Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Sarah Driver

  • 5 stars across 7 books
Sarah Driver is a graduate of the Bath Spa MA in Writing for Young People, during which she won the United Agents Most Promising Writer prize in 2014.  She is also a qualified nurse and midwife. Sarah started writing stories as a small child and lists her influences as Spellhorn by Berlie Doherty, A Necklace Of Raindrops by Joan Aiken and the Carbonel books by Barbara Sleigh - those gorgeous, magical stories that create and nurture readers.


When she's not writing, she can be found walking by the sea, visiting exhibitions, reading or travelling, often in the name of research. She has seen humpback whales from an oak boat in the northern seas of Iceland, eaten cubes of six-month fermented Greenland shark, and journeyed by train beyond the arctic circle to the far north of Swedish Lapland, where she rode a slightly obstinate horse through a forest, under the northern lights, in temperatures of -32 degrees. She has learned that even horrifying bouts of sea-sickness make excellent research material.


Sea is Sarah's debut novel, the first in The Huntress trilogy. Sarah lives in Sussex, close to the sea, with Lily, a street-wise ginger cat and an excitable mini-lop bunny named Peter.
6th April 2017

Sea

The first book in a stunning new fantasy adventure trilogy, perfect for readers aged 9+ and fans of Philip ... MoreSea

(4 reviews) Review
7th January 2021

Once We Were Witches

A spellbinding new middle grade series crackling with magic and adventure, perfect for fans of Starfell, Ne... MoreOnce We Were Witches

(4 reviews) Review
1st February 2024

Dreamstalkers: The Night Train

The first novel in a spellbinding new fantasy adventure series from the author of The Huntress trilogy. Per... MoreDreamstalkers: The Night Train

(2 reviews) Review
7th July 2022

Twice We Make Magic

The second spellbinding adventure in the magical middle grade series by the author of The Huntress, perfect... MoreTwice We Make Magic

(1 review) Review
7th September 2017

Sky

Driver's prose takes flight in Huntress: Sky. Exhilarating, gripping and full of heart' Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author ... MoreSky

(0 reviews) Review
31st May 2018

Storm

The epic, thrilling conclusion to the Huntress trilogy. A stunning fantasy adventure, perfect for readers a... MoreStorm

(0 reviews) Review
7th July 2022

Twice We Make Magic

The second spellbinding adventure in the magical middle grade series by the author of The Huntress, perfect... MoreTwice We Make Magic

(0 reviews) Review
Image to show page is loading Show More Books

New Book

Most Popular Book

Recent Reviews

  • Dreamstalkers: The Night Train

    Dreamstalkers: The Night Train

    by HPCES

    This is a fantastic book for children who love to read adventure stories about magic. You'll get to meet the night train which you must board - is it...

  • Dreamstalkers: The Night Train

    Dreamstalkers: The Night Train

    Dreamstalkers:  The Night Train is a mesmerising, magical adventure that took me on an unforgettable journey into a world of disappearin...

  • Twice We Make Magic

    Twice We Make Magic

    by Toppa

    Sarah Driver's imagination leaves me speechless. She created such a rich and compelling world in her earlier Huntress series, and the previous book to...