Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

The Nowhere Emporium

by

The Nowhere Emporium Reviews | Toppsta

Book Rating: 5 based on 11
11 Reviews
Write a Review

Winner of the Blue Peter Best Story Award 2016 and the Scottish Children's Book Award 2016, and the North East Book Award 2015.
When the mysterious Nowhere Emporium arrives in Glasgow, orphan Daniel Holmes stumbles upon it quite by accident. Before long, the 'shop from nowhere' -- and its owner, Mr Silver -- draw Daniel into a breathtaking world of magic and enchantment.
Recruited as Mr Silver's apprentice, Daniel learns the secrets of the Emporium's vast labyrinth of passageways and rooms -- rooms that contain wonders beyond anything Daniel has ever imagined.
But when Mr Silver disappears, and a shadow from the past threatens everything, the Emporium and all its wonders begin to crumble.
Can Daniel save his home, and his new friends, before the Nowhere Emporium is destroyed forever?
Ross MacKenzie unleashes a riot of imagination, colour and fantasy in this astonishing adventure, perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Cornelia Funke and Neil Gaiman.

The Nowhere Emporium Reviews | Toppsta

9781782501251
  • ISBN: 9781782501251
  • Pub Date: 19th March 2015
  • Publisher: Floris Books
  • Imprint: Kelpies
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number of Pages: 288

Share on

Featured Book
Book pages The Snowman: Inspired by the original story by Raymond Briggs
The Snowman: Inspired by the original story by Raymond Briggs

Beloved children's author Michael Morpurgo has re-imagined Raymond Briggs' classic The Snowman for a new generation of readers.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages A Child of Books
A Child of Books

Combining elegant illustrations by Oliver Jeffers and Sam Winston’s astonishing typographical landscapes , this is the perfect picture book gift.

View book

Videos

If you would like to provide a video review please sign up to our video panel.

Series

This is Book 22 in the Kelpies Series. See all Kelpies books here.

Category

See More Fantasy & magical realism

Sign up to our newsletter for...

Free Book Giveaways, Recommendations & more

Show More (0)
ajax loader

REVIEWER'S AGE

           
Age 6 8 9 10 12
Featured Book
Book pages The Snowman: Inspired by the original story by Raymond Briggs
The Snowman: Inspired by the original story by Raymond Briggs

Beloved children's author Michael Morpurgo has re-imagined Raymond Briggs' classic The Snowman for a new generation of readers.

View book
Featured Book
Book pages A Child of Books
A Child of Books

Combining elegant illustrations by Oliver Jeffers and Sam Winston’s astonishing typographical landscapes , this is the perfect picture book gift.

View book

About Ross MacKenzie

Ross MacKenzie is the multi- award-winning author of The Nowhere Emporium and Shadowsmith. His highly-acclaimed fantasy novel The Nowhere Emporium won numerous accolades including the Blue Peter Book Award and the Scottish Children's Book Award. Ross lives in Renfrew, Scotland, with his wife and two daughters, but spends much of his time in another world....

More about Ross MacKenzie

Ratings

  • (8 Reviews)
  • (2 Reviews)
  • (1 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)
  • (0 Reviews)