Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Halo Moon

by

Halo Moon Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 2
2 Reviews
Write a Review

Bravery, friendship and the magic of an unknowable universe combine in this extraordinary adventure from the heart. Great for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and David Almond.

In Ethiopia, Ageze has unearthed an ancient device that can make predictions. It tells him: there is a date, there is a place, there is a moment when it will happen. A disaster that will change everything.

Halo Moon loves stars, and the night sky is full of them in her remote Yorkshire village. It's a place where nothing interesting ever happens, let alone a catastrophe.

So when a stranger appears at the end of a near-impossible journey and tells her lives are at risk, she can barely believe it. But if she doesn't help Ageze, everything and everyone she knows might disappear for ever ...

As Halo says: there's a hundred ways to start this story, a hundred ways to tell it. Each one is impossible. Each one, unbelievable. But it did all happen and I promise it's all true.

HALO MOON is Sharon Cohen's second novel. Her first novel, THE STARMAN AND ME, was highly commended for the Branford Boase Award 2018 and shortlisted for the Essex Book Awards 2018. It has also been shortlisted for the East Sussex Children's Book Awards 2019 and nominated for the Northern Ireland Book Award 2019.

Halo Moon Reviews | Toppsta

9781786540102

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages Pirate Stew: The show-stopping new picture book from Neil Gaiman and Chris Riddell
Pirate Stew: The show-stopping new picture book from Neil Gaiman and Chris Riddell

BOOK OF THE MONTH: Marvellously silly and gloriously entertaining, this tale of pirates, flying ships, donut feasts and magical stew is perfect for all pirates, both young and old.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world
Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world

Celebrate the greatest names and teams in football history with this collection of 50 true stories in this popular football series.

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

           
Age 7 8 9 10 11
Featured Book
Book pages Pirate Stew: The show-stopping new picture book from Neil Gaiman and Chris Riddell
Pirate Stew: The show-stopping new picture book from Neil Gaiman and Chris Riddell

BOOK OF THE MONTH: Marvellously silly and gloriously entertaining, this tale of pirates, flying ships, donut feasts and magical stew is perfect for all pirates, both young and old.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world
Football School Epic Heroes: 50 true tales that shook the world

Celebrate the greatest names and teams in football history with this collection of 50 true stories in this popular football series.

View book

About Sharon Cohen

Sharon Cohen loves to explore themes of 'ancient' and 'cutting edge' and intertwines these elements into her stories. After graduating with a first-class science degree and a doctorate, Sharon became a scientific writer. Her passion for children's fiction emerged following the birth of her first son and she completed the Open University Children's Liter

More about Sharon Cohen

Ratings

  • (1 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)