Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

View all Blogs
Featured Book
The Last Hours: Chain of Thorns
The Last Hours: Chain of Thorns

BOOK OF THE MONTH - The exciting and much-awaited conclusion to Cassandra Clare's Last Hours series, you will not want to miss this!

View book
Featured Books

Best books by age

Best Rhyming Books

Test

Are rhyming books simply THE MOST FUN books? Maybe... but you didn't hear it from us!

Rhyme is a true form of art: the gentle play of phonics, the rhythmic patterns, the predictable rhyming all make the experience of reading a picture book so special. Children might not know all the words in these books, but they will love listening to the sounds, making rhyme a great way to help children develop vocabulary and understanding of phonics.

Here are our top ten rhyming books for preschoolers, from much-loved household names and series, like Julia Donaldson rhyming books and the Dinosaur that Pooped...series, to newer releases, like Superheroes Don't Get Scared and The Tale of the Whale. We've covered all topics from blankies and bears to aliens and poo!

We've truly loved reading each and one of these books, so we cannot wait to read more reviews of them too! And if you'd like to read our selection of the very best bedtime books, look no further than here. We are not joking when we say we have a recommendation for EVERY reader. 

Toppsta
2023-01-12
Best Rhyming Books
Book pages Placeholder Book

Brrr!: A brrrilliantly funny story about dinosaurs, knitting and space

From the bestselling author of the OI FROG AND FRIENDS series comes a roaringly funny new picture book, jam-packed with dinosaurs . . .

Brrr! The Ice Age is coming, the temperatures are dropping and the dinosaurs are frrreezing. Only one thing will keep them warm - woolly jumpers! But dinosaurs can't knit, can they?

Find out what REALLY happened to the dinosaurs in an out-of-this-world adventure, featuring dinosaurs, knitting and a trip to outer space.

Kes Gray's OI FROG AND FRIENDS series has sold over 1.5 million copies.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Aliens Love Underpants!

A special edition of the much-loved Aliens Love Underpants , to celebrate ten bestselling years!

"Aliens love underpants, in every shape and size,
But there are no underpants in space, so here's a big surprise...."

This zany, hilarious tale is delightfully brought to life by Ben Cort's vibrant illustrations. With a madcap, rhyming text by award-winning Claire Freedman, this is sure to enchant and amuse the whole family!
Perfect for joining in, this story is fantastically fresh and funny - you'll laugh your pants off!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

You Can't Take An Elephant On the Bus

You can't take an elephant on the bus ... It would simply cause a terrible fuss! Elephants' bottoms are heavy and fat and would certainly squash the seats quite flat. Never put a camel in a sailing boat, or a tiger on a train, and don't even THINK about asking a whale to ride a bike ... This riotous picture book is filled with animals causing total disaster as they try to travel in the most unsuitable vehicles. A real romp of a book, with hilarious rhyming text and spectacular illustrations.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site

The #1 New York Times bestselling children's book now available in board book!

An unabridged board book for kids version of the bestselling, best-beloved hardcover, perfect for small hands! Even the roughest, toughest readers will want to turn off their engines, rest their wheels, and drift to sleep with this sweet and soothing story. Vibrant illustrations and gentle rhyming text make this construction book for kids a surefire bedtime favorite for truck-crazy kids everywhere.

Can't get enough of these tough trucks? The long-awaited sequel to this bestselling book series, Mighty, Mighty, Construction Site, is now available for preorder!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?

OVER 175 MILLION ERIC CARLE BOOKS SOLD WORLDWIDE

A much-loved classic, illustrated by the creator of The Very Hungry Caterpillar


Vibrant artwork and favourite animals make this rhythmic story the perfect introduction to learning about colours. Each spread leads seamlessly into the next and young children will delight in Eric's colourful collage animals and simple repetitive language.

Discover more books by Bill Martin Jr and Eric Carle:

Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See?

Baby Bear, Baby Bear, What Do You See?

Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear?

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Giraffes Can't Dance

Dance along with Gerald in this audio edition of the bestselling picture book classic, read by Hugh Laurie.

Gerald the giraffe longs to go to the great Jungle Dance, but how can he join in when he doesn't know how to tango or two-step? Everyone knows that giraffes can't dance ... or can they?

With lots of music to boogie along too, this fun-filled audio book is guaranteed to get little ones dancing!

(P)2002 The Watts Publishing Group Limited

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Have You Seen My Blankie?

