Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Mouse and His Child

by

Write a Review

Funny, thought-provoking and moving, this much loved story is a true classic.

'What are we, Papa?' the toy mouse child asked his father.
'I don't know,' the father answered. 'We must wait and see.'
So begins the story of a tin father and son who dance under a Christmas tree until they break the ancient clockwork rules and are themselves broken. Thrown away, then rescued from a dustbin and repaired by a tramp, they set out on a dangerous quest for a family and a place of their own - the magnificent doll's house, the plush elephant and the tin seal they had once know in the toy shop.
'Hugely funny, provocative, pathetic and heroic.' TLS
'Brilliantly plotted . . . a spellbinder . . . it has a style that glows and crackles.' Spectator

The Mouse and His Child Reviews | Toppsta

9780571307555
  • ISBN: 9780571307555
  • Pub Date: 5th November 2015
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber
  • Imprint: Faber & Faber
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number of Pages: 272

Share on

Featured Book
The Astonishing Future of Alex Nobody
The Astonishing Future of Alex Nobody

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Have you ever thought what it might be like if you were famous in the future? A brilliant middle-grade adventure about friendship, courage and embracing our talents even when they make us stand out. Perfect for fans of Ross Welford and recommended for ages 8+

View book
Featured Books

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Series

This is Book 12 in the Faber Children's Classics Series. See all Faber Children's Classics books here.

Category

See More General fiction

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Be the first to write a Review


No one has written a review for 'The Mouse and His Child'

Why not be the first to share your opinion?

Featured Book
The Astonishing Future of Alex Nobody
The Astonishing Future of Alex Nobody

BOOK OF THE MONTH - Have you ever thought what it might be like if you were famous in the future? A brilliant middle-grade adventure about friendship, courage and embracing our talents even when they make us stand out. Perfect for fans of Ross Welford and recommended for ages 8+

View book
Featured Books

About Russell Hoban

Russell Hoban was born in Pennsylvania in 1925. He went to art school before serving in World War II and was a freelance illustrator eight years before taking up full-time writing. His many works of fiction and poetry for both adults and children have won him many awards. The Mouse and his Child has been hailed as one of the great children's classics of the

More about Russell Hoban

Ratings

  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)