Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Giant's Necklace

by
,

The Giant's Necklace Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 6
6 Reviews
Write a Review

A thrilling ghost story that revisits Cornwall's industrial past. Short-story-telling at its very best, from the UK most beloved writer for children.

A tense and thrilling ghost story from the internationally acclaimed author of War Horse. It all began with a necklace, made of glistening pink cowrie shells. A long, long necklace that had taken Cherry days - weeks - of careful, painstaking work. It was nearly complete, and Cherry was determined it would be the longest necklace she had ever made; that it would be fit for a giant! But the end of the holidays had arrived. "You've only got today, Cherry," said her mother. "Just today, that's all." Cherry didn't mind, a day would be enough - she only needed a few more shells. So, amidst the taunts of her older brothers, she set out to search for them. Then the clouds grew dark and the waves grew large, and as the storm blew in, Cherry realized, to her horror, that she was cut off from the shore. From then on, events began to take a decidedly dark turn. One from which there was no turning back...

The Giant's Necklace Reviews | Toppsta

9781406357127

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages The Wild Way Home
The Wild Way Home

AUGUST BOOK OF THE MONTH: This is a time-slip adventure with a big heart, perfect for fans of Piers Torday and Stig of the Dump, recommended for readers aged 9+

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Mega Magic Teacher Swap
The Mega Magic Teacher Swap

A heart-felt picture book about starting a new year at school in the follow up to Rochelle Humes' bestselling debut, The Mega Magic Hair Swap.

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

       
Age 7 8 9
Featured Book
Book pages The Wild Way Home
The Wild Way Home

AUGUST BOOK OF THE MONTH: This is a time-slip adventure with a big heart, perfect for fans of Piers Torday and Stig of the Dump, recommended for readers aged 9+

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Mega Magic Teacher Swap
The Mega Magic Teacher Swap

A heart-felt picture book about starting a new year at school in the follow up to Rochelle Humes' bestselling debut, The Mega Magic Hair Swap.

View book

About Sir Michael Morpurgo

Michael Morpurgo was 2003-2005 Children's Laureate, has written over 100 books and is the winner of many awards, including the Whitbread Children's Book Award, the Smarties Book Prize, the Blue Peter Award and the Red House Children's Book Award. His books are translated and read around the world and his hugely popular novel War Horse is now both a criticall

More about Sir Michael Morpurgo

About Briony May Smith

Briony May Smith studied illustration at Falmouth College, where she caught the eye of Flying Eye Books and her first picture book, Imelda and the Goblin King, was snapped up straight away! She currently works and lives in Sandhurst, England.

More about Briony May Smith

Ratings

  • (3 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)