Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Swimming Against the Storm

by

Swimming Against the Storm Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 13
13 Reviews
Write a Review

An adventure story set in the swamplands of Louisiana about sisters, rising sea-levels and saving the environment, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell and Lauren St John. Our land is sinking. It's disappearing into the water. And no one knows how to save it. Twelve-year-old Eliza and her sister Avery have lived their entire lives in a small fishing village on the coast of Louisiana, growing up alongside turtles, pelicans and porpoises. But now, with sea levels rising, their home is at risk of being swept away. Determined to save the land, Eliza and her younger sister Avery secretly go searching in the swamp for the dangerous, wolf-like loup-garou . If they can prove this legendary creature exists, they're sure that the government will have to protect its habitat - and their community. But there's one problem: the loup-garou has never been seen before. And with a tropical storm approaching and the sisters deep, deep in the swampland, soon it's not just their home at risk, but their lives as well...

Swimming Against the Storm Reviews | Toppsta

9781510105485

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages Minecraft: Into the Game (Minecraft Woodsword Chronicles #1)
Minecraft: Into the Game (Minecraft Woodsword Chronicles #1)

Brilliant new fiction title for Minecraft fans aged 7+. Four Minecraft players have a secret - their science teacher's homemade virtual reality goggles can transport them into the game!

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Cyborg Cat and the Night Spider
Cyborg Cat and the Night Spider

An amazing adventure full of fun and friendship from the inspirational Paralympian wheelchair basketball star Ade Adepitan. For ages 7+

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Category

See More Adventure stories

See More Animal stories

See More Family & home stories

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

           
Age 7 8 9 10 11
Featured Book
Book pages Minecraft: Into the Game (Minecraft Woodsword Chronicles #1)
Minecraft: Into the Game (Minecraft Woodsword Chronicles #1)

Brilliant new fiction title for Minecraft fans aged 7+. Four Minecraft players have a secret - their science teacher's homemade virtual reality goggles can transport them into the game!

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Cyborg Cat and the Night Spider
Cyborg Cat and the Night Spider

An amazing adventure full of fun and friendship from the inspirational Paralympian wheelchair basketball star Ade Adepitan. For ages 7+

View book

About Jess Butterworth

Jess spent her childhood between the UK and India, and grew up hearing stories about the Himalayas from her grandmother. She's lived in India and even met with the Dalai Lama. She studied creative writing at Bath Spa and now lives between Louisiana and the UK....

More about Jess Butterworth

Ratings

  • (11 Reviews)
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)