Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Catherine Bruton

Author Links

Catherine Bruton

  • 4 stars across 8 books
    Catherine Bruton was born in the North West, where she attended the local comprehensive before graduating with a first class degree in English Literature from Oxford.


    In her twenties, she worked in Namibia and South Africa, teaching in bush schools and working with street children in the townships. Catherine then went on to teach at some of the top schools in London and the UK, as well as writing feature articles for `The Times' and various other national magazines and newspapers.


    Catherine's first novel for young people `We Can be Heroes' was published in 2011. Described by The Sunday Times as, "Witty, wise and compelling," and named as one of their top books of 2011, it was short and long-listed for numerous awards, including the Carnegie, and is currently being adapted for the big screen.


    Her follow up `Pop!' lead The Guardian to describe her as, "One of the finest teen writers of recent years," whilst her forthcoming book `I Predict a Riot' which was inspired by the UK riots, 'vividly illustrates the tensions and violence of city life from the perspective of three very different young people trying to make sense of the world they live in,' (The Bookseller)


    Nowadays Catherine combines teaching English at a local secondary school with writing novels and raising a family. She lives with her husband and their two children in the countryside just outside Bath.
    25th April 2019

    No Ballet Shoes in Syria

    Aya is eleven years old and has just arrived in Britain with her mum and baby brother, seeking asylum from war in Syria.... More

    (5 reviews)
    Review
    2nd January 2017

    S/He

    (1 review)
    Review
    1st September 2017

    Refugee Kid

    (1 review)
    Review
    4th June 2012

    Pop!

    Billy Elliot meets the X-Factor meets Shameless. An emotional rollercoaster of a novel for readers aged 11 to 111. I rec... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    5th June 2014

    I Predict a Riot

    Explosive, emotional drama from the author of We Can Be Heroes, perfect for fans of Meg Rosoff and Annabel Pitcher. We... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    30th July 2015

    Somersaults and Dreams: Rising Star

    For fans of Cathy Cassidy and Jacqueline Wilson, step in to the glamorous world of competitive gymnastics with Somersaul... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    26th March 2011

    We Can Be Heroes

    Moving. Funny. Explosive. And most of all, unexpected . . . As powerful as Frank Cottrell Boyce's Millions. My dad was... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    1st September 2017

    ME2

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Image to show page is loading Show More Books

    New Book

    Most Popular Book

    Recent Reviews