Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

You Can't Make Me Go To Witch School!

by
,

You Can't Make Me Go To Witch School! Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 12
12 Reviews
Write a Review

Daisy Wart, a Shakespearean actress with grand ambitions, is FURIOUS at being left at Toadspit Towers School for Witches by her grandmother. SHE IS NOT A WITCH! But Daisy soon becomes drawn into the mysteries of life at Toadspit, and finds that she even has a few magical surprises up her sleeve. . .

The adventures of Daisy the reluctant witch are perfect for fans of magical school stories.

You Can't Make Me Go To Witch School! Reviews | Toppsta

9781788000130
  • ISBN: 9781788000130
  • Pub Date: 3rd August 2017
  • Publisher: Nosy Crow Ltd
  • Imprint: Nosy Crow Ltd
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number of Pages: 240

Share on

Series

This is Book 1 in the Witch School Series. See all Witch School books here.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

22nd August '17
Neriah read it themselves aged 6 aged 6
You Can't Make Me Go To Witch School! 9781788000130
5 stars
Great book it's a story about a girl called Daisy who is sent to witch school and she doesn't want to go, good illustration, easy to read with great names for characters would recommend 
16th June '18
I read it myself (an adult)
You Can't Make Me Go To Witch School! 9781788000130
5 stars
I loved this book. It is such a fresh take on witches and boarding schools. If you loved The Worst Witch you must read this. The build up is great and the ending did NOT disappoint.
16th August '17
I read it to seany aged 8 aged 8
You Can't Make Me Go To Witch School! 9781788000130
5 stars
This delightfully funny new book follows the adventures of Daisy Wart when she is reluctantly sent to witch school and is the first in what is sure to become a smash-hit series. The book is full of brilliantly drawn characters and great ideas, wriitten with great warmth an humour. The story is complemented perfectly by Jamie Littler's witty illustrations. Young readers will love this book and eagerly await the next one!
21st September '17
I read it to Ebear25 aged 7 aged 7
You Can't Make Me Go To Witch School! 9781788000130
5 stars
This is such a delightfully funny book following the adventures of the lead character Daisy who is sent to witch school and is not happy about it, her feisty and funny personality is fantastic. This book has lots of great characters and is also accompanied by fabulous witty illustrations which bring the book to life. I'd highly recommend this book.
18th August '17
Zap! read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
You Can't Make Me Go To Witch School! 9781788000130
5 stars
It was a very good book.
One of the best books I have ever read!
I would recommend this book to children age 9+10.
23rd January '18
I read it myself (an adult) & to Miss Cleveland's Bookshelf aged 8 to 11
You Can't Make Me Go To Witch School! 9781788000130
5 stars
It’s Daisy Wart’s 11th Birthday, and instead of Granny taking her for a birthday treat, she’s stood outside a crumbling building. Granny is convinced she’s a witch, but Daisy is adamant she isn’t. For Daisy is a Shakespearean actress, preparing to show the world her Bottom just two nights hence. With the headmistress ignoring her, Daisy is enrolled into Witch School where she will stay until her 18th birthday. Daisy must find a way to escape if she is ever to win her Oscar.

A fabulously funny, fast-paced read, packed with quirky characters and one-liners. Daisy and her new school friends all have unique voices, and their individuality shines through. Jamie Littler’s illustrations capture the budding actress in all her glory, bringing Em Lynas’s hilarious new heroine, and surroundings to life. This is a book that begs to be read aloud! I can’t wait for more from Toadspit Towers, but while I wait, I’m off to get my own cauldron bed.

Great for fans of St Grizzles, Witch Wars and Clarice Bean.
22nd February '18
I read it myself (an adult)
You Can't Make Me Go To Witch School! 9781788000130
5 stars
When Daisy (or Twinkle as they name her on arrival) is dragged kicking and screaming to Toadspit Towers – a school for witches by –  her granny she’s absolutely furious. She clearly is not a witch, she is in fact a serious Shakespearean actress whose whole career is about to be ruined if she doesn’t get to play Bottom at her ‘normal’ school performance. Exceedingly put out she is determined to do everything she can to escape from this terrible place, where she is forced to sleep inside a cauldron, earn ticks to eat more than gloop and the rooms are locked at night to keep them safe from the monsters who stalk the corridors. But when she starts to show an alarming gift for all things witchcraft, everyone starts to question her claims that she can’t possibly be a witch. In fact they think she might just be the best and brightest witch they’ve ever seen.

