Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

View all Blogs
Featured Book
Bumble and Snug and the Angry Pirates: Book 1
Bumble and Snug and the Angry Pirates: Book 1

BOOK OF THE WEEK - We love this full-colour, graphic novel, pirate adventure. It's perfect for young readers and fans of Dog Man.

View book

Best books by age

Reader Q&A with LD Lapinski

Test

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency series is a favourite with Toppsta readers. The magical adventures transport you to whole new worlds, via a simple suitcase.

To celebrate the publication of book 2 - The Edge of the Ocean - one lucky reader won a copy of the book and the chance to ask author L.D. Lapinski some questions about the series and her writing.

Our junior reviewer from Year 6, AB, said:

"An incredible ocean expedition filled with action-packed chapters and exciting characters. Would recommend to The Ship of Shadows fans. A lot of fun to read!"

Read on for the Q&A with L.D. plus read an extract of book two here.

Toppsta
2021-05-17
Reader Q&A with LD Lapinski
Toppsta reviewer reading The Strangeworlds Travel Agency
Reviewer, AB, Year 6

What made you want to write the Strangeworlds series?

I love books and stories where ordinary characters get to do extraordinary things, or visit extraordinary places. Books like Pages & Co., or His Dark Materials have always been my favourite things to read, so I think I was probably always going to write a story about travelling to other worlds one day, it was just a matter of waiting for the right idea of how the characters were going to travel. And the idea of the suitcases just came to me out of nowhere!

Did anything inspire you to create Flick?

I didn't know Flick very well at all when I first started writing the books - it took me until I got to the end of the first draft of The Strangeworlds Travel Agency to really know her. I wanted her to be an ordinary girl who had big dreams, but hadn't had the opportunity to achieve them until now. And by the time I'd written the first draft, I felt like I'd got to know her enough so we were best friends! This made editing the book easier because she was super familiar to me after that, and I knew how she would react to situations, and what she would say without having to think about it.

How long did it take you to write the books?

It usually takes me about four months to draft a book, but then my editor and I will work on it together on and off over the course of about a year to make it into the best book it can be. But even when I'm not sitting at the computer typing the story out, I'm writing it in my head! I get told off for sitting staring into space but I'm not doing nothing, I'm writing in my head, I promise!

Who was your favourite character to write?

Jonathan is fantastic fun to write because he doesn't have much of a filter and his speech is very detailed and expressive. He almost always says what he is thinking, whether or not it might be welcome or polite. He has nice manners, but is very rude at the same time because he is 100% done unless he's sat down in a comfy chair with a cup of tea and a biscuit. He comes across as the oldest teenager in the multiverse, and I absolutely love him.

How did you feel after the books were released?

Amazing! I'd wanted to be an author since I was in infant school, but didn't know how to make it happen, or if it ever would. It seemed to me that all the authors I liked were rich and posh and lived in London, and I was a kid at state school that didn't even have a library. But I've always loved stories so much that I never gave up on my ambition of trying to be an author. So, it really is a dream come true to see my books out there in the world.

What is your favourite book?

My favourite book is The Truth by Terry Pratchett - it's about a young man and woman and their vampire friend who try to start a newspaper whilst ending up tangled in a criminal investigation. I love it because it's a fantastic mix of real-life problems (like trying to get people to buy a new newspaper) and complete fantasy mayhem (like having to deal with your vampire photographer ending up as a pile of dust whenever the flash goes off on his camera). Whilst it's set in the magical universe of Discworld, it's perfect to pick up and read by itself.

Were you excited or nervous whilst writing the second book?

I was really excited! I loved writing the second book and getting to spend more time with Flick and Jonathan, and introducing new character Avery into the story as well. Although The Edge of the Ocean takes place mostly in one magical world, I feel like the characters do a lot of growing up in this book and learning about themselves emotionally and literally. I also had great fun writing about the pirates who live in The Break, and I would have loved to spend more time with them all!

Did you cry at any of the sad parts?

I think I must be a robot, because I didn't actually realise how sad the sad parts were until someone else told me. I must admit to doing an evil laugh at one point, though...! Sorry about that.

Describe what is feels like to finish writing a book in three words

Freedom! Achievement! Fear!

These books are brilliant, and you will now be many children's favourite author - but who is your favourite author?

Thank you so much! My favourite author changes all the time, but I love Alice Oseman, Frances Hardinge and Akwaeke Emezi a lot! 


Toppsta
2021-05-17
Reader Q&A with LD Lapinski
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: Book 1

'Assured, witty and inventive. This debut has "future classic" written all over it.' - The Guardian

Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and Pages & Co.

At the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, each suitcase transports you to a different world. All you have to do is step inside . . .


When 12-year-old Flick Hudson accidentally ends up in the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, she uncovers a fantastic secret: there are hundreds of other worlds just steps away from ours. All you have to do to visit them is jump into the right suitcase. Then Flick gets the invitation of a lifetime: join Strangeworlds' magical travel society and explore other worlds.

But, unknown to Flick, the world at the very centre of it all, a city called Five Lights, is in danger. Buildings and even streets are mysteriously disappearing. Once Flick realizes what's happening she must race against time, travelling through unchartered worlds, seeking a way to fix Five Lights before it collapses into nothingness - and takes our world with it.

A magical adventure for 9+ readers that will take you to whole new worlds.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean: Book 2

Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure!

At the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, each suitcase transports you to a different world. All you have to do is step inside...

Flick is now a badge-wearing member of The Strangeworlds Travel Agency so when an urgent summons arrives at Strangeworlds from Pirate Queen Nyfe, she and Strangeworlds Society guardian Jonathan immediately pack their bags for an adventure to Queen Nyfe's world: The Break, a place of magic and piracy.

Nyfe's world is falling apart. The Break is used to having ships vanish without a trace, but there has been a sudden increase that can't be explained by giant squid or mer-people. The edge of their flat world is coming ever closer to them and they need to escape before it collapses entirely.

But how do you sail a ship through a suitcase? How do you fit a mer-queen the size of a whale into something small enough to carry in your hand? Will Flick and Jonathan be able to find a way to transport the inhabitants of the Break to another world before theirs disappears forever?

A magical adventure for 9+ readers that will take you to whole new worlds, perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and Pages & Co .

View Book COMPARE PRICES

17th May 2021

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email
Featured Book
Bumble and Snug and the Angry Pirates: Book 1
Bumble and Snug and the Angry Pirates: Book 1

BOOK OF THE WEEK - We love this full-colour, graphic novel, pirate adventure. It's perfect for young readers and fans of Dog Man.

View book