Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Just Ferret

by

Write a Review

Cricklepit Combined School has seen its fair share of 'problem cases' - Tyke Tyler, Gowie Corby, Charlie Lewis and Juniper Cantello. But when Ferret is marched by his dad to the front door on his first day, feeling sick with apprehension, he doesn't know that he too will become one of its heroes.

His big problem is that he can't read - not that he doesn't want to, he just can't. And then there is the bullying: Magnus and his gang stealing kids' money, while the teachers all think he can do no wrong. Thank goodness, then, for Mint and Beany, and Minty's mum ... and Sir.
This fifth story about Cricklepit Combined, immortalized so wonderfully in The Turbulent Term of Tyke Tiler, is vintage Gene Kemp, with all the humour, pathos, vivid language and gritty realism of its predecessors.
'Gene Kemp remains a first-rate storyteller.' Naomi Lewis, Observer

Just Ferret Reviews | Toppsta

9780571248940
  • ISBN: 9780571248940
  • Pub Date: 19th February 2009
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber
  • Imprint: Faber & Faber
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number of Pages: 136

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages The Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times: Book 3
The Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times: Book 3

BOOK OF THE MONTH: Book three in the bestselling series from current Children's Laureate and author of How To Train Your Dragon, Cressida Cowell.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Strangeworlds Travel Agency
The Strangeworlds Travel Agency

Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and The Polar Bear Explorers' Club.

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Category

See More General fiction

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Be the first to write a Review


No one has written a review for 'Just Ferret'

Why not be the first to share your opinion?

Featured Book
Book pages The Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times: Book 3
The Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times: Book 3

BOOK OF THE MONTH: Book three in the bestselling series from current Children's Laureate and author of How To Train Your Dragon, Cressida Cowell.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Strangeworlds Travel Agency
The Strangeworlds Travel Agency

Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and The Polar Bear Explorers' Club.

View book

About Gene Kemp

Gene Kemp is best known for her Cricklepit School stories, including The Turbulent Term of Tyke Tiler, a winner of the Carnegie Medal and the Children's Rights Award, Charlie Lewis Plays for Time, which was runner-up for the Whitbread Award in 1985, and Just Ferret, which was a runner-up for the Smarties Award in 1990. She also writes for TV and radio. In 19

More about Gene Kemp

Ratings

  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)