Someone's taken Princess Alice's super-snuggly blankie, and she MUST get it back!

Where could Alice's special blanket be? Her brother doesn't have it and neither does the giant OR the witch. Finally Alice finds her special snuggly in the arms of a sleepy dragon, but he looks so sad when she takes it back. She knows she must find him something just as cosy, soft and warm to cuddle. But what could that be . . .?

All children know the importance of that VERY special snuggly toy or blanket for bedtime, and will adore this fabulous, rhyming tale by Lucy Rowland, featuring a princess protagonist, an adorable dragon and a cast of favourite fairy tale characters. With a 'there and back again' journey narrative, this picture book is perfect for fans of The Gruffalo . Super-talented Paula Metcalf's characterful and friendly artwork bring this funny adventure to life.

Lucy Rowland is a children's speech and language therapist has written many picture books including the highly successful Pirate Pete and His Smelly Feet and Little Red Reading Hood .

Paula Metcalf has been illustrator-in-Residence at the Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre, and has created many books for children, including Nothing Can Frighten a Bear , Rabbits Don't Lay Eggs! and Mabel's Magical Garden .

Every Nosy Crow paperback picture book comes with a free 'Stories Aloud' audio recording - just scan the QR code and listen along!

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

If You See a Lion

Once upon a time, there was a story in this book. But a lion ate it all.

Narrated by a tall, handsome and ever-so-dashing lion, dressed head to toe in fancy dress, this is a hilarious story of how a greedy lion ate all the picture book characters and then lies about it. The problem is, he just can't resist boasting about it!

Dressed in his not-so-convincing disguise, Lion beckons the reader closer to find the culprit, while a plucky little rabbit hides in the pages, shouting out warnings until he bravely confronts our narrator about his crime. Will Lion ever learn his lesson?

A hilarious story with plenty of opportunities for group participation, and an overarching theme of kindness, empathy and forgiveness. Includes a mysterious bite-mark out of the front cover... now who could have done that?

"There has to be a lion hiding somewhere in this book.
Dreamy, clever, awesome, strong.
Come in closer for a look..."

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

Superheroes Don't Get Scared... Or Do They?

'I absolutely love this fun, brilliantly illustrated book' - Elizabeth Dale, children's book author

'An important story for young readers, told in lively, dynamic rhyme, which matches the colourful and fun illustrations brilliantly' - Clare Helen Welsh, children's book author

'An action-packed, fun-filled story to reassure even the littlest of Superheroes' - B B Taylor, author of The Vigilante Tooth Fairy

Superheroes Don't Get Scared... Or Do They? is an awesome rhyming tale about normalising fear and finding inner powers by realising there's a hero inside of us all.

Scared Maisie Brown dreams of being a fearless superhero because they never get frightened, right? But when Dad explains that even the strongest, boldest and bravest hero can sometimes feel afraid, and that's perfectly fine, Maisie realises there's superhero in all of us.

With fun characters, rhyming text and a wonderfully relatable take-away message about normalising feelings, this heart-warming book is an amazing addition to any little hero's bookshelf.

View Book COMPARE PRICES
Book pages Placeholder Book

The Tale of the Whale

'Where land becomes sky and the sky becomes sea, I first saw the whale, and the whale first saw me. And high on the breeze came his sweet-sounding song 'I've so much to show you, if you'll come along'. Come on a magical journey of wonder and discovery from misty seaside shorelines to cold ice capped seas. This beautiful tale of friendship between a child and a whale invites us to consider our responsibilities towards the environment and makes a direct plea to end plastic pollution.

View Book COMPARE PRICES

JULIA DONALDSON BOOKS

Toppsta
2023-01-12
Best Rhyming Books

RACHEL BRIGHT BOOKS

Toppsta
2023-01-12
Best Rhyming Books

TEN MINUTES TO BED BOOKS

Toppsta
2023-01-12
Best Rhyming Books

OI BOOKS

Toppsta
2023-01-12
Best Rhyming Books

THE DINOSAUR THAT POOPED...

Toppsta
2023-01-12
Best Rhyming Books

12th January 2023

Share this read with others...

Tweet Email
Featured Book
The Last Hours: Chain of Thorns
The Last Hours: Chain of Thorns

BOOK OF THE MONTH - The exciting and much-awaited conclusion to Cassandra Clare's Last Hours series, you will not want to miss this!

View book
Featured Books