Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Dick King-Smith

Author Links

Dick King-Smith

  • 5 stars across 125 books
    After serving as a soldier in World War II, Dick King-Smith became a farmer and then a teacher of English. His first book, The Fox Busters, was published in 1978 and he went on to become one of the most prolific English writers for children. He is best known for The Sheep-Pig, which was adapted into the movie Babe in 1995, and won the 1984 Guardian Children's Fiction Prize. He was awarded an Honorary Master of Education degree and appointed Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) in the 2010 New Year Honours. He passed away in 2011.
    30th June 2010

    The Hodgeheg

    Max is a hedgehog who lives with his family in a nice little home, but unfortunately on the wrong side of the road fro... More

    (37 reviews)
    Review
    6th July 2017

    The Sheep-pig

    The Sheep-pig is one of Dick King-Smith's most famous tales. It shot to further fame when the film adaptation, Bab... More

    (15 reviews)
    Review
    5th February 2015

    Sophie's Snail

    Small but very determined, Sophie is everyone's favourite farmer-to-be! A classic story for young readers by the bel... More

    (6 reviews)
    Review
    1st March 1996

    Harriet's Hare

    Hares don't talk. Everyone knows that. But the hare Harriet meets one morning in a corn circle in her father's wheatfiel... More

    (4 reviews)
    Review
    4th June 2015

    Sophie in the Saddle

    Small but very determined, Sophie is everyone's favourite farmer-to-be! From the beloved author of Babe com... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    5th February 2015

    Sophie's Tom

    Five-year-old Sophie finds that going to school and making friends is more difficult than running a farm! The ups an... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    29th August 2002

    Blessu

    Blessu is a very small elephant who suffers from dreadful hay fever - and although he's very small, he has a very large ... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    6th July 2017

    The Fox Busters

    Flightless, helpless and often, more than a little silly, chickens are no match for the cunning, merciless foxes stalk... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    20th March 2003

    Great Scientists Aristotle

    Suitable for the library and for project work, the books in this series present biographies of people who have made gr... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    28th January 2016

    Dumplin'

    For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine-self-proclaimed fat g... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    Image to show page is loading Show More Books

    New Book

    Most Popular Book

    Recent Reviews

    • The Hodgeheg

      The Hodgeheg

      The hodge-heg is a story, about a young hedgehog called Max, finding a safe crossing place to the park for all hedgehog kind to use.

      It was an exci...

    • The Hodgeheg

      The Hodgeheg

      by jith07

      A adventurous hedge hog on a run......

    • Happy Mouseday

      Happy Mouseday

      by jith07

      A classic story by Dick King-Smith....