Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Countless

by

Countless Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 2
2 Reviews
Write a Review

Heartbreaking, life-affirming, brave and bold - Karen Gregory's debut is a completely different kind of love story.

'Is there anything that's concerning you?' Felicity says. 'College, home, boyfriends?' Though she's more or less smiling at this last one.

I don't smile. Instead, I feel my face go hot. Silence stretches as wide as an ocean.
When I look up, Felicity has this expression on her face like she's just seen Elvis. Slowly, she leans forward and in a gentle voice I've never heard her use before she says, 'Have you done a pregnancy test?'
When Hedda discovers she is pregnant, she doesn't believe she could ever look after a baby. The numbers just don't add up. She is young, and still in the grip of an eating disorder that controls every aspect of how she goes about her daily life. She's even given her eating disorder a name - Nia. But as the days tick by, Hedda comes to a decision: she and Nia will call a truce, just until the baby is born. 17 weeks, 119 days, 357 meals. She can do it, if she takes it one day at a time ...
Heartbreaking and hopeful by turns, Karen Gregory's debut novel is a story of love, heartache and human resilience. And how the things that matter most can't be counted.
Fans of Lisa Williamson, Sara Barnard and Sarah Crossan will fall in love with Karen's writing.

Countless Reviews | Toppsta

9781408882504

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages The Snowflake
The Snowflake

BOOK OF THE MONTH: An enchanting and timeless winter tale from Benji Davies, one of today's most celebrated picture book stars.

View book
Featured Books

Additional Resources

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

   
Age 12
Featured Book
Book pages The Snowflake
The Snowflake

BOOK OF THE MONTH: An enchanting and timeless winter tale from Benji Davies, one of today's most celebrated picture book stars.

View book
Featured Books

About Karen Gregory

Karen Gregory has been a confirmed bookhead since early childhood. She wrote her first story about Bantra the mouse aged 12, then put away the word processor until her first child was born, when she was overtaken by the urge to write. A graduate of Somerville College, Oxford, and a project coordinator by day, she's become adept at writing around the edges. S

More about Karen Gregory

Ratings

  • (2 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)