Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Garth Nix

Author Links

Garth Nix

  • 5 stars across 49 books
    Charles Dickens (1812-70) is one of the most recognized celebrities of English literature. His imagination, wit, mastery of the language and huge creative output single him out as one of the few people who genuinely deserve to be called genius. He had a poverty-stricken childhood and was determined to improve himself. By his early twenties he found a job as a parliamentary reporter and in his spare time wrote sketches of London life for newspapers and magazines. The publication of Pickwick Papers (1836) brought him the fame and fortune he craved. He wrote many other famous books including Oliver Twist, Great Expectations and A Christmas Carol.
    28th February 2017

    Frogkisser!: A Magical Romp of a Fairytale

    'Wise and wondrous' - Holly Black Garth Nix is on hilarious form as he spins his very own fairy tale, featuring Princes... More

    (13 reviews)
    Review
    4th April 2014

    Grim

    In the days when fairy tales were first spun, they weren't the sweet and cheerful stories we tell today. Back then, fa... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    28th February 2008

    Mr Grimm

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st June 2000

    Ariel

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st August 2007

    Shade's Children

    On your 14th birthday, you're dead meat... Chilling SF adventure from international bestselling author G... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    4th March 2010

    Lord Sunday

    In this seventh and last book of THE KEYS TO THE KINGDOM, the mysteries of the House, the Architect, the Trustees, the... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    3rd March 2008

    The Fall

    First of a thrilling fantasy adventure series set on the Dark World, where society is ranked according to its colour cla... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    27th February 2006

    Sir Thursday

    Get ready for more brilliant page-turning fantasy from master, Garth Nix. On the fourth day there was war! Pick up wit... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    25th June 2009

    Above the Veil

    Fourth of the thrilling fantasy adventure series set on the Dark World, where society is ranked according to its colou... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st October 2007

    Across The Wall: A Tale of the Abhorsen and Other Stories

    Must-have short story collection by Garth Nix, containing thirteen stories all introduced by the author himself. ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st August 2003

    The Ragwitch

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    5th March 2009

    Aenir

    Third of the thrilling fantasy adventure series, THE SEVENTH TOWER, from international bestselling author, Garth Nix. ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st January 2001

    Sabriel

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    4th June 2012

    Troubletwisters 2: The Monster

    An action-packed fantasy adventure series from the authors behind Sabriel, The Keys to the Kingdom and The Fixers. Ja... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    4th June 2012

    Troubletwisters: The Monster

    An action-packed fantasy adventure series from the authors behind Sabriel, The Keys to the Kingdom and The Fixers. Jack... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    5th June 2014

    Troubletwisters 4: Missing, Presumed Evil

    Page-turning adventures for fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter. Jack and Jaide Shield finally learn what it really ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    3rd April 2014

    Blood Ties

    The third in the SPIRIT ANIMALS fantasy series about children and their spirit animals fighting to save their king... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st July 2008

    Superior Saturday

    Garth Nix is back with the sixth explosive title in his gripping fantasy series, The Keys to the Kingdom. ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    5th April 2004

    Lirael

    When the future is unclear, who holds the key to destiny? Sequel to the spellbinding, award-winning fantasy adventure,... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    5th August 2010

    The Violet Keystone

    The sixth and final adventure in the thrilling fantasy series from award-winning author Garth Nix. Tal a... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st September 2003

    Mister Monday

    SHORT-LISTED: CBCA Book of the Year, Older Readers, 2004Arthur Penhaligon is not supposed to be a hero. He is, in fact, ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    7th January 2010

    Into Battle

    Fifth book of the thrilling fantasy adventure series, THE SEVENTH TOWER, from international bestselling author, Garth ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st October 2008

    Castle

    Second title in fantasy adventure series, THE SEVENTH TOWER, from bestselling author, Garth Nix. In the Dark World, soci... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    2nd April 2007

    One Beastly Beast: Two Aliens, Three Inventors, Four Fantastic Tales

    A funny, magical, colourful story collection for young children. The stories are: * Serena... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    5th January 2004

    Mister Monday

    Breathtaking new magical adventure series from the author of Sabriel. Seven days. Seven keys. Seven virt... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    5th March 2007

    Lady Friday

    Friday is here! The race is on to find the secret of the Middle House. The fifth eagerly awaited installment in Garth ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    6th June 2011

    Troubletwisters

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    6th May 2013

    The Mystery

    An action-packed fantasy adventure series from the authors behind Sabriel, The Keys to the Kingdom and The Fixers. When ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    3rd January 2005

    Abhorsen

    The long-buried secrets of the Old Kingdom and the Ninth Gate are revealed in the sequel to Sabriel and Lirael. ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    17th May 2012

    A Confusion of Princes

    A major standalone space opera, this is Garth Nix's first novel for older readers since the conclusion of the Old King... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    23rd May 2005

    Drowned Wednesday

    On the third day, there were PIRATES! Arthur Penhaligon finds himself on an adventure that will pit him against pirate... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    2nd October 2014

    Clariel: Prequel to the internationally bestselling fantasy series

    The highly anticipated and long-awaited prequel to Garth Nix's astonishingly successful OLD KINGDOM series Sixteen-year... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    4th June 2015

    To Hold The Bridge: Tales from the Old Kingdom and Beyond

    A masterful short story collection including a rarely seen OLD KINGDOM novella. Garth Nix proves he is a master of the ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    4th October 2016

    Goldenhand: The latest thrilling adventure in the internationally bestselling fantasy series

    Goldenhand is the long-awaited fifth installment of Garth Nix's New York Times bestselling Old Kingdom seriesLirael is n... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    30th October 2018

    Have Sword, Will Travel: Magic, Dragons and Knights

    Brilliantly funny adventure, featuring magic, dragons and knights. For Fans of Shrek. Odo (seventh child of the village... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st January 1950

    Sabriel

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    30th October 2018

    Let Sleeping Dragons Lie: Have Sword, Will Travel 2

    Brilliantly funny adventure for boys and girls, featuring magic, sword action and knights For fans of Shrek Odo and El... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    21st March 2019

    Newt's Emerald

    Inspired by the works of Georgette Heyer and Jane Austen, Garth Nix's Newt's Emerald is a light hearted Regency romance ... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st July 2012

    The Monster

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    View all Books

    Recent Reviews