Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Sophie Cleverly

  • 5 stars across 10 books

     Sophie Cleverly was born in Bath in 1989. She wrote her first story at the age of four, though it used no punctuation and was essentially one long sentence. Thankfully, things have improved somewhat since then, and she has earned a BA in Creative Writing and MA in Writing for Young People from Bath Spa University.

     
             

     Now working as a full-time writer, Sophie lives with her partner in Wiltshire, where she has a house full of books and a garden full of crows. The books largely consist of fantasy and historical novels; many of them for children and young adults. You probably don't want to know what the crows consist of.
     The first title in the Scarlet and Ivy series is Sophie's debut novel, written after Ivy appeared in her head one day and demanded she told the twins' story.

     
    26th February 2015

    The Lost Twin

    This is the story of how I became my sister... A spine-tingling mystery set in a creepily atmospheric bo... More

    (32 reviews)
    Review
    21st January 2021

    A Case of Grave Danger

    A breakout new detective series, from the author of the spine-tingling SCARLET AND IVY series, beautifu... More

    (14 reviews)
    Review
    9th March 2017

    The Lights Under the Lake

    Scarlet and Ivy's school trip takes a turn for the worse as another mystery begins to unfold... The four... More

    (10 reviews)
    Review
    5th November 2015

    The Whispers in the Walls

    Scarlet and Ivy return to Rookwood School - in their second spine-tingling mystery adventure! Perfect fo... More

    (9 reviews)
    Review
    2nd June 2016

    The Dance in the Dark

    Scarlet and Ivy return to creepy Rookwood School for a third mystery adventure! Perfect for fans of MURD... More

    (8 reviews)
    Review
    28th December 2017

    The Curse in the Candlelight

    There's a new girl at Rookwood School, and new mystery for Scarlet and Ivy to solve. It's a brand-new te... More

    (8 reviews)
    Review
    10th January 2019

    The Last Secret

    A brand-new mystery for fans of Harry Potter and Murder Most Unladylike children's books, The Last Secret is the s... More

    (7 reviews)
    Review
    6th January 2022

    A Case of Misfortune

    The second title in this breakout new detective series. From the author of the spine-tingling Scarlet and Ivy series. ... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    Image to show page is loading Show More Books

    New Book

    Most Popular Book

    Recent Reviews

    • The Lost Twin

      The Lost Twin

      This book was like a rollercoaster ride of excitement, nerves, surprise and shock. 
      This book has it all! I could understand how Ivy felt; if you are...

    • A Case of Misfortune

      A Case of Misfortune

      by Rocky

      I liked Violet Veil because it was very unpredictable so there were mysteries that I kept on guessing. Violet has to investigate and find out who comm...

    • The Dance in the Dark

      The Dance in the Dark

      When Scarlet and Ivy return to school after the holidays, they quickly realise that the school is in danger. The twins will need to confront enemies f...

    Series by
    Sophie Cleverly