Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Sophie Cleverly

Author Links

Sophie Cleverly

  • 5 stars across 10 books

    Sophie Cleverly was born in Bath in 1989. She wrote her first story at the age of four, though it used no punctuation and was essentially one long sentence. Thankfully, things have improved somewhat since then, and she has earned a BA in Creative Writing and MA in Writing for Young People from Bath Spa University.


    Now working as a full-time writer, Sophie lives with her partner in Wiltshire, where she has a house full of books and a garden full of crows. The books largely consist of fantasy and historical novels; many of them for children and young adults. You probably don't want to know what the crows consist of.
    The first title in the Scarlet and Ivy series is Sophie's debut novel, written after Ivy appeared in her head one day and demanded she told the twins' story.

    23rd February 2015

    The Lost Twin

    This is the story of how I became my sister... A spine-tingling mystery set in a creepily atmospheric bo... More

    (7 reviews)
    Review
    5th November 2015

    The Whispers in the Walls

    Scarlet and Ivy return to Rookwood School - in their second spine-tingling mystery adventure! Perfect fo... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    9th March 2017

    The Lights Under the Lake

    Scarlet and Ivy's school trip takes a turn for the worse as another mystery begins to unfold... The four... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    28th December 2017

    The Curse in the Candlelight

    There's a new girl at Rookwood School, and new mystery for Scarlet and Ivy to solve. It's a brand-new term for... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    23rd May 2016

    The Dance in the Dark

    Scarlet and Ivy return to creepy Rookwood School for a third mystery adventure! Perfect for fans of MURD... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    28th December 2017

    The Curse in the Candlelight

    There's a new girl at Rookwood School, and new mystery for Scarlet and Ivy to solve. It's a brand-new term for... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    10th January 2019

    The Last Secret

    A brand-new mystery for fans of Harry Potter and Murder Most Unladylike children's books, The Last Secret is the s... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    7th September 2017

    The Curse in the Candlelight

    There's a new girl at Rookwood School, and new mystery for Scarlet and Ivy to solve. It's a brand-new term for Scarlet a... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st March 2017

    The Lights Under the Lake

    Scarlet and Ivy's school trip takes a turn for the worse as another mystery begins to unfold...The fourth book in the SC... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    31st May 2018

    The Last Secret

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Image to show page is loading Show More Books

    New Book

    Most Popular Book

    Recent Reviews

    • The Curse in the Candlelight

      The Curse in the Candlelight

      I love this book because it is interesting and is also a mystery! I also like this book because of the concept of it. I also like how Scarlet and Ivy...

    • The Whispers in the Walls

      The Whispers in the Walls

      I really enjoyed the first scarlet and ivy book, so I thought I would read the second book. I thought that it was almost as good as the first! Ivy is...

    • The Whispers in the Walls

      The Whispers in the Walls

      by Giggle

      This is the kind of book that makes me want to read it again and again and never ever put it down. In the last book of the series Ivy went on a massiv...

    Series by
    Sophie Cleverly