex Rider is BACK in a new adventure! Sent by MI6 Special Operations to infiltrate a new and sinister organisation, the fate of thousands of people rests in his hands.

    View book

    Recent Reviews