Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Girl in Between

by

The Girl in Between Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 4 based on 16
16 Reviews
Write a Review

I know the mill has a story cos there's something strange going on. I heard something. I've decided that I'm going to find out what it is later today when Ma leaves. Cos even if it is scary, we live here and we're never leaving. So if there's something going on, I need to know.

In an old, abandoned mill, a girl and her ma take shelter from their memories of life on the streets. To the girl it's home, her safe place, the Castle. But as her ma spins out of control and the Authorities move ever closer, the girl finds herself trapped - stuck in the crumbling mill with only the ghosts of the past for company.

Can she move on before it's too late?

'Perfect for fans of David Almond and Katherine Rundell' - The Guardian
'A compelling and heart-breaking debut with an unexpecting twist, reminiscent of A Monster Calls' - Glamour magazine
'Pitch-perfect Dublin voice' - Irish Times
' The Girl in Between' grabbed me from the start and held on so tight it left bruises' - Geraldine McCaughrean
'In turns beautiful, devastating and ultimately uplifting, The Girl in Between demands re-reading' - Zana Fraillon , author of The Bone Sparrow
`Dark, sometimes profound, this is the kind of book that envelops readers in its world, sending them blinking into the light with the voice and images still ringing in their heads' LoveReading4Kids.co.uk
`A descriptive story that's intriguing, emotionally engaging ... with a twist at the end.' The Book Bag


The Girl in Between Reviews | Toppsta

9781471160622

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages PESTS
PESTS

A new laugh-out-loud, illustrated series for ages 7+ from Emer Stamp, the author/illustrator of the bestselling Diary of a Pig books

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Nightshade
Nightshade

Alex Rider is BACK in a new adventure! Sent by MI6 Special Operations to infiltrate a new and sinister organisation, the fate of thousands of people rests in his hands.

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Category

See More General fiction

See More Family & home stories

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

             
Age 10 11 12 13 14 15
Featured Book
Book pages PESTS
PESTS

A new laugh-out-loud, illustrated series for ages 7+ from Emer Stamp, the author/illustrator of the bestselling Diary of a Pig books

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Nightshade
Nightshade

Alex Rider is BACK in a new adventure! Sent by MI6 Special Operations to infiltrate a new and sinister organisation, the fate of thousands of people rests in his hands.

View book

About Sarah Carroll

Sarah currently splits her time between a houseboat in Dublin and travel abroad. She recently returned from five years in Tanzania where she founded and ran a hostel while working to support local community projects. She continues to promote ethical overseas volunteering through her blogs and films on www.theethicalvolunteer.com, while planning her next book

More about Sarah Carroll

Ratings

  • (2 Reviews)
  • (6 Reviews)
  • (7 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)