Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Our Favourite Chapter Books

Test

As children get older and become more confident readers, they start wanting longer and more complex stories. It’s time for them to enter the world of chapter books!

Chapter books are simply, as their name suggests, stories that are long enough to be broken into short chapters. They are still illustrated but, unlike picture books, the words tell the story. There are chapter books available for every interest – adventure, fantasy, humour, mystery and more.

Chapter books are ideal for children starting to read independently, but it is also important for them to be read aloud to build young readers' vocabulary and confidence.

Many children start having the stamina for longer reads, alongside picture books, in Year 1 or Year 2 but it is important to remember that every child moves on at their own pace. Once they do start reading alone, a whole new world is suddenly at their fingertips, one that will hopefully ignite a lifelong love of reading.

We have chosen some of our favourites below with the chance for you to win and review copies this month. Exciting stories paired with brilliant illustrations will keep any child's interest, so give them a go!

Toppsta
2021-01-20
Our Favourite Chapter Books
Book pages Placeholder Book

Claude at the Palace

Meet Claude, the ordinary dog with an extraordinary life. Now the star of his very own TV show on Disney Junior and ITVBe.

Claude and Sir Bobblysock just happen to wander accidentally into the royal palace on a very special day indeed - the Queen's birthday! Unfortunately the royal nanny, Nanny Stern-Bloomers, has had to take herself off for a lie-down and there's no one to make sure the royal children stay neat and tidy for the big party. But . . . Claude and Sir Bobblysock could step in to babysit, couldn't they? After all, princes and princesses are always on their best behaviour . . .

The tenth book in this hilarious bestselling series. Perfect for new readers and also great for sharing!
Claude in the City was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize and selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club. Claude Going for Gold won the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award. Alex T. Smith was the official World Book Day illustrator in 2014.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Boy Who Sang with Dragons (The Boy Who Grew Dragons 5)

Tomas is a fully-fledged expert dragon grower and protector of the dragonfruit tree. He has eyes in the back of his head for watching over those sneaky dragons, awesomely fast reflexes for putting out sparks and dodging the diving antics of whirling newly hatched dragons. He's got it all down pat - and managing his little lightning bolt dragon Zing, too. But he's not quite prepared for the adventure that awaits him when a huge secret is revealed about his new friend, Aura. A thrilling secret that will take Tomas and Aura on a journey of discovery that will finally unlock the last mysteries of the dragonfruit tree. A journey of discovery that all the dragons will be in on - and just what will happen when lightning bolt dragon Zing and storm dragon Flicker get together? Get ready for the ride of your life in this fizzing, sparkling final story in THE BOY WHO GREW DRAGONS series.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Ice Palace

Meera, Sophia and Olivia, the Princess Dolls, are busy planning their mid-Winter celebration in Dolly Town when they get a call through from Mission Control - the Snow Princess on the Majestic Isle needs their help. It's her baby sister's Naming Ceremony that afternoon and she is due to wear the famous Ice Diamond Tiara - but she's lost it! Can the Princess Dolls help the Snow Princess find the tiara in time for the ceremony?

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Comic Classics: Great Expectations

OLD books get NEW doodles - it's the classics as you've never seen them before!

A hilarious new series that brings the classics to life with illustrations by Jack Noel. Perfect for fans of Tom Gates, Wimpy Kid and Dav Pilkey. And Charles Dickens.

WHAT THE DICKENS?

Ten-year-old Pip gets the fright of his life when he meets an escaped convict in a spooky graveyard. And that's just the beginning of an adventure that will lead him to a house full of secrets, a strange old lady and a journey to the big city to seek his fortune. But Pip is in for a BIG surprise ...

Join Pip in a rip-roaring story of family secrets, scary grannies and a REALLY annoying big sister in COMIC CLASSICS: GREAT EXPECTATIONS by Charles Dickens and Jack Noel.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

News Hounds: The Puppy Problem

Gizmo is a city dog, so when he moves to the village of Puddle with his journalist human he doesn't know WHAT to expect. Certainly not FLOWERS. Or BEES. And he couldn't have even imagined MUD. Luckily he's got Jilly, the wolfhound next door, to show him around. But Jilly has a problem. Her puppies are going to be given to new owners far away. She'll never see them again! Gizmo might not know the difference between a cow and a tractor but he's got a nose for a story, and a great idea to help Jilly. What if the dogs of Puddle had a newspaper? STOP PRESS! A charming and hilarious new illustrated young fiction series about the things dogs get up to when their humans aren't looking, from the author of The Adventures of Pug series. Perfect for fans of Toto the Ninja Cat and The Secret Life of Pets.

View Book COMPARE PRICES

4th January 2021

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email