Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Peculiar Tale of the Tentacle Boy

by

The Peculiar Tale of the Tentacle Boy Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 5
5 Reviews
Write a Review

A fin-tastic tale of friendship and adventure, perfect
for fans of Lemony Snicket and Edward Scissorhands!
'Charming and delightful ... a whimsical adventure story stuffed
to the flippers with fish puns and fun.' SAM
SEDGMAN, CO-AUTHOR OF THE ADVENTURES ON TRAINS SERIES
'The story has been polished like a pebble in a gift shop
... so charming and quirky is our voyage' THE TIMES
'[A] gem of a book' JENNIFER KILLICK
'Crammed to the gills with everything I want in
a middle-grade book ... I was swept right into the vivid world of
Merlington and adored the larger-than-life characters deftly drawn
in technicolour - they sing from the pages!' JASBINDER
BILAN
Marina lives in Merlington,
a fish-obsessed seaside town. Unfortunately, she doesn't care for
fish; she loves telling stories.
Marina finds her best
story yet when she explores the ruined, haunted pier: a boy called
William with a head of tentacles and crab claws for hands. He
has lived on the pier all his life, cared for by a fisherman who
has since disappeared and who warned him always to remain hidden.
Together, the pair resolve to unravel the mystery of
his past - but danger isn't far away ...

The debut novel by Richard Pickard, a fresh new voice
in children's fiction and winner of the Times/Chicken House Chairman's
Choice Award 2019.
A funny, dark, core middle-grade story touching on themes
of lies, storytelling, secrets, acceptance and, of course, fish!
Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket's A Series of
Unfortunate Events and Edward Scissorhands!

The Peculiar Tale of the Tentacle Boy Reviews | Toppsta

9781913322397

Share on

Featured Book
Fireborn: Twelve and the Frozen Forest
Fireborn: Twelve and the Frozen Forest

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Set in the snowy northern forest of an imagined pre-historic world, this is a gripping middle-grade adventure from debut author Aisling Fowler.

View book
Featured Books

Additional Resources

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

youtube video play button

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

     
Age 8 9
Featured Book
Fireborn: Twelve and the Frozen Forest
Fireborn: Twelve and the Frozen Forest

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Set in the snowy northern forest of an imagined pre-historic world, this is a gripping middle-grade adventure from debut author Aisling Fowler.

View book
Featured Books

Ratings

  • (3 Reviews)
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)