Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 1: Locker Hero

by

The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 1: Locker Hero Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 27
27 Reviews
Write a Review

A brand-new series from #1 NYT bestselling Dork Diaries author Rachel Renee Russell! Introducing Max Crumbly, the new Dork on the block...

Max is about to face the scariest place he's ever been - South Ridge Middle School! He has been home-schooled by his grandmother until now, and he's begged his parents to finally let him start attending a real school. He's starting to question that choice, though, with the Doug aka Thug Thurston Problem. As in, Thug keeps stuffing Max in his locker.
If only Max could be like the hero in all the comics he likes to read - or the ones he draws - and magically escape the locker and defeat Thug. Unfortunately, Max's uncanny, almost superhuman ability to smell pizza from a block away won't exactly save any lives or foil bad guys. But that doesn't mean Max won't do his best to be the hero his school needs!

Praise for Max Crumbly:
'This wacky middle-school misadventure will delight Wimpy Kid and Tom Gates fans, particularly with its humorous tone and illustrations. Russell's new series boasts a memorable character in Max Crumbly, who is capable of rivalling Dork Diaries' Nikki Maxwell.' Booklist
`If you like Tom Gates, Diary of a Wimpy Kid and, of course, Dork Diaries you'll love this very funny new book series' The Sun
`Rachel Renee Russell had a huge success with her Dork Diaries and is back with The Misadventures of Max Crumbly: Locker Hero' Sunday Express
`Written in journal format and peppered with humorous illustrations, Max's (mis)adventures are sure to be a hit' Booktrust
`Bestselling Dork Diaries author Rachel Renee Russell has done it again - her brand-new series is amazing!' SPLAT magazine
`One of the strongest launch titles for a new series for a long time. It's just right on so many levels' Bookbag
`Cleverly ending on a cliffhanger, full of brilliant illustrations and easy to follow text, this series is bound to be a hit with readers of all abilities!' Hot Brands Cool Places
`It's a funny and exciting book for kids aged around 7-11 and I'm sure both boys and girls would enjoy it' A Mum Reviews

The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 1: Locker Hero Reviews | Toppsta

9781471144622

Share on

Series

This is Book 1 in the The Misadventures of Max Crumbly Series. See all The Misadventures of Max Crumbly books here.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

5th March '17
Ewanm read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 1: Locker Hero 9781471144622
5 stars
I really liked this book, it was very funny and made me laugh, I can't wait for the next book to find out what happens next. A good book for kids my age
6th March '17
Leonjames read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 1: Locker Hero 9781471144622
5 stars
What a great book I wasn't sure what I was going to get from this book. But I was so surprised it was completely different from the other series dork diaries. This book is so funny I couldn't help be laugh at it. Max is a great character which made me enjoy the book more. Will definitely read more of these. They book was easy to read and had great illustrations in it. 
23rd August '17
BBear07 read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 1: Locker Hero 9781471144622
5 stars
I really liked this book because it's funny. I love Dork diaries and so I wanted to give this one a try - it was fantastic!

My favourite characters are a max and Erin - their relationship is really strange together because Erin asked him to help her paint a picture for the play, which he said he would but he was late and the show got cancelled. This upset Erin and she lost trust in him which affected their relationship. Towards the end she helps him to save the day, helping to start to repair their bond again.

The book ends on a cliff hanger and I can't wait to read the next book in the series to find out what happens next!

I recommend this book to girls and boys of around 7+ especially if they already like dork diaries, wimpy kid & middle school books. 
26th June '17
booknerd read it themselves aged 11 aged 11
The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 1: Locker Hero 9781471144622
5 stars
This book is about a boy called Max Crumbly (also known as barf). He loves his comic books and dreams to be the superhero that people will count on. Max struggles in school, well he struggles to fit in with the rest.

One uneventful day in school, Max faces the school bully, his name is Thug Thurston. He did something mean, unfortunate, and sickening. You guessed it, he got away with locking Max in his own locker (not Thugs locker). Looks like Max is in a locked up situation.... No pun intended!!!

Anyways back to what we were on about, Now Max is now stuck in his locker on a friday evening. Max's uncanny, almost superhuman abillity to smell pizza from a mile away won't exactly save any lives or foil bad guys will it??? 

