Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Dick King-Smith

Author Links

Dick King-Smith

  • 5 stars across 117 books
    After serving as a soldier in World War II, Dick King-Smith became a farmer and then a teacher of English. His first book, The Fox Busters, was published in 1978 and he went on to become one of the most prolific English writers for children. He is best known for The Sheep-Pig, which was adapted into the movie Babe in 1995, and won the 1984 Guardian Children's Fiction Prize. He was awarded an Honorary Master of Education degree and appointed Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) in the 2010 New Year Honours. He passed away in 2011.
    30th June 2010

    The Hodgeheg

    Max is a hedgehog who lives with his family in a nice little home, but unfortunately on the wrong side of the road fro... More

    (28 reviews)
    Review
    5th February 2015

    Sophie's Snail

    Small but very determined, Sophie is everyone's favourite farmer-to-be! A classic story for young readers by the beloved... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    20th March 2003

    Great Scientists Aristotle

    Suitable for the library and for project work, the books in this series present biographies of people who have made gr... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    17th January 2005

    The Swoose

    Fitzherbert's mother is a goose, but his father was a swan - which makes him a swoose! As Fitzherbert grows up he decisd... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    28th January 2016

    Dumplin'

    For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine-self-proclaimed fat g... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    4th June 2015

    Sophie in the Saddle

    Small but very determined, Sophie is everyone's favourite farmer-to-be! From the beloved author of Babe com... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    5th August 2010

    The Sheep-pig

    The Sheep-pig is one of Dick King-Smith's most famous tales. It shot to further fame when the film adaptation, Babe, was... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    5th February 2015

    Sophie's Tom

    Five-year-old Sophie finds that going to school and making friends is more difficult than running a farm! The ups an... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    29th August 2002

    Blessu

    Blessu is a very small elephant who suffers from dreadful hay fever - and although he's very small, he has a very large ... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    2nd February 2006

    All Because of Jackson

    I want to sail the seas,' said Jackson. 'I want to see the world ..." Jackson is a very unusual rabbit - a rabbit with a... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    Image to show page is loading Show More Books

    New Book

    Most Popular Book

    Recent Reviews

    • The Hodgeheg

      The Hodgeheg

      by MLK

      I really liked this story. Max is really brave and very determined. We need to be more kind and think about wild life more. It made a bit nervous to w...

    • Aristotle

      Aristotle

      by Evie

      Dick King - Smith is a good author and we loved Babe so when we saw this book at a book sale we thought we would try it.

      Aristotle is a little kitt...

    • All Because of Jackson

      All Because of Jackson

      Read this is story to children in my reading club. They enjoyed the humour and sense of adventure demonstrated by Jackson.
      This lead to discussing th...