Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Ways to Be Me

by
,

Ways to Be Me Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 2
2 Reviews
Write a Review

From the bestselling author duo behind Can You See
Me? comes this exceptional portrayal of autism diagnosis,
with diary entries by 12-year-old autistic author Libby Scott.
Taking place before Can You See Me? and Do
You Know Me? this standout prequel follows Tally through her
autism diagnosis in her final year of primary school.
Ten-year-old Tally had high hopes for Year 6.
Being in the top class at school means a whole host of
privileges, but even better than that is the school production
- and Tally is convinced she'll win the lead role.
But at home, things aren't going so well. Mum and Dad have been
making Tally feel pressured and upset, and Tally wishes things
didn't bother her so much - but they do, and sometimes she feels
so misunderstood and frustrated, she could explode.
Then Tally's mum and dad tell her about something she's never
heard about before. Something called autism. And everything changes.

The third book written in collaboration with Libby Scott &
prequel to the bestselling Can You See Me?
When Libby's mum shared a short piece of Libby's writing online
it soon went viral, with tens of thousands of people saying that
Libby's writing helped them understand autism for the first time
This fictionalised portrayal of a young autistic
girl is written by Rebecca Westcott, in close collaboration
with Libby Scott, making it a truly original and inspirational book
that will give readers of all ages a deeper understanding of what
it's like to be autistic
Perfect for fans of The Goldfish Boy, Wonder and The
Curious Incident of the Dog In the Night-time
BOOKS BY LIBBY SCOTT AND REBECCA WESTCOTT
Can You See Me? (2019)
Do You Know Me? (2020)
Ways To Be Me (2021)

Ways to Be Me Reviews | Toppsta

9780702308352
  • ISBN: 9780702308352
  • Pub Date: 1st July 2021
  • Publisher: Scholastic
  • Imprint: Scholastic
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number of Pages: 368

Share on

Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Category

See More General fiction

See More Family & home stories

See More School stories

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

   
Age 10
Featured Books

About Rebecca Westcott

Rebecca Westcott was born in Chester. She went to Exeter University to train as a teacher and has had a variety of teaching jobs that have taken her to some very interesting places, including a Category C male prison. She started writing a diary when she was eight years old, although she had no idea that one day her entries would be used to help her write a

More about Rebecca Westcott

Ratings

  • (2 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)