Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Jack's Secret Summer

by
,

Jack's Secret Summer Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 5
5 Reviews
Write a Review

Join the Secret Summer gang on an unforgettable magical adventure, full of humour and heart - for fans of The Famous Five and Roald Dahl.

Jack has been dreading the summer holidays - his dad works long hours, and so all he has to look forward to is an empty house. But when his boisterous neighbours, Bruno and Rocco, make it their mission to pull him into an adventure, his life will never be the same again.

Together they decide to explore the strange old house at the top of the hill, long abandoned and overgrown with ivy. But they soon discover the ivy hides more than just walls... the house is full of magical secrets, including a strange girl with no memory, who may hold the key to it all, if only she can remember...

Imaginative and fun-filled, Jack Ryder's first story is inspired by the summer holidays of his childhood and brought to life with glorious black-and-white illustrations by Alice McKinley. Young readers will be spellbound by this heartfelt adventure.

Jack's Secret Summer Reviews | Toppsta

9781444952971

Share on

Featured Book
Barb the Brave
Barb the Brave

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Our reviewers are LOVING this full-colour and gloriously funny graphic novel from new talent Dan Abdo and Jason Patterson. Recommended for ages 6+ and perfect for fans of Dog Man.

View book
Featured Book
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)

Diary of a Wimpy Kid is the series our readers read again and again. It's often the series which gets kids into reading because it's funny, easy to read, illustrated and you don't need to read the books in order. The paperback of The Deep End (book 15) is out now.

View book

Additional Resources

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Series

This is Book 1 in the Jack's Secret Summer Series. See all Jack's Secret Summer books here.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

       
Age 7 9 12
Featured Book
Barb the Brave
Barb the Brave

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Our reviewers are LOVING this full-colour and gloriously funny graphic novel from new talent Dan Abdo and Jason Patterson. Recommended for ages 6+ and perfect for fans of Dog Man.

View book
Featured Book
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)

Diary of a Wimpy Kid is the series our readers read again and again. It's often the series which gets kids into reading because it's funny, easy to read, illustrated and you don't need to read the books in order. The paperback of The Deep End (book 15) is out now.

View book

About Alice McKinley

Alice McKinley has worked in publishing for the best part of 4 years, working with brilliant companies such as Andersen Press, Little Tiger Press and Nobrow.

She decided to chase her dreams and become an Author/Illustrator and competed the Children's Picture Book Illustration MA at the Cambridge School of Arts in 2018.

Her first author-illustrated book

More about Alice McKinley

Ratings

  • (2 Reviews)
  • (3 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)