Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Vanishing Trick

by
,

The Vanishing Trick Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 17
17 Reviews
Write a Review

'A thrilling, original, evocative and eerie tale - I adored it!' Michelle Harrison , author of A Pinch of Magic
'A thrilling page-turner. Madame Pinchbeck is a gloriously Dickensian villain' Abi Elphinstone , author of Sky Song
'Ghosts, gadgets, likeable villains and unlikely heroes: The Vanishing Trick is a dark and dazzling adventure' Emma Carroll , author of Letters from the Lighthouse
'A completely enthralling tale, oozing with atmosphere and originality' Catherine Doyle , author of The Storm Keeper's Island
'Jenni Spangler is the next big voice in children's magical history novels' Lucy Powrie , author of The Paper & Hearts Society
' Deliciously dark and atmospheric ... I couldn't get enough' Nizrana Farook , author of The Girl Who Stole An Elephant
'A spectacular heart-stopping adventure in a dark and dangerous Victorian world' Tamsin Winter, author of Jemima Small Versus the Universe

'An eventful gothic adventure full of secrets and surprises' Sunday Times Book of The Week

Step into a world of secrets, folklore and illusions, where nothing is as it seems and magic is at play...

Madame Augustina Pinchbeck , travels the country conjuring the spirits of dearly departed loved ones... for a price. Whilst her ability to contact ghosts is a game of smoke and mirrors, there is real magic behind her tricks too - if you know where to look.

Through a magical trade, she persuades children to part with precious objects, promising to use her powers to help them. But Pinchbeck is a deceiver, instead turning their items into enchanted Cabinets that bind the children to her and into which she can vanish and summon them at will.

When Pinchbeck captures orphan Leander , events are set into motion that see him and his new friends Charlotte and Felix , in a race against time to break Pinchbeck's spell, before one of them vanishes forever...

#TheVanishingTrick

A historical adventure with a magical twist from an outstanding debut talent. Perfect for fans of Michelle Harrison, Sophie Anderson and Emma Carroll.

The Vanishing Trick Reviews | Toppsta

9781471190377

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages Jungledrop
Jungledrop

BOOK OF THE MONTH: It's FIVE STARS all the way for the latest instalment in this magical, middle-grade series by Abi Elphinstone.

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

youtube video play button

Category

See More General fiction

See More Historical fiction

See More Thrillers

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

         
Age 7 8 10 11
Featured Book
Book pages Jungledrop
Jungledrop

BOOK OF THE MONTH: It's FIVE STARS all the way for the latest instalment in this magical, middle-grade series by Abi Elphinstone.

View book
Featured Books

About Jenni Spangler

Jenni Spangler's first love was the theatre. Frustrated with the lack of juicy parts for teens, she began writing her own and never looked back. She likes to explore different genres in her writing, from funny and spooky middle grade stories, to contemporary and realistic YA fiction.

Jenni has written four titles for Badger Learning: Wanted from their bone-

More about Jenni Spangler

About Chris Mould

Chris Mould Biography
Chris Mould has been gracing children’s books with his quirky, inky artwork since 1991 and has won numerous awards including the prestigious Kate Greenaway Medal. Chris has illustrated for everything from TV to newspapers, and has worked with a variety of bestselling authors. 

More about Chris Mould

Ratings

  • (15 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)