Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

It's All In Your Head: A Guide to Getting Your Sh*t Together

by
,

It's All In Your Head: A Guide to Getting Your Sh*t Together Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 2
2 Reviews
Write a Review

"A warm hug of a book ... a true gem" Buzzfeed This witty, honest and enlightening guide to the whirrings of your brain is the perfect read for any young person who's ever felt overwhelmed, at a loss or in a downward spiral. From the author of My Mad Fat Diary , Rae Earl, it's full of friendly advice, coping strategies and laugh-out-loud moments to get you through the difficult days. Most of all, this is a book from someone who gets it - someone who won't try and fob you off with confusing jargon or irritating slogans, but instead will help you through it with a smile and a cup of tea on hand. Rae says: As a teenager, I was very adept at hiding my OCD, my anxiety, my depression and my eating disorders. That's why I've written this book - because I hate to think of any teen going through what I did, and feeling like they can't talk about it, or need to hide it. So let's break down some taboos and start a conversation. I want to help you come out the other side feeling happier and healthier, with a deeper understanding of what's going on in your head and how to navigate through life without feeling overwhelmed or isolated. Where my lack of medical background becomes an issue, Dr Radha swoops in to the rescue. As a GP, mental-health expert and co-host of BBC Radio 1's The Surgery , I've worked with her to make sure all the information and advice is spot-on. She's clever, she's kind and she GETS it. I wish my teenage brain had had access to Dr Radha. This is a book for fans of Gemma Cairney and Open , Ruby Wax and Frazzled , Matt Haig and Reasons to Stay Alive , Bryony Gordon and Mad Girl . And most importantly, it's a book to make you feel like you're not alone. You're really, really not.

It's All In Your Head: A Guide to Getting Your Sh*t Together Reviews | Toppsta

9781526300027

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages Oh, Christmas Tree!
Oh, Christmas Tree!

Creative duo Sue Hendra and Paul Linnet are back with another fun and festive picture book about a little christmas tree who wants to be a little bit different…

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Ladybird Big Book of Dead Things
The Ladybird Big Book of Dead Things

Welcome to the Museum of Dead Things. Your expert guides are here to introduce you to the exhibits, from fierce dinosaurs to exploding dead stars.

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader
Featured Book
Book pages Oh, Christmas Tree!
Oh, Christmas Tree!

Creative duo Sue Hendra and Paul Linnet are back with another fun and festive picture book about a little christmas tree who wants to be a little bit different…

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Ladybird Big Book of Dead Things
The Ladybird Big Book of Dead Things

Welcome to the Museum of Dead Things. Your expert guides are here to introduce you to the exhibits, from fierce dinosaurs to exploding dead stars.

View book

About Rae Earl

Rae Earl was born in Stamford in Lincolnshire in 1971. She worked in radio for 15 years and once managed to get on Westlife's private jet for an entire weekend. After nicking Brian McFadden's Mars bar, Rae knew she had peaked professionally and turned back to her first love - writing. Rae currently lives in Hobart, Tasmania with her husband & son. She though...

More about Rae Earl

About Jo Harrison

Rae Earl (Author)
Rae Earl (author)
Rae Earl was born in Stamford, Lincolnshire in 1971. After some adequate schooling she went to Hull University & won the Phillip Larkin prize for a frankly magnificent dissertation. She then did every job in a radio station except 'accountant'. Her books My Mad Fat...

More about Jo Harrison

Ratings

  • (2 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)