Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Brain Freeze: World Book Day 2018

by

Brain Freeze: World Book Day 2018 Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 11
11 Reviews
Write a Review

A little girl discovers that eating ice cream from her grandfather's old ice-cream truck gives her the power to travel through time, in this brilliant, funny and heartwarming story from bestselling author Tom Fletcher.

Brain Freeze: World Book Day 2018 Reviews | Toppsta

9780241323724
  • ISBN: 9780241323724
  • Pub Date: 22nd February 2018
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number of Pages: 112

Share on

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

3rd April '18
I read it to Amelie aged 5 aged 5
Brain Freeze: World Book Day 2018 9780241323724
5 stars
This is a wonderful story about Izzy who adores her Grandad, an ice cream seller.  But when her Grandad dies Izzy discovers his stories of time travel are more than just stories.

This story has wonderful heartwarming moments mixed in with lots of humour.  We really enjoyed reading through this, beautifully written and captivated my five year old.
21st January '18
Jack from London read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
Brain Freeze: World Book Day 2018 9780241323724
5 stars
This book is about an every day ice cream van that is also a time travel machine! I really enjoyed the story because if the girl had a brain freeze time froze! I thought it was interesting what she found out on her travels.  I would definitely recommend you read this book!  
14th January '18
I read it to Noah aged 7 aged 7
Brain Freeze: World Book Day 2018 9780241323724
5 stars
We really enjoyed reading this book together. It follows a little girl called Izzy who is a big fan of ice cream. Izzy loves it so much she has it every day without fail. However one night when the freezer brakes Izzy doesn't know what to do and ends up finding her Grandad's old ice cream van to help remind her of her Grandad and the ice creams they shared together. The book has a very imaginative and fun story. We especially liked the talking tummy and talking brain. There are some wonderful black and white illustrations dotted throughout and some lovely onomatopoeic words in big bold letters that spring out of different pages. The story is a little sad in places but has a wonderful concept. We would definitely recommend it.
30th January '18
I read it myself aged 10 aged 10
Brain Freeze: World Book Day 2018 9780241323724
5 stars
This is a very funny book, and I love the idea of a time travelling ice cream van. The storyline is unique and witty, perfect for fans of David Walliams. Although it was short, every page was packed with action, humour and plenty of emotion. I loved it!

Ever since her granddad dies, izzy resolves to eat ice cream every day in memory of him. Disaster strikes when, while Izzy is eating her broccoli, her dad breaks to her some terrible news: all the ice cream has melted!!! Izzy doesn't know what to do; what if she starts to forget her beloved grandpa? Then, in the middle of the night, Izzy remembers the ice cream van. She sneaks outside and into the van. Then, she quickly gobbles up a mouthful of Mr Whippy. But she forgot about one thing... BRAIN FREEZE!!!!!!After going on a unforgettable journey through time, there is one last person that Izzy needs to meet: Grandpa. Will she see him in time, or will it be too late?

This book is definitely recommended to children aged 8+, however 7 year old would probably enjoy it to be read to them.
18th April '18
Holls read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
Brain Freeze: World Book Day 2018 9780241323724
5 stars
I loved this book so much, it was amazing. It made me want to eat lots of ice-cream. 

The only thing I didn't like about this book is it was too short, I wish it was a longer book. 

I'm now going to read 'The Creakers' by Tom Fletcher (my new favourite author!)
16th January '18
Belllboo read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
Brain Freeze: World Book Day 2018 9780241323724
5 stars
When I found out Tom Fletcher wrote a book day book I new I would love it and I really did.  
Brain Freeze is a really good book it is sad because someone dies but it also has lots of fun parts. Who has heard of a time travelling ice cream van?
I think that most kids will love this book no matter what age or of they are a boy or girl. There are also some fantastic pictures to look at. 
28th February '18
I read it to joshgok aged 7 aged 7 & to JakeGOK aged 5 aged 5
Brain Freeze: World Book Day 2018 9780241323724
5 stars
This is a very sweet story about a girl called Izzy and primarily, the relationship with her Grandfather.  We enter the story one year since her Grandfather had died in hospital, something Izzy was still struggling to deal with, and her parents were unsure on how to help further.  Her Grandfather was an ice cream man, and he had a brilliant blue ice cream van that Izzy had very fond memories of.  Her love for her Grandfather, was the reason for her love of ice cream.  And after he died, she SWORE she would eat ice cream every day to keep his memory alive.  One day, they ran out of ice cream, so in the middle of the night, she crept outside to his ice cream van that was stored in her garage.  Izzy eats the ice cream and gets brain freeze (argh) and it gives her the ability to travel through time!

Likeable characters, wonderful illustrations (I see you William Trundle!) and a funny, well written story. Read in an hour, and would read again!
17th January '18
HannahMc read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
Brain Freeze: World Book Day 2018 9780241323724
5 stars
This book was hilarious! I liked when Izzy got brain freeze, so many adjectives were used and it sounded really funny. It was a bit sad when grandpa died. 
18th January '18
KCJo08 read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
Brain Freeze: World Book Day 2018 9780241323724
5 stars
I think this book is good for anybody who really likes eating excessive amounts of ice cream! It's nearly as witty as David Williams so, if you love him, you'll probably like Brain Freeze.

It's about a girl who loves eating ice cream so much she's devoted to having one every night. What helps is that her Grandad is an ice cream man! One night, when she goes into the garage into her Grandad's ice cream van, she discovers, after eating lots of ice cream, that the van has an extraordinary power...

Witty, humorous and a great read.  5 stars.
30th March '18
I read it to Bean912 aged 5 aged 5
Brain Freeze: World Book Day 2018 9780241323724
4 stars
The concept of time travelling in an ice cream van made for a great adventure story and my 5 year old son enjoyed the story. 

However, the storyline involved the death of the main character's grandfather (right at the start and at the end), which upset my son and made him cry, so I think this may make it less appropriate for younger readers.
10th January '18
Actionbro9 read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
Brain Freeze: World Book Day 2018 9780241323724
4 stars
I liked this book because it shows time travel in a new and different way.  Of course kids are going to like this book because it has ice-cream!  Although it is a world book day book it is longer then the other ones so if your a younger reader you should get one of the other ones but overall this is a great book!
Show More (0)

About Tom Fletcher

Tom Fletcher Biography
Tom Fletcher released his first children's book, The Dinosaur That Pooped Christmas, with co-author (and previous bandmate) Dougie Poynter in 2012. It sold over 72,000 copies and became the most popular debut children's novel of that year. His first...

More about Tom Fletcher

Ratings

  • (9 Reviews)
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)