Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Opie Jones Talks to Animals

by
,

Write a Review

Dr Dolittle meets Kid Normal in a hilarious middle grade superhero series from comedian Nat Luurtsema. Perfect for fans of David Baddiel, Charlie Changes into a Chicken, My Brother is a Superhero and Lightning Girl

10-year-old Opie Jones is Very Ordinary. In fact nothing remarkable has ever happened to her, if you don't count the cat that gives her funny looks from next door (which she doesn't). So she is naturally very surprised when she is recruited to join The Resistance - a team of superheroes who can read minds, and have a dastardly brainwashing villain to defeat.
HOWEVER... it turns out Opie can't read human minds, she can read ANIMAL ones. The other members of the Resistance are very disappointed. And a whole world of animal chat and demands is opening up to her. She's still a superhero, just one on her hands and knees in the mud, chatting to a pedantic worm.
But when the Resistance find themselves captured, it might just be that listening to all the creatures great and small is what makes Opie Jones the right person to save the world.

Opie Jones Talks to Animals Reviews | Toppsta

9781405296083

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages The Great Brain Robbery
The Great Brain Robbery

The second magical, mystery adventure in the fabulous Train to Impossible Places series by P.G. Bell

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Be the first to write a Review


No one has written a review for 'Opie Jones Talks to Animals'

Why not be the first to share your opinion?

Featured Book
Book pages The Great Brain Robbery
The Great Brain Robbery

The second magical, mystery adventure in the fabulous Train to Impossible Places series by P.G. Bell

View book

About Nat Luurtsema

Nat Luurtsema is a stand-up comedian, actor, BAFTA-nominated screenwriter and author of Cuckoo in the Nest, a comic memoir for adults published by Hodder & Stoughton. Nat lives in London, SE24; this is her first book for teens. 

More about Nat Luurtsema

Books by this author

About Inky Willis

Kate grew up in Hastings, spending much of her childhood on the beach or playing on the rocks around Hastings Castle. She decided she wanted to be a children's author and illustrator at the age of eight, following her parents' advice to always carry a sketchbook wherever she went. Kate studied fine art at Reading University and then went to the Royal College

More about Inky Willis

Ratings

  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)