Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Traveling Camera: Lewis Hine and the Fight to End Child Labor

by
,

Write a Review

Stunning visuals and poetic text combine to tell the inspiring story of Lewis Hine (1874-1940), a teacher and photographer who employed his art as a tool for social reform. Working for the National Child Labor Committee (NCLC), Hine traveled the United States, taking pictures of children as young as five toiling under dangerous conditions in cotton mills, seafood canneries, farms, and coal mines. He often wore disguises to sneak into factories, impersonating a machinery inspector or traveling salesman. He said, "If I could tell this story in words, I wouldn't need to lug a camera." His poignant pictures attracted national attention and were instrumental in the passage of child labor laws. The Traveling Camera contains extensive back matter including a time line, original photos, and a bibliography.

The Traveling Camera: Lewis Hine and the Fight to End Child Labor Reviews | Toppsta

9781947440067

Share on

Featured Book
Barb the Brave
Barb the Brave

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Our reviewers are LOVING this full-colour and gloriously funny graphic novel from new talent Dan Abdo and Jason Patterson. Recommended for ages 6+ and perfect for fans of Dog Man.

View book
Featured Book
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)

Diary of a Wimpy Kid is the series our readers read again and again. It's often the series which gets kids into reading because it's funny, easy to read, illustrated and you don't need to read the books in order. The paperback of The Deep End (book 15) is out now.

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Category

See More People & places

See More Art: general interest

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Be the first to write a Review


No one has written a review for 'The Traveling Camera: Lewis Hine and the Fight to End Child Labor'

Why not be the first to share your opinion?

Featured Book
Barb the Brave
Barb the Brave

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Our reviewers are LOVING this full-colour and gloriously funny graphic novel from new talent Dan Abdo and Jason Patterson. Recommended for ages 6+ and perfect for fans of Dog Man.

View book
Featured Book
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)

Diary of a Wimpy Kid is the series our readers read again and again. It's often the series which gets kids into reading because it's funny, easy to read, illustrated and you don't need to read the books in order. The paperback of The Deep End (book 15) is out now.

View book

About Alexandra Hinrichs

Alexandra S. D. Hinrichs loves exploring new places, including France, where she once studied. She lives in Bangor, Maine. Ren e Graef has illustrated over seventy books for children, including the Kirsten series in the American Girl collection and many of the My First Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder. She splits her time between Los Angeles and Mi

More about Alexandra Hinrichs

Books by this author

About Michael Garland

Michael Garland , an author and illustrator of children's picture books, has won numerous awards for his work. Miss Smith's Incredible Storybook received the California and Delaware State Reading awards and Miss Smith and the Haunted Library made The New York Times Bestseller list. He is the illustrator of the Golde

More about Michael Garland

Books by this illustrator

Ratings

  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)