I grew up totally obsessed with boarding school stories so this story immediately captured my attention and what could be better than a magical school. Of course there are lots of magical boarding schools in stories but none as well frankly eccentric as Toadspit Towers, if I tell you the school’s headteacher is a cursed ghost you’ll have some idea what I mean. Daisy (or Ophelia as she calls herself, it’s definitely not Twinkle) is a brilliant heroine who is hilariously endearing, her refusal to conform in any way possible is infuriatingly funny as is her sheer determination not to bend to the will of the school despite everyone’s best efforts. Em has constructed a well thought out world with the most elaborate attention to detail. I particularly love the witchwood charms on the bracelets that can be turned into a variety of useful objects from pencils to torches. Jamie Littler’s illustrations are bursting with humour and attention to detail, capturing perfectly the warmth of this weird and wonderful story. And of course the best thing is that this is just the first book from Twinkle (sorry I mean Ophelia, or was that Daisy) and her friends in a marvellous new series, I for one can’t wait to read the next one.
26th August '17
Rachy read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
You Can't Make Me Go To Witch School! 9781788000130
5 stars
This story is  funny and interesting  and you would not want to put this  book down!
20th August '17
MunchkinMegan read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
You Can't Make Me Go To Witch School! 9781788000130
5 stars
Originally i thought that this book was going to be completely different to the one that was actually told because i have read other stories featuring witches and they are all...a bit... samey so i was pleasantly surprised!

Daisy was very fun to read about, she was very likeable and i understood her reluctance to attend the witch school when she genuinely felt that she was most definitely not a witch!

Every page is an absolute visual pleasure, the little touches of illustrations in keeping with the story were a delight! I really enjoyed them.

I picked it up and just couldn't put it down!

The last line is everything! :-) 
14th August '17
Little Person read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
You Can't Make Me Go To Witch School! 9781788000130
5 stars
This book is about Daisy Wart who is taken to a school for witches by her granny. However, Daisy is convinced that she is not a witch. She is told that her real name is Twinkle but she hates that name so she calls herself Ophelia. She was going to perform “Bottom” in her school play of “A Midsummer’s Night’s Dream" in two days but her granny took her to a witch school. This is a book about Daisy trying to get out of witch school.

I really enjoyed this book because it is about friendship, confusion and certainty. I would recommend this book to bookworms that enjoy witch books about magic and adventure.
14th June '18
cooper15 read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
You Can't Make Me Go To Witch School! 9781788000130
5 stars
Loved this book was very funny and i liked the characters a lot!!
30th August '17
Booyu read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
You Can't Make Me Go To Witch School! 9781788000130
4 stars
This book is very very funny. It's about Daisy who's grandmother sends her to witch school but she doesn't think she is a witch and doesn't want to stay. She wants to preform "Bottom" in "midsummers nights dream".  This book has some pictures which I liked. It has lots of good characters and lots of funny parts. Daisy is funny, magical and full of adventure and fun. I would tell my friends to read this. 
Show More (0)

About Em Lynas

Em Lynas is an ex-primary school teacher and author of the Action Words Reading Scheme. She writes funny fiction and poetry because she loves to hear children laugh and also because that's the way her mind works. It doesn't do "serious". Em gathers inspiration from memories of the children she taught and the two she brought up, as well as channeling her own...

More about Em Lynas

About Jamie Littler

Jamie Littler Biography
Jamie Littler graduated from the Arts Institute at Bournemouth in 2008 and won a High Commendation in the Macmillan Children’s Book Award. He is the creator, writer and illustrator of the comic series Cogg and Sprokit which was serialized in...

More about Jamie Littler

Ratings

  • (11 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)