Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Pumpkin's Downfall

by

Pumpkin's Downfall Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 3 based on 1
1 Review
Write a Review

Two hauntingly atmospheric stories from author/songwriter Leon Rosselson. Both stories feature a child who is seen to be 'different' by his/her peer group and both suffer bullying, resolved through a mysterious force, a ghostly spirit.
Sarah is a tall awkward girl, very slow and dreamy who a an amazing rapport with animals. Because she is different, she gets teased by her classmates. The teasing becomes taunting and the taunting becomes aggressive bullying. Sarah ignores it but then the leader of the bullying turns his attention towards her cat... but he doesn't get away with it...
The second story features Mark, a child with 'special needs' who can only talk through his glove puppet with a monkey face. Because he's different he gets teased too but he's befriended by Tim who tries to protect him. When Mark's glove puppet vanishes, Mark doesn't come to school. Tim tracks both down and discovers just how and why Mark came to be so different.

Pumpkin's Downfall Reviews | Toppsta

9780006754725

Share on

Featured Book
Beyond the Frozen Horizon
Beyond the Frozen Horizon

BOOK OF THE MONTH - A thrilling and thought-provoking ecological adventure from the author of Between Sea and Sky. Perfect for fans of The Explorer by Katherine Rundell and The Last Wild by Piers Torday.

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Series

This is Book 5 in the Red Storybook Series. See all Red Storybook books here.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

   
Age 8
Featured Book
Beyond the Frozen Horizon
Beyond the Frozen Horizon

BOOK OF THE MONTH - A thrilling and thought-provoking ecological adventure from the author of Between Sea and Sky. Perfect for fans of The Explorer by Katherine Rundell and The Last Wild by Piers Torday.

View book
Featured Books

About Leon Rosselson

Leon Rosselson is a singer/songwriter - a member of the Galliards in the early days of the folk revivial. He now writes songs for children and gives concerts both in the UK and USA. His first book for children, Rosa's Singing Grandfather was shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal in 1991. He lives in Wembley Park, Middlesex.

More about Leon Rosselson

Ratings

  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)