Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

When the Sky Falls

by

When the Sky Falls Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 32
32 Reviews
Write a Review

Winner of the British Book Award for Children's Fiction Book of the Year
Winner of the Books Are My Bag Readers Award for Children's Fiction
Shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal
The Times Children's Book of the Year

'A magnificent story ... It deserves every prize going' Philip Pullman
'An extraordinary story with historical and family truth at its heart, that tells us as much about the present as the past. Deeply felt, movingly written, a remarkable achievement' Michael Morpurgo
1941. War is raging. And one angry boy has been sent to the city, where bombers rule the skies. There, Joseph will live with Mrs F, a gruff woman with no fondness for children. Her only loves are the rundown zoo she owns and its mighty silverback gorilla, Adonis. As the weeks pass, bonds deepen and secrets are revealed, but if the bombers set Adonis rampaging free, will either of them be able to end the life of the one thing they truly love?
Inspired by a true story.

When the Sky Falls Reviews | Toppsta

9781783449651

Share on

Featured Book
Beyond the Frozen Horizon
Beyond the Frozen Horizon

BOOK OF THE MONTH - A thrilling and thought-provoking ecological adventure from the author of Between Sea and Sky. Perfect for fans of The Explorer by Katherine Rundell and The Last Wild by Piers Torday.

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

youtube video play button

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Quotes

  • ‘AN EXTRAORDINARY STORY... Deeply felt, movingly written, a remarkable achievement’ Michael Morpurgo
  • ‘HEART-RACINGLY GOOD’ Lauren St John ‘ASTOUNDING’ Anthony McGowan
  • ‘BOLD & BEAUTIFUL’ Abi Elphinstone ‘FULL OF HEART & LOVE’ Michelle Harrison
Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

             
Age 9 10 11 12 13 14
Featured Book
Beyond the Frozen Horizon
Beyond the Frozen Horizon

BOOK OF THE MONTH - A thrilling and thought-provoking ecological adventure from the author of Between Sea and Sky. Perfect for fans of The Explorer by Katherine Rundell and The Last Wild by Piers Torday.

View book
Featured Books

About Phil Earle

Phil Earle's first job was as a care worker in a children's home. Phil then chose the more sedate lifestyle of a bookseller, and now works in children's publishing - when he's not writing his own children's books. These include Being Billy and Heroic for teens, and Demolition Dad and Bubble Wrap Boy for younger readers, all of which have received critical ac

More about Phil Earle

Ratings

  • (30 Reviews)
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)