Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Starman and Me

by

The Starman and Me Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 4 based on 8
8 Reviews
Write a Review

E.T. meets Stig of the Dump in a page-turning adventure for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and David Almond 'A proper adventure story for all curious middle graders ... heartily recommended' The Bookbag

*Highly commended for the Branford Boase Award 2018, shortlisted for the Essex Book Awards 2018, the East Sussex Children's Book Awards 2019 and nominated for the Northern Ireland Book Award 2019 *

He wasn't an alien, I was sure of that. It was more like he'd walked in through an ancient door from the past ... except he was here, in my bedroom and his misty forest was somewhere real on Planet Earth. Twelve-year-old Kofi first spots the prehistoric human on a supermarket roundabout. He is small and dark and curled into a tight ball. His name is Rorty Thrutch and he has zero memory of how he ended up in the unexceptional village of Bradborough, or why he's being hunted... Kofi soon finds out that Rorty can do amazing things. He can copy, paste and delete objects, using only the power of his mind. This is the discovery of the century and mad, greedy scientists will stop at nothing to track him down. Kofi and best friend Janie are on a mission. Not only must they protect Rorty, but they have to find his missing girlfriend Pogsy Blue, too. Our prehistoric ancestors have crashed headlong into the 21st century and time is running out to save them... THE STARMAN AND ME explores where we have come from and where we are moving to - it's about the magic of DNA, the power of identity, and the importance of caring for each other.

The Starman and Me Reviews | Toppsta

9781786540089

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages Kids Fight Plastic: How to be a #2minutesuperhero
Kids Fight Plastic: How to be a #2minutesuperhero

Read this essential book and find out how you can become a #2minutesuperhero by completing 50 missions to fight plastic at home, school and on your days out.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Land of Roar
The Land of Roar

What would you do if your imaginary world of dragons and mermaids, was real after all? A magical, new, fantasy, middle-grade adventure for ages 9+.

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader
Featured Book
Book pages Kids Fight Plastic: How to be a #2minutesuperhero
Kids Fight Plastic: How to be a #2minutesuperhero

Read this essential book and find out how you can become a #2minutesuperhero by completing 50 missions to fight plastic at home, school and on your days out.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages The Land of Roar
The Land of Roar

What would you do if your imaginary world of dragons and mermaids, was real after all? A magical, new, fantasy, middle-grade adventure for ages 9+.

View book

About Sharon Cohen

Sharon Cohen loves to explore themes of 'ancient' and 'cutting edge' and intertwines these elements into her stories. After graduating with a first-class science degree and a doctorate, Sharon became a scientific writer. Her passion for children's fiction emerged following the birth of her first son and she completed the Open University Children's Liter...

More about Sharon Cohen

Books by this author

Ratings

  • (2 Reviews)
  • (5 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)