Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Sophie Cleverly

Author Links

Sophie Cleverly

  • 5 stars across 13 books

    Sophie Cleverly was born in Bath in 1989. She wrote her first story at the age of four, though it used no punctuation and was essentially one long sentence. Thankfully, things have improved somewhat since then, and she has earned a BA in Creative Writing and MA in Writing for Young People from Bath Spa University.


    Now working as a full-time writer, Sophie lives with her partner in Wiltshire, where she has a house full of books and a garden full of crows. The books largely consist of fantasy and historical novels; many of them for children and young adults. You probably don't want to know what the crows consist of.
    The first title in the Scarlet and Ivy series is Sophie's debut novel, written after Ivy appeared in her head one day and demanded she told the twins' story.

    26th February 2015

    The Lost Twin

    This is the story of how I became my sister... A spine-tingling mystery set in a creepily atmospheric bo... More

    (21 reviews)
    Review
    21st January 2021

    A Case of Grave Danger

    A breakout new detective series, from the author of the spine-tingling SCARLET AND IVY series, beautifu... More

    (8 reviews)
    Review
    9th March 2017

    The Lights Under the Lake

    Scarlet and Ivy's school trip takes a turn for the worse as another mystery begins to unfold... The four... More

    (7 reviews)
    Review
    5th November 2015

    The Whispers in the Walls

    Scarlet and Ivy return to Rookwood School - in their second spine-tingling mystery adventure! Perfect fo... More

    (6 reviews)
    Review
    2nd June 2016

    The Dance in the Dark

    Scarlet and Ivy return to creepy Rookwood School for a third mystery adventure! Perfect for fans of MURD... More

    (5 reviews)
    Review
    10th January 2019

    The Last Secret

    A brand-new mystery for fans of Harry Potter and Murder Most Unladylike children's books, The Last Secret is the si... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    28th December 2017

    The Curse in the Candlelight

    There's a new girl at Rookwood School, and new mystery for Scarlet and Ivy to solve. It's a brand-new term for... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    28th December 2017

    The Curse in the Candlelight

    There's a new girl at Rookwood School, and new mystery for Scarlet and Ivy to solve. It's a brand-new te... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    1st March 2017

    The Lights Under the Lake

    Scarlet and Ivy's school trip takes a turn for the worse as another mystery begins to unfold...The fourth book in the SC... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Image to show page is loading Show More Books

    New Book

    Most Popular Book

    Coming Soon

    A Case of Misfortune A Case of Misfortune

    A Case of Misfortune

    Paperback
    6th January 2022

    Recent Reviews

    • The Dance in the Dark

      The Dance in the Dark

      In this third book in the series, Scarlet and Ivy become embroiled in another mystery. It feels like a natural end to the series so I will be interest...

    • The Last Secret

      The Last Secret

      This was an exciting book. My favourite character was Rose because she is clever and kind.You don’t have to read the other books in the series to enjo...

    • The Lights Under the Lake

      The Lights Under the Lake

      As always Sophie Cleverly has written an excellent book. I really enjoyed reading it. She is managing to keep the series going in terms of excitement....

    Series by
    Sophie Cleverly