Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Julia Golding

Author Links

Julia Golding

  • 4 stars across 74 books
    Julia Golding read English at Cambridge then joined the Foreign Office and served in Poland. Her work as a diplomat took her from the high point of town twinning in the Tatra Mountains to the low of inspecting the bottom of a Silesian coal mine. On leaving Poland, she exchanged diplomacy for academia and took a doctorate in the literature of the English Romantic Period at Oxford. She then joined Oxfam as a lobbyist on conflict issues, campaigning at the UN and with governments to lessen the impact of conflict on civilians living in war zones. Married with three children, Julia now lives in Oxford. The Diamond of Drury Lane won the Nestle Children's Book Prize 2006 and the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize 2006.
    19th October 2018

    The Curious Crime

    Is curiosity a crime? Ree discovers the unfairness of being a girl in a male-dominated scientific world, where alternati... More

    (7 reviews)
    Review
    7th August 2006

    Cat Among the Pigeons

    As gripping as "The Diamond of Drury Lane", this stunning second volume from Julia Golding sees Cat storm a gentleman's ... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    1st May 2007

    Ringmaster

    Expats, espionage and the exotic setting of Nairobi - here's an adventure-thriller you won't be able to put down. Darcie... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    5th May 2016

    Mystery & Mayhem

    Enthralling children's fiction for everyone who loves Robin Steven's Murder Most Unladylike Mysteries and Frances Hardin... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    13th September 2014

    The Gorgon's Gaze

    (1 review)
    Review
    7th July 2008

    Empty Quarter

    Expats, espionage and exotic destinations. "Empty Quarter" is gripping - you won't be able to put it down.Darcie's stuck... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    4th May 2009

    Girl on the Run: Ringmaster

    What if the right man for the job is actually a girl? Meet MI6's new recruit. Darcie Lock is every boy's dream. Beautifu... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    12th September 2014

    Mines of the Minotaur

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    16th April 2013

    Young Knights 1: Young Knights of the Round Table

    HUMANS ARE THE ENEMY! That's what Rick's been taught to believe by the Fey Folk who stole him. Taken to the magical re... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    2nd June 2008

    Den of Thieves

    Julia Golding's award-winning adventure series is perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Katherine Woodfine and Robin J... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Image to show page is loading Show More Books

    Most Popular Book

    Recent Reviews

    • Empty Quarter

      Empty Quarter

      A very gripping adventure.  14 year old Darcie Lock thinks she's going on holiday, only she finds out that she's actually on a secret mission.  The Pr...

    • Girl on the Run: Ringmaster

      Girl on the Run: Ringmaster

      The first book in the series.  Follows Darcie Lock through a very confusing time.  Her Mum is in America and her Dad has gone missing.  Who does her D...

    • Ringmaster

      Ringmaster

      An excellent adventure, this is the first book in the series introducing us to Darcie Lock.  Can she be the first 14 year old girl secret agent?  When...