Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Julia Golding

Author Links

Julia Golding

  • 5 stars across 79 books
    Julia Golding read English at Cambridge then joined the Foreign Office and served in Poland. Her work as a diplomat took her from the high point of town twinning in the Tatra Mountains to the low of inspecting the bottom of a Silesian coal mine. On leaving Poland, she exchanged diplomacy for academia and took a doctorate in the literature of the English Romantic Period at Oxford. She then joined Oxfam as a lobbyist on conflict issues, campaigning at the UN and with governments to lessen the impact of conflict on civilians living in war zones. Married with three children, Julia now lives in Oxford. The Diamond of Drury Lane won the Nestle Children's Book Prize 2006 and the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize 2006.
    18th September 2020

    The Tigers in the Tower

    " A Little Princess - with tigers! Orphan and outcast Sahira Clive is a brave and plucky heroine with a brightly ... More

    (14 reviews)
    Review
    19th October 2018

    The Curious Crime

    Is curiosity a crime? Ree discovers the unfairness of being a girl in a male-dominated scientific world, where alternati... More

    (8 reviews)
    Review
    5th May 2016

    Mystery & Mayhem

    Enthralling children's fiction for everyone who loves Robin Steven's Murder Most Unladylike Mysteries and Frances Hard... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    7th August 2006

    Cat Among the Pigeons

    As gripping as "The Diamond of Drury Lane", this stunning second volume from Julia Golding sees Cat storm a gentleman's ... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    4th April 2011

    Cat's Cradle

    Julia Golding's award-winning adventure series is perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Katherine Woodfine and Robin Jar... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    23rd April 2021

    Jane Austen Investigates: The Abbey Mystery

    Jane Austen turns detective in this spooky historical adventure by award-winning author Julia Golding! It's 17... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    1st May 2007

    Ringmaster

    Expats, espionage and the exotic setting of Nairobi - here's an adventure-thriller you won't be able to put down. Darcie... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    13th September 2014

    The Gorgon's Gaze

    (1 review)
    Review
    7th July 2008

    Empty Quarter

    Expats, espionage and exotic destinations. "Empty Quarter" is gripping - you won't be able to put it down.Darcie's stuck... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    4th February 2008

    The Diamond of Drury Lane

    I am Cat Royal - Orphan, Adventurer, Actress . . . Meet the feistiest heroine in children's historical fiction. Reader... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Image to show page is loading Show More Books

    New Book

    Most Popular Book

    Recent Reviews