Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Hallucigenia

by
,

Hallucigenia Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 11
11 Reviews
Write a Review

TV scientist Ben Garrod presents the biggest extinction events ever, told from the point of view of evolution's superstars, the most incredible animals ever to swim, stalk, slither or walk our planet. Whether you're 9 or 90, his unique exploration of the most destructive, yet most creative, force in nature makes top level science fun. Here are the superstars of the story of life, from the super-weird to the super-ferocious. Usually a species has 10 million years or so of evolving, eating, chasing, playing, maybe doing homework, or even going to the moon before it goes extinct. Hallucigenia was a super-weird, spiky, armoured worm that lived 450 million years ago. Scientists were, at first, unsure of which way round it went, and which way up. But here you will discover all Hallucigenia's secrets: where it lived, what it ate, why it was so weird and why it is so important in the story of life. 'Eye-opening science with striking artwork' Sunday Times 'Best Children's Books for Summer 2021' Collect all eight books about animals we have lost in mass extinctions caused by asteroids or mega-volcanoes, clashing continents and climate change. Also includes:
* Past brought to full-colour life by palaeoartist Gabriel Ugueto
* Ask an Expert contributions from leading scientists
* Glossary and pronunciation guide

Hallucigenia Reviews | Toppsta

9781838935269
  • ISBN: 9781838935269
  • Pub Date: 13th May 2021
  • Publisher: Head of Zeus
  • Imprint: Zephyr
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number of Pages: 128

Share on

Featured Book
Beyond the Frozen Horizon
Beyond the Frozen Horizon

BOOK OF THE MONTH - A thrilling and thought-provoking ecological adventure from the author of Between Sea and Sky. Perfect for fans of The Explorer by Katherine Rundell and The Last Wild by Piers Torday.

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

youtube video play button

Look Inside

If you like this try

Series

This is Book 1 in the Extinct - The Story of Life on Earth Series. See all Extinct - The Story of Life on Earth books here.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

             
Age 7 8 9 10 11 13
Featured Book
Beyond the Frozen Horizon
Beyond the Frozen Horizon

BOOK OF THE MONTH - A thrilling and thought-provoking ecological adventure from the author of Between Sea and Sky. Perfect for fans of The Explorer by Katherine Rundell and The Last Wild by Piers Torday.

View book
Featured Books

About Professor Ben Garrod

Ben Garrod is Professor of Evolutionary Biology and Science Engagement at the University of East Anglia. He broadcasts regularly on TV and radio and is trustee and ambassador of a number of key conservation organisations.  So You Think You Know About... Dinosaurs?   was his six-book debut series published by Zephyr in 2018. Ben lives in Bristol. beng

More about Professor Ben Garrod

Ratings

  • (8 Reviews)
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)