Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Perks of Being a Wallflower YA edition

by

The Perks of Being a Wallflower YA edition Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 4 based on 2
2 Reviews
Write a Review

A modern cult classic, a major motion picture and a timeless bestseller, The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a deeply affecting coming-of-age story.

Charlie is not the biggest geek in high school, but he's by no means popular.

Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his years, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it, Charlie is attempting to navigate through the uncharted territory of high school . The world of first dates and mixed tapes, family dramas and new friends. The world of sex, drugs, and music - when all one requires to feel infinite is that perfect song on that perfect drive. Standing on the fringes of life Charlie has a unique perspective of the world around him, but there comes a time to stop being a wallflower and see what it looks like from the dance floor.

This haunting novel about the dilemma of passivity vs. passion has become a modern classic. Charlie's letters are singular and unique, hilarious and devastating and through Charlie, Stephen Chbosky has created a deeply affecting story that will spirit you back to those wild and poignant roller coaster days known as growing up.

'Chobsky captures adolescent angst, confusion and joy... Compelling.' Booklist
'This wistful, sensitive novel perfectly captures the uncertainty and excitement of adolescence, and has become a deserving modern classic.' Scottish Book Trust
'A coming-of-age tale in the tradition of THE CATCHER IN THE RYE and A SEPARATE PEACE... [Chbosky's] poignant reflections on life, love and friendship are often inspirational and always beautifully written.' USA Today

The Perks of Being a Wallflower YA edition Reviews | Toppsta

9781471116148

Share on

Featured Book
Monster Christmas
Monster Christmas

BOOK OF THE MONTH: We love this Christmassy picture book with rhyming text, gorgeous images and an important message about the importance of kindness.

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Category

See More General fiction

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

   
Age 15
Featured Book
Monster Christmas
Monster Christmas

BOOK OF THE MONTH: We love this Christmassy picture book with rhyming text, gorgeous images and an important message about the importance of kindness.

View book
Featured Books

Ratings

  • (0 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)