Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Dick King-Smith

Author Links

Dick King-Smith

  • 5 stars across 118 books
    After serving as a soldier in World War II, Dick King-Smith became a farmer and then a teacher of English. His first book, The Fox Busters, was published in 1978 and he went on to become one of the most prolific English writers for children. He is best known for The Sheep-Pig, which was adapted into the movie Babe in 1995, and won the 1984 Guardian Children's Fiction Prize. He was awarded an Honorary Master of Education degree and appointed Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) in the 2010 New Year Honours. He passed away in 2011.
    30th June 2010

    The Hodgeheg

    Max is a hedgehog who lives with his family in a nice little home, but unfortunately on the wrong side of the road fro... More

    (26 reviews)
    Review
    5th February 2015

    Sophie's Snail

    Small but very determined, Sophie is everyone's favourite farmer-to-be! A classic story for young readers by the beloved... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    20th March 2003

    Great Scientists Aristotle

    Suitable for the library and for project work, the books in this series present biographies of people who have made gr... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    28th January 2016

    Dumplin'

    For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine-self-proclaimed fat g... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    17th January 2005

    The Swoose

    Fitzherbert's mother is a goose, but his father was a swan - which makes him a swoose! As Fitzherbert grows up he decisd... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    4th June 2015

    Sophie in the Saddle

    Small but very determined, Sophie is everyone's favourite farmer-to-be! From the beloved author of Babe comes the fifth... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    5th August 2010

    The Sheep-pig

    The Sheep-pig is one of Dick King-Smith's most famous tales. It shot to further fame when the film adaptation, Babe, was... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    5th February 2015

    Sophie's Tom

    Five-year-old Sophie finds that going to school and making friends is more difficult than running a farm! The ups and do... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    29th August 2002

    Blessu

    Blessu is a very small elephant who suffers from dreadful hay fever - and although he's very small, he has a very large ... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    5th August 2010

    The Golden Goose

    Farmer Skint has no luck on his farm until one day his goose lays a golden egg, which hatches out into a golden gosling.... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Image to show page is loading Show More Books

    New Book

    Most Popular Book

    Recent Reviews

    • Dinosaur Trouble

      Dinosaur Trouble

      Another great Dick King Smith story. We listened to this one on CD while driving on holiday and it was really enjoyed. A really great adventure story...

    • The Sheep-pig

      The Sheep-pig

      by rsa

      My son has been reading this to me aloud. Both of us have enjoyed watching the film and reading the book. It is a charming tale, which is easy to read...

    • Sophie's Lucky

      Sophie's Lucky

      This is a great book. It is about a girl called Sophie, who wants to be a farmer when she grows up. In this book she goes up to Scotland to visit her...