Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Kites Are Flying!

by
,

The Kites Are Flying! Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 4 based on 1
1 Review
Write a Review

A most moving tale celebrating the bright light of humanity surviving even in the darkest conflict.

Travelling to the West Bank to witness first hand what life is like for Palestinians and Jews living in the shadow of a dividing wall, journalist Max strikes up a friendship with an enigmatic Palestinian boy, Said. Together the two sit under an ancient olive tree while Said makes another of his kites. When Said takes Max home, the reporter learns of the terrible events in the family's past and begins to understand why Said does not speak. Told from both Max's and Said's points of view, Morpurgo has created a beautiful tale of tragedy and hope with an ending that rings with joy.

The Kites Are Flying! Reviews | Toppsta

9781406326031

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages Dragon Mountain
Dragon Mountain

BOOK OF THE MONTH: The first adventure in the ROAR some DRAGON REALM series for 9+ readers! Perfect for fans of PERCY JACKSON and BEAST QUEST!

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world
Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world

Celebrate the greatest names and teams in football history with this collection of 50 true stories in this popular football series.

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Category

See More General fiction

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

   
Age 9
Featured Book
Book pages Dragon Mountain
Dragon Mountain

BOOK OF THE MONTH: The first adventure in the ROAR some DRAGON REALM series for 9+ readers! Perfect for fans of PERCY JACKSON and BEAST QUEST!

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world
Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world

Celebrate the greatest names and teams in football history with this collection of 50 true stories in this popular football series.

View book

About Michael Morpurgo

Michael Morpurgo Biography
Michael Morpurgo is an award-winning English author, born in St. Alban’s in 1943. After attending St. Matthias primary school in London, Michael was sent away to boarding school, which he never liked and wrote about in his novel, Butterly Lion.

Later Mi

More about Michael Morpurgo

About Laura Carlin

Laura Carlin is an illustrator and ceramics artist based in London. A graduate of the Royal College of Art, her illustrated edition of Ted Hughes' The Iron Man won the V&A Book Illustration Award in 2011. Her clients include The New York Times, The House of Illustration, Vogue magazine, The Guardian, and The Financial Times among others.

More about Laura Carlin

Ratings

  • (0 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)