Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Smidgens

by
,

The Smidgens Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 22
22 Reviews
Write a Review

Gafferty Sprout is a Smidgen. A Smidgen looks like a human, sounds like a human, and loves chips with curry sauce like a human - if humans were three inches tall. If you took a human and shrunk it in the washing machine on a very hot spin cycle, you might get something like a Smidgen. Generations ago there were lots of them, living in a maze of tunnels beneath the human village of Dundoodle. But then something happened and they just ... disappeared. Now Gafferty, her parents and her little brothers Gobkin and Grub are the only ones left, and the tunnels are forbidden territory.

And then Gafferty finds an old map. A map that shows a place deep within the maze where Smidgen tribes can go to meet. Smidgen tribes! Gafferty knows that she has to try to find them. But the tunnels are dangerous. And soon Gafferty discovers she's not the only one looking for the lost tribes, and that three inches of Smidgen hold more power than she ever imagined.
The first book in a funny, magical adventures series for 7+ readers who love Terry Pratchett, Max and the Millions and The Borrowers.

The Smidgens Reviews | Toppsta

9781526607768

Share on

Featured Book
Loki: A Bad God's Guide to Taking the Blame
Loki: A Bad God's Guide to Taking the Blame

BOOK OF THE MONTH - The new book in this hilarious series from Louie Stowell, packed with doodles and comic strips. Can Loki clear his name and solve the mystery of the missing hammer?

View book
Featured Books

Additional Resources

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

youtube video play button

If you like this try

Series

This is Book 1 in the The Smidgens Series. See all The Smidgens books here.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

             
Age 6 7 8 9 10 11
Featured Book
Loki: A Bad God's Guide to Taking the Blame
Loki: A Bad God's Guide to Taking the Blame

BOOK OF THE MONTH - The new book in this hilarious series from Louie Stowell, packed with doodles and comic strips. Can Loki clear his name and solve the mystery of the missing hammer?

View book
Featured Books

About David O'Connell

 David O'Connell is a writer and illustrator living in London, UK. His favourite things to draw are monsters, naughty children (another type of monster), batty old ladies and evil cats!
 He loves comics too, and has had work published in anthologies such as Birdsong, Solipsistic Pop, Paper Science and Accent UK. David is also the editor of ink+PAPE

More about David O'Connell

About Seb Burnett

Ann Jungman was born in London, of German Jewish parents. She attended school in Hornsey and then went on to study law at university. Her decision to change careers and become a primary school teacher led her to become a writer for children. She began writing in 1982 and now has over 50 books to her name.


Ann writes for a wide age-range, from pre

More about Seb Burnett

OTHER BOOKS IN THIS SERIES

Ratings

  • (14 Reviews)
  • (8 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)