Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Nowhere Emporium

by

The Nowhere Emporium Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 4 based on 8
8 Reviews
Write a Review

Winner of the Blue Peter Best Story Award 2016 and the Scottish Children's Book Award 2016, and the North East Book Award 2015.
When the mysterious Nowhere Emporium arrives in Glasgow, orphan Daniel Holmes stumbles upon it quite by accident. Before long, the 'shop from nowhere' -- and its owner, Mr Silver -- draw Daniel into a breathtaking world of magic and enchantment.
Recruited as Mr Silver's apprentice, Daniel learns the secrets of the Emporium's vast labyrinth of passageways and rooms -- rooms that contain wonders beyond anything Daniel has ever imagined.
But when Mr Silver disappears, and a shadow from the past threatens everything, the Emporium and all its wonders begin to crumble.
Can Daniel save his home, and his new friends, before the Nowhere Emporium is destroyed forever?
Ross MacKenzie unleashes a riot of imagination, colour and fantasy in this astonishing adventure, perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Cornelia Funke and Neil Gaiman.

The Nowhere Emporium Reviews | Toppsta

9781782501251
  • ISBN: 9781782501251
  • Pub Date: 19th March 2015
  • Publisher: Floris Books
  • Imprint: Kelpies
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number of Pages: 288

Share on

Series

This is Book 22 in the Kelpies Series. See all Kelpies books here.

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

28th November '17
DJ read it themselves aged 8 aged 8
The Nowhere Emporium 9781782501251
5 stars
An absolutely fantastic and original story. Enjoyed by my 8 year old son and myself! Short chapters make it appealing for my son to read. He is a real fan of Harry Potter and we were struggling to find something that would capture his imagination as much as the Harry Potter series had. This book did the trick. I would definitely recommend it and we are keen to read other books by this author.
27th September '18
I read it myself (an adult)
The Nowhere Emporium 9781782501251
5 stars
I read this book over the summer holidays after it was recommended for my Year 5 class. The story is utterly magical and I could not put the book down. I loved the idea of an emporium with innumerable magical rooms inside that can take you anywhere and show you anything from even your wildest dreams and yet in the morning, you would never recall all the wonderful adventures from the previous day. I closed the book after reading the final page knowing I had just finished one of my new favourite books and I loved the thought-provoking idea that perhaps I, the reader, had actually already been to the Nowhere Emporium but I just couldn't remember. It is a story full of wonder, suspense and thrills and I would highly recommend it to all! 
18th May '15
MathsMan read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
The Nowhere Emporium 9781782501251
5 stars
The Nowhere Emporium was one of the best books I'very ever read! The Nowhere Emporium is about an orphan who lived in Scotland. His name was Daniel and he was bullied by other orphans and when he was running away from one of the bullies, he accidentally ran into a shop. However this was no ordinary shop...  I really enjoyed this book because there were lots of funny bits of the story and there were also lots of serious bits in the story. This made the story funny, but you didn't want to laugh out loud as there were serious bits. This book was a very intriguing story, I couldn't wait to find out what would happen at the end, therefore I finished it in two days! This book is a must read and if you are 9-13, I am sure you will enjoy the story. This book is meant to be for children whose age is 9-13, but I am sure adults would enjoy reading this book too! If you purchase this book, you have made the right choice as this book is outstanding!
27th May '15
Read to a child aged
The Nowhere Emporium 9781782501251
5 stars
It was imaginative, clever and funny. The characters were interesting and realistically portrayed (even when they were fantastical). The descriptions were beautiful and vivid. The adventure and mystery throughout the book was thrilling.
23rd April '16
Bookworm3 read it themselves aged 9 aged 9
The Nowhere Emporium 9781782501251
5 stars
When lonely Daniel Holmes finds himself in a world of mystical, magical wonder the reader is transported to the Nowhere Emporium. You are quickly drawn in to the world of Mr Silver feeling that you can create the impossible in your own imagination. The reader is swept along by the beautiful language and you feel as if you could get lost in this world for hours. Un put down able, this book is a Wonder in itself and we would highly recommend it to all magic fans. Reminiscent of the adults book The Night Circus it truly is a unique novel that creates a feeling which stays with you long after you have finished reading it. A well deserved award winner, that mum and daughter both truly enjoyed.
8th March '17
I read it to Fantasy Fan aged 12 aged 12 & to Fun, Sci-Fi & Manga Fan aged 9 aged 9
The Nowhere Emporium 9781782501251
4 stars
Daniel is a lonely, vulnerable boy, so it is no wonder that he is enchanted by the Nowhere Emporium, a magical, time-travelling shop, full of delights that he and others could only previously imagine.  His talents draw him to Mr Silver, the owner of the Emporium and he becomes his apprentice.  However, the reader hardly expects such a magical environment to come without mystery and intrigue and when Mr Silver disappears, Daniel's whole world starts to fall apart.  His new home and his friends are all in danger and as they work to save Mr Silver and the Emporium, their investigations take them through space and time, meeting incredible, sometimes fearsome characters.

This story is full of dark fantasy - different to so many books of a similar genre I have read - its environment is contained, claustrophobic and forbidding, yet intriguing, fantastical and alluring, particularly to this boy who has so little to lose.  The book is aimed at 8-12 year olds, but with this age-group it will not be an easy book to read - its imagery is complex and thoughtful - but it is gripping, with much to offer an older reader too, in my opinion.  My eldest (12) loved it and I (his Mum) did too!
31st March '15
Read to a child aged
The Nowhere Emporium 9781782501251
4 stars
From the first page I was hooked on the story The book cover was interesting which captured my imagination firstly The characters were all very appropriate for the storyline a & adapted further into the book The story was fantastic. Very imagininative, although there was a lot of which i thought were very much like "Mr Magoriums Wonder Emporium"! But this didn't deter from the story in any way! I started reading the book this morning. It's now finished. I was totally transported into another world. Amazing!
4th April '15
I read it myself (an adult)
The Nowhere Emporium 9781782501251
3 stars
Initially I thought that I would give this to my 9 year old daughter to read but curiosity got the better of me as it looked really inviting so while she was finishing off another book I started this one. The story is delightful about a shop that is a bit like a time machine, appearing in different places, at different times and is very magical with the rooms inside it meant to fuel the customers imagination and the characters in it mysterious and magical. The ideas in the story are very imaginative and its very well written but I cant help thinking that it would be better aimed at children 11 plus as its quite frightening and very weird in places. My daughter has quite a sensitive nature and I am not sure she could have dealt with all the killing, suspense, attacks and mysterious hands etc that appear in some of the chapters and so I chose not to let her read it. It is however well written and very original, and very cleverly written
Show More (0)

About Ross MacKenzie

Ross MacKenzie has been writing stories since he was seven years old, when he created an illustrated short story about a hungry crocodile named Crunchy Colin in a smuggled school jotter. His novel The Nowhere Emporium won the Blue Peter Best Story Award and the Scottish Children's Book Award. He now splits his time between writing, his day job as a graphic d...

More about Ross MacKenzie

Ratings

  • (5 Reviews)
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)