Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Knights of the Borrowed Dark (Knights of the Borrowed Dark Book 1)

by

Knights of the Borrowed Dark (Knights of the Borrowed Dark Book 1) Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 10
10 Reviews
Write a Review

The first book in a new series about an orphan boy who discovers he is part of a secret army that protects the world from a race of shadowy monsters.

Grey placed his finger in the middle of the shadow.
'What's this?' he asked.
Denizen frowned. 'It's a shadow.'
'No, it isn't,' Grey said. 'It's a door.'

Denizen Hardwick doesn't believe in magic - until he's ambushed by a monster created from shadows and sees it destroyed by a word made of sunlight.

That kind of thing can really change your perspective.

Now Denizen is about to discover that there's a world beyond the one he knows. A world of living darkness where an unseen enemy awaits.

Fortunately for humanity, between us and the shadows stand the Knights of the Borrowed Dark.

Unfortunately for Denizen, he's one of them . . .

Knights of the Borrowed Dark (Knights of the Borrowed Dark Book 1) Reviews | Toppsta

9780141356600
  • ISBN: 9780141356600
  • Pub Date: 7th April 2016
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number of Pages: 368

Share on

Series

This is Book 1 in the Knights of the Borrowed Dark Series. See all Knights of the Borrowed Dark books here.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

30th May '17
Belllboo read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
Knights of the Borrowed Dark (Knights of the Borrowed Dark Book 1) 9780141356600
5 stars
This book is awesome!

Good versus evil with strange magic powers like controlling fire and really good characters.  The only thing I didn't like much about this book was that I kept reading Denizens name wrong.
22nd May '17
Esa Mahmood Asghar read it themselves aged 13 aged 13
Knights of the Borrowed Dark (Knights of the Borrowed Dark Book 1) 9780141356600
5 stars
A brilliant book! Can't wait to read the next one!
29th April '17
I read it myself (an adult)
Knights of the Borrowed Dark (Knights of the Borrowed Dark Book 1) 9780141356600
5 stars
Knights of the Borrowed Dark blew me away - the twist was brilliant and fresh, the antagonists menacing and a formidable, original opponent and I loved Denizen and his character growth and great bromance with Simon.
Truly imaginative world building as well - in that sense, I've read few books as good and it reminded me of Harry Potter in all the best ways.
This is destined to be a highly successful and acclaimed series of books, which I wouldn't be surprised to see adapted to film at some point in the near future.
7th May '17
Yoloman read it themselves aged 11 aged 11
Knights of the Borrowed Dark (Knights of the Borrowed Dark Book 1) 9780141356600
5 stars
Book one of a trilogy is set in Ireland, modern day. The story is set around Denizen who doesnt believe in magic until he gets his powers....

The book is a mixture of mystery, adventure and a little horror. There are lots of twists which keep you reading, almost like two stories running alongside. Its a book that makes you want to read on.

Simon is my favourite character he is cool and calm under pressure, he is not a main character but I enjoyed him being in the story. 
14th May '17
dj.jparsons read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
Knights of the Borrowed Dark (Knights of the Borrowed Dark Book 1) 9780141356600
5 stars
The Knights of the Borrowered Dark is a extremely good book. I recommend it to children age 9 and upwards and adults. The book contains a lot of excitement and twists. The book always kept me on edge and kept me guessing.  
I can't wait to read the next book because this one was so so good! 
21st May '17
MunchkinMegan read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
Knights of the Borrowed Dark (Knights of the Borrowed Dark Book 1) 9780141356600
5 stars
Wow. What an awesome book!

As Denizen doesn't believe in magic things get tricky for him quite early on and interesting for us as the reader. I really enjoyed the story, it was a mixture of magic, creepiness and adventure- total awesomeness!

I would recommend this book for over 9's and adults (because Mummy's started reading it too!)
3rd May '17
Rory read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
Knights of the Borrowed Dark (Knights of the Borrowed Dark Book 1) 9780141356600
5 stars
Knights of the Borrowed Dark is such a good book. Although it is a children's/YA book I think that adults would love it too. Denizen and Simon are my favourite characters, their friendship is one of the best parts of the book. It is a good vs evil story with lots of twists that keep you really interested. The story is quite creepy in places and has a real eerie feel to it. The settings come alive with the author's great descriptions. I would highly recommend the book and look forward to reading the rest of the series. 
2nd June '17
I read it myself (an adult)
Knights of the Borrowed Dark (Knights of the Borrowed Dark Book 1) 9780141356600
4 stars
This was a good book with a lot of good description. Denizen is a colourful character with a good heart. Simon is also well read and  a good friend. Overall I enjoyed the plot and recommend for fans of Lockwood and Co.
20th May '17
Pirate06 read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
Knights of the Borrowed Dark (Knights of the Borrowed Dark Book 1) 9780141356600
4 stars
I really enjoyed Knights of the Borrowed Dark: it was a good adventure story and had elements of humour. I took a while to get into but I carried on and soon found myself really enjoying it. It picks up pace and ends up very, very good. It is perfect for 9-14 year-olds. If you're looking for a good read, read this book.

The book is about of group of people who fight dark shadow-creatures that are able to use anything around them to materialise. They come from another universe through breaches in our world. The order - which includes the main character - needs to fight them. As the plot thickens, it becomes a mystery as Denizen (the main character) helps hunt for something that has been stolen. There are twists and turns as the tale reaches the finale.
21st May '17
Leonjames read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
Knights of the Borrowed Dark (Knights of the Borrowed Dark Book 1) 9780141356600
4 stars
I really enjoyed this book it had me hooked from the start. A story of good vs evil which is full of adventure and twists and turns. I couldn't put this down the descriptions are fantastic and you can really imagine the character. Definitely say 9+ years for this book as it's does get a little dark. 
Show More (0)

About Dave Rudden

Dave Rudden is a former actor, teacher and time-displaced Viking currently living in Dublin. He is the author of the award-winning Knights of the Borrowed Dark trilogy, and enjoys cats, adventure and being cruel to fictional children....

More about Dave Rudden

Ratings

  • (7 Reviews)
  • (3 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)