I rate this book five stars and it was very fun to read. I bet nowone knew that dork diaries author Rachel Renee Russel would come up with this and don't say otherwise. I reccomend this book to both boys and girls from age 8 and over.- Deryn Cain, Aged 11
23rd February '17
I read it myself (an adult)
The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 1: Locker Hero 9781471144622
5 stars
I didn't know what to expect from The Misadventures of Max Crumbly. I am a huge fan of the Dork Diaries books and so I hoped this new series would be just as engaging and funny as them. I was not disappointed. Max is such a brilliant character, he struggles in school, there's the classic bully and of course a big juicy piece of drama. Fighting off burglars in school after being locked in his locker Max dreams of becoming a super hero. The story line is so sweet and funny and is one that has you wanting to read more. I am looking forward to the next Misadventure of Max Crumbly...
23rd February '17
Hermione read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 1: Locker Hero 9781471144622
5 stars
I love the Dork Diary books so I was very excited to read the new Max Crumbly book! It was brilliant! Max is so funny.

I would definitely recommend this book for any Dork Diary fans and I've told all my friends to read it! 
23rd February '17
MunchkinMegan read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 1: Locker Hero 9781471144622
5 stars
I was conflicted as whether or not to read Max Crumbly, there was a deep worry that it would essentially be The Dork Diaries but with a boy in Nikki's place and that perhaps some of the stories would just be rehashed so i was pleasantly surprised when this wasn't actually the case!

I have been a fan of The Dork Diaries for sometime and think that Rachel Renee Russel is pretty awesome so i'm really pleased that she has managed to separate the two story arcs while actually having a pretty decent (loose) link between them.

The story itself was very engaging, so very funny and i polished it off in one sitting, only problem now is that i have to wait for the next instalment!!!

Perfect for fans of The Dork Diaries, Diary of a Wimpy Kid and anything with a decent amount of humour and plot.
4th March '17
Danmanx read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 1: Locker Hero 9781471144622
5 stars
This book was so so sooooooo funny. I was laughing out loud a hundred times because the main character Max is so funny. The artwork in the book is AWESOME!  I really liked Max he is so EPIC. I didn't like Doug Thurston also know as Thug, he is so mean. I couldn't put this book down and was hiding under my blankets at night to finish it and reading it on the school bus. I think this book is good for boys and girls. I was so sad when it said at the end of the book that the next book won't be out till 2028, that is a bummer. 
9th April '17
I read it myself aged 9 aged 9
The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 1: Locker Hero 9781471144622
5 stars
This book is exciting and has a great storyline which can be understood by many ages.  It is also really funny with all different kinds of jokes  
28th February '17
I read it to Lollipop101 aged 9 aged 9
The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 1: Locker Hero 9781471144622
4 stars
like many others I was unsure whether this would be a gender reversed version of Dork Diaries but I wasn't dissapointed. this story was great and appeals to readers of all ages and genders. 
We loved the humour in this book and the way the characters enable the reader to see how it is easy to build resilience.

A lovely read 
4th April '17
Cady read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 1: Locker Hero 9781471144622
4 stars
Wasn't sure I would like this book but in the end I couldn't wait to be able to read it and find out what would happen next. Highly recommend this to my friends
25th February '17
Pirate06 read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
The Misadventures of Max Crumbly 1: Locker Hero 9781471144622
4 stars
I like that this book was funny. It is a sort of diary written by a character called Max. He's interested in comic books and he's someone that you get to know very well throughout the book. I liked his character a lot. I enjoyed reading the book as it was well written and, unlike most diaries, it had a plot.
There is a mixture of writing and pictures in the book.
I would recommend it to 10-year-olds and I think that although aimed at boy readers, girls might like it too. It's very different from anything else that I've read and I would suggest you give it a go.
Show More (0)

About Rachel Renee Russell

Rachel Renee Russell New Books
Rachel Renee Russell is best known for her Dork Diaries Books and the 13th book in the series, Birthday Drama, comes out in October 2018. The paperback of [url=https://toppsta.com/books/det...

More about Rachel Renee Russell

Ratings

    10 stars
  • (20 Reviews)
  • (7 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)