Toppsta - Childrens Books – Reviews

Dirty Bertie Series

by ,
  • (93 reviews)

    Dirty Bertie is a series of illustrated chapter books for readers 6+ about a boy with revolting habits who is a magnet for trouble!

    Written by Alan MacDonald, each book contains three silly and disgusting short stories with witty illustrations by David Roberts. 

    Bertie is always in trouble thanks to his madcap plans. The disgusting stories featuring revolting smells, bogeys, pranks and plenty of toilet humour, along with the comic illustrations on almost every page, make these books prefect for newly confident readers.

    Bertie first appeared in a picture book, and there are now over 30 Dirty Bertie books in the series. You can read them in any order!

    All the Dirty Bertie books in order:

    Book 1: Dirty Bertie (2002)
    Book 2: Pooh! Is That You Bertie? (2005)
    Book 3: Worms! (2006)
    Book 4: Fleas! (2006)
    Book 5: Pants! (2007)
    Book 6: Burp! (2007)
    Book 7: Yuck! (2008)
    Book 8: Crackers! (2008)
    Book 9: Bogeys! (2009)
    Book 10: Mud! (2009)
    Book 11: Germs! (2009)
    Book 12: Loo! (2010)
    Book 13: Fetch! (2010)
    Book 14: Fangs! (2010) 
    Book 15: Kiss! (2011)
    Book 16: Ouch! (2011)
    Book 17: Snow! (2011)
    Book 18: Pong! (2012)
    Book 19: Pirate! (2012)
    Book 20: Scream! (2012)
    Book 21: Toothy! (2013) 
    Book 22: Dinosaur! (2013)
    Book 23: Zombie! (2013)
    Book 24: Smash! (2014)
    Book 25: Rats! (2014)
    Book 26: Horror! (2014)
    Book 27: Jackpot! (2015)
    Book 28: Aliens! (2015)
    Book 29: Fame! (2015)
    Book 30: Monster! (2016)
    Book 31: Disco! (2017)
    Book 32: Mascot! (2018)

    Book 1
    Book 1

    Dirty Bertie

    (13 reviews)
    Review
    Book 2
    Book 2

    Pooh! Is That You, Bertie?

    Bertie likes making smells. When he trumps it makes his mum cross, embarrasses his dad, upsets his gran and offends his ... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    Book 2
    Book 2

    Fleas!

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    Book 3
    Book 3

    Pants!

    Meet Dirty Bertie - a boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits! He's full to bursting with madcap plans and crazy ideas... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    Book 4
    Book 4

    Burp!

    Meet Dirty Bertie - a boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits! He's full to bursting with madcap plans and crazy ideas... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    Book 5
    Book 5

    Yuck!

    Meet Dirty Bertie - a boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits! He's full to bursting with madcap plans and crazy ideas... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 6
    Book 6

    Crackers!

    Meet Dirty Bertie - a boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits! He's the world's grubbiest trouble-magnet and he's full... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    Book 7
    Book 7

    Bogeys!

    Dirty Bertie, the boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits is back! Join Bertie in three brand new stories, Bogeys!, ... More

    (6 reviews)
    Review
    Book 8
    Book 8

    Worms

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 9
    Book 9

    Germs!

    Dirty Bertie - the boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits - is back for another helping of comic chaos! Join Bertie i... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 10
    Book 10

    Loo!

    Dirty Bertie - the boy with nose pickingly disgusting habits - is back for another helping of comic chaos! Bertie finds ... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 11
    Book 11

    Fetch!

    Dirty Bertie - the boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits - is back for another helping of comic chaos! Join Bertie a... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 13
    Book 13

    Kiss!

    Dirty Bertie - the boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits - is back for another helping of comic chaos! Join Bertie a... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 14
    Book 14

    Ouch!

    Dirty Bertie - the boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits - is back for another helping of comic chaos! Join Bertie a... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 16
    Book 16

    Pong!

    Dirty Bertie - the boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits - is back for another helping of comic chaos! Join Bertie a... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 17
    Book 17

    Pirate!

