Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Fenn Halflin and the Fearzero

by

Fenn Halflin and the Fearzero Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 4 based on 6
6 Reviews
Write a Review

First in a chilling adventure series about a sinking world. Perfect for readers of Percy Jackson and Artemis Fowl.

In a world that has been ravaged by flooding, Fenn Halflin learns the truth about his past - a secret that forces him to flee the safety of his home as he is chased across the vast sea by the ruthless Terra Firma and their cold-blooded leader, Chilstone. Finding shelter on a decaying island, Fenn is taken in by child survivors in hiding, and he begins a deadly game of cat-and-mouse with the Terra Firma, who will stop at nothing to find him. But as Chilstone's dreaded Fearzero ship appears on the horizon, and the water levels continue to rise, it seems that Fenn's hopes of escape will be washed away for ever.

Fenn Halflin and the Fearzero Reviews | Toppsta

9781406363128

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages That's not my flamingo...
That's not my flamingo...

Babies and toddlers will love touching the textured patches as they meet flamingos with fuzzy tails, shiny beaks and soft wings.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Dork Diaries
Dork Diaries

For fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid you NEED this series in your life! Recommended for ages 8+

View book

Category

See More Adventure stories

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

12th November '16
owen read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
Fenn Halflin and the Fearzero 9781406363128
5 stars
Owen really enjoyed this book. He was asking to stay up a little longer as he wanted to finish . He managed to finish this over 5 nights and was sitting in funny positions reading it, clearly being engaged in the story. 
13th August '16
Elliemai read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
Fenn Halflin and the Fearzero 9781406363128
5 stars
this is a really exciting book, it is a bit dark but the story is fantastic... i cant wait for the next one in the series to find out what happens to fenn and his friends.
i would recommend this book to boys and girls aged 9 plus as it is quiet gripping and a bit dark so younger readers might not enjoy it.
my favourite character was fenn because he never gives up no matter what 
7th August '16
Mcity read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
Fenn Halflin and the Fearzero 9781406363128
5 stars
This was a great book that I would recommend to all readers over age 9. It is a story about a boy called Fenn who is separated from his Grandad and abandoned on the Shanties, a dark and desolate place. He finds an abandoned boat and finds his way off the Shanties, with help from friends. I really enjoyed this book and can't wait to read the sequel!
26th September '16
Erythemis read it themselves aged 10 aged 10
Fenn Halflin and the Fearzero 9781406363128
4 stars
Set in the distant dystopian future, Fenn Halflin and the Fearzero is an adventure novel about courage and hope, despite the protagonists facing oppression, poverty, and the prospect of death.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed the novel; the scenes were vividly described, the plot well developed, and the writing was witty. It carries a message that subscribes to hope, that one should never give up in any dire situation, even in the face of danger. This is especially reflected when the characters must overcome obstacles upon obstacles in order to survive in raging catastrophes.

Fenn Halflin and the Fearzero, as I’m sure most would agree, is thrilling, fast-paced and entertaining. I recommend this book to middle grade readers and higher.
1st August '16
Lydib read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
Fenn Halflin and the Fearzero 9781406363128
4 stars
This is quite a dark story but one about friendship also. I found it really interesting and exciting. The story is set in a world which has been destroyed by flooding. Fenn is trying to escape the bad guys and finds a group of children, they become friends and Fenn becomes there hero. He is a great and strong character who does not give up. This is one of those books thats difficult to stop reading, i needed to know what would happen to the characters.
16th May '17
CasparW read it themselves aged 11 aged 11
Fenn Halflin and the Fearzero 9781406363128
2 stars
It was difficult to get into and it had a bad storyline. It dragged on and got boring.
Show More (0)
ajax loader
Featured Book
Book pages That's not my flamingo...
That's not my flamingo...

Babies and toddlers will love touching the textured patches as they meet flamingos with fuzzy tails, shiny beaks and soft wings.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages Dork Diaries
Dork Diaries

For fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid you NEED this series in your life! Recommended for ages 8+

View book

About Francesca Armour-Chelu

Francesca Armour-Chelu grew up by the Suffolk Coast. She studied English and Drama at Goldsmiths and went on to work in museum education and public libraries. Her experience of living on water meadows in an abandoned Edwardian railway carriage inspired her debut novel, Fenn Halflin and the Fearzero, which was shortlisted for the Mslexia Children's Novel C...

More about Francesca Armour-Chelu

Ratings

  • (3 Reviews)
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)