    Dirty Bertie - the boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits - is back for another helping of comic chaos! Join Bertie a... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    Book 19
    Book 19

    Toothy!

    Calling all Dirty Bertie fans! Dirty Bertie - the boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits - is back for another he... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 21
    Book 21

    Zombie!

    Calling all Dirty Bertie fans! Dirty Bertie - the boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits - is back for another he... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 22
    Book 22

    Smash!

    Calling all Dirty Bertie fans! Dirty Bertie - the boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits - is back for another he... More

    (5 reviews)
    Review
    Book 23
    Book 23

    Rats!

    Calling all Dirty Bertie fans! Dirty Bertie - the boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits - is back for another he... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    Book 24
    Book 24

    Horror!

    Calling all Dirty Bertie fans! Dirty Bertie - the boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits - is back for another he... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    Book 25
    Book 25

    Jackpot!

    Calling all Dirty Bertie fans! Dirty Bertie - the boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits - is back for another ... More

    (5 reviews)
    Review
    Book 26
    Book 26

    Aliens!

    Calling all Dirty Bertie fans! Dirty Bertie - the boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits - is back for another he... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    Book 27
    Book 27

    Fame!

    Calling all Dirty Bertie fans! Dirty Bertie - the boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits - is back for another he... More

    (1 review)
    Review
    Book 28
    Book 28

    Monster!

    Calling all Dirty Bertie fans! Dirty Bertie - the boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits - is back for another he... More

    (9 reviews)
    Review
    Book 29
    Book 29

    Disco!

    Calling all Dirty Bertie fans! Dirty Bertie - the boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits - is back for another he... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    Book 30
    Book 30

    Mascot

    This witty, heartfelt story about perseverance in the face of adversity is perfect for fans of R. J. Palacio, Cammie... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 34
    Book 34

    Poop!

    Calling all Dirty Bertie fans! Dirty Bertie - the boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits - is back for another help... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 49
    Book 49

    Tricks and Kicks: Mascot! Spider! Ouch!

    A Dirty Bertie collection to delight everyone who revels in his revolting ways! Enjoy the comic capers of Dir... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 51
    Book 51

    A Collection of Chaos

    A Dirty Bertie collection to delight everyone who revels in his revolting ways! Enjoy the comic capers of Dir... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    Book 52
    Book 52

    Dinosaur!

    Calling all Dirty Bertie fans! Dirty Bertie - the boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits - is back for anothe... More

    (2 reviews)
    Review
    Book 53
    Book 53

    Scream!

    Dirty Bertie - the boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits - is back for another helping of comic chaos! Join Bertie a... More

    (3 reviews)
    Review
    Book 54
    Book 54

    Mud!

    Meet Dirty Bertie - world's grubbiest trouble magnet! Join Bertie in three hilarious new stories as he faces a barrage o... More

    (14 reviews)
    Review
    Book 54
    Book 54

    Fangs!

    Dirty Bertie - the boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits - is back for another helping of comic chaos! Join Bertie a... More

    (0 reviews)
    Review
    View all Books
    Featured Book
    Loki: A Bad God's Guide to Taking the Blame
    Loki: A Bad God's Guide to Taking the Blame

    BOOK OF THE MONTH - The new book in this hilarious series from Louie Stowell, packed with doodles and comic strips. Can Loki clear his name and solve the mystery of the missing hammer?

    View book
    Featured Books

    New Book

    Most Popular Book

    Coming Soon

    Worms Worms

    Worms

    Paperback
    15th August 2022

    Recent Reviews

    • Slime and Grime: Fame! Horror! Aliens!

      Slime and Grime: Fame! Horror! Aliens!

      Such funny stories. Dirty Bertie is hilarious. Loved the illustrations too. The aliens, report and fishy story were the funniest ones in the book....

    • Bogeys!

      Bogeys!

      I really enjoyed reading this book, it is funny and I like the short stories as I found them easy to read. ...

    • Smash!

      Smash!

      I really enjoyed this book. It was funny and I loved how he always got